We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$303
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Hotel Website
US$225
View deal
FindHotel
US$204
View deal
Expedia.comUS$265
Hotels.comUS$265
PricelineUS$303
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,373)
Filter reviews
1,373 results
Traveller rating
599
451
185
80
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
451
185
80
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location train station shopping street old town central location walking distance business trip bahnhofstrasse switzerland luggage lake duvet hauptbahnhof
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,373 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2022 via mobile

I have stayed at your hotel for the last 20 years and this was the worse. you don’t have valet parking anymore and I had to park myself. Room service terrible only folded duvets but didn’t clean bathroom or the floor. Bellboy extremely RUDE. In training waiters (woman) rude and unable to help or at least try with a smile. Rooms are not cheap so it’s unacceptable to receive such terrible service and manners.

Room tip: Avoid it
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank paulabellroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Dear Guest Mrs. Paulabellroj
thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback! But we cannot understand the reason of a such bad comment. It would be great if you could contact us directly in order to clarify.
Best regards
Your St. Gotthard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Although the hotel is at an excellent location, I would only recommend anyone to stay there if they are aware that, this being a city hotel, there will be a few things that won’t meet your expectations. I wasn’t expecting a lot from this hotel due to its lower price compared with other similar ones… you get what you pay, they say.
The rooms are excessively small. Our room was a double, with a QUEEN bed, not even a king, and we had to place our backs on the floor of our entryway because there was no space anywhere else. However, the bathroom had an acceptable size, compared to the rest of the room. Our room faced a side street, so it wasn’t very loud at night, but the afternoon sun came in and, being July the heat was unbearable in the evening. The AC didn’t work at all, because it’s centrally controlled.
The breakfast is OK, nothing special. I did miss some pastries. They do not offer any. But you’ll see the usual scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fruits and a very good croissant. You can also request omelettes or fried eggs on demand.
In summary, the only advantage this hotel has on top of others is the location, everything else was fine, but not exceptional.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank YoaRobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2022

Dear Guest,
thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback!
Best regards
Your St. Gotthard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2022

The location is top. But if you are on business or for longer stay - avoid it. The floor in the room was never cleaned in two weals time. Room service appeared not on daily basis. WiFi was useless if you use higher security standards. The wardrobe was too small. And at the end you get the answer - we are sorry…Far from 4*

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank arralt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Dear Guest,
thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback! But we cannot understand the reason of a such bad comment. It would be great if you could contact us directly in order to clarify.
Best regards
Your St. Gotthard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2022

Excellent location.the rooms are nice and clean.
The breakfast they force you to take the Buffett we could not have a coffee and croissant,the servers say NO ,and where very UNFRIENDELEY .We went across the bahnhofstr to a little friendly place to have our coffee and croissant.

Date of stay: July 2022
Thank Estherzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Dear Mr. Estherzini
thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback! You didn't book the breakfast buffet and we explained you, you could have a crossant with coffe in our Manzoni Bar, but you didn't want it, becouse you had to pay extra for it.
Best regards
Your St. Gotthard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2022 via mobile

Great location about 100m from the Hauptbahnhof, ideal if you have a Swiss Rail Pass as we did. Other than that we found it disappointing. The staff don’t seem happy and the service is generally poor. Our room was small but clean and the en-suite had a nice rain shower. Breakfast was ok but not what one expects in a hotel of this fame and price. I would recommend staying elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Dear Mr. Paul,
thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback! Your critic is very important for us in order to improve our quality standards. Thank you!
Best regards
Your St. Gotthard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews