We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location...”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We recently visited Zurich and chose the Storchen(English meaning, Stork). The location was perfect, in the center of Zurich, with great shopping and sight-seeing nearby. Though pricey(even for Switzerland), their service is terrific, and our room(newly decorated), which was a Junior Suite, left nothing to be desired. Their Swiss-style buffet breakfast was very good. If you can afford it, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We wanted a room with a stall shower instead of a bathtub. The Junior Suite was topnotch. It was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RDB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 539 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Having concluded four Spanish itineraries, I now propose a tour around the country in which the modern notion of vacationing first arose. (Cf. my book RUSH TO THE ALPS). The first thing to keep in mind is that the eighteenth century motto "Pas d'argent, point de Suisse" (No money, no Switzerland) applies today in spades. For a quarter of a century or so after the Second World War the Swiss National Bank, in order to promote Swiss exports and the tourist industry, kept the Swiss franc at an artificially low level of 4.35 to the dollar, a valuation which, unlike other currencies, never varried. The result was that, at the beginning of the period one could count on getting full pension (a room and three meals) in a five star resort hotel for a truly ludicrous eight dollars a day per person; even toward the end of it, this had only doubled. However when, in 1972, the SNB decided that America's indebtedness had reached a point at which the losses such a policy entailed could no longer be borne and it let the dollar float, it immediately floated straight down, to the point where the exchange rate is now close to parity. Hence Switzerland is right up there as one of the most expensive countries in the world for Americans to vacation in, so be prepared to reach deep into your pocket.

Zurich is the main gateway to Switzerland and most people fly into there. The Hotel Storchen, a four star establishment, boasts of having been in continuous operation for six hundred years and that is how many Swiss Francs a double with a river view will cost you for a night. You might be able to do somewhat better on Priceline, but don't count on it, in season the hotel is generally fully booked. That said, the location is hard to beat. The hotel is situated on a bank of the river Limat, on the New Town side. You are in the city center, everything is within easy reach, the banks, the department stores, the luxury goods shops for which the city is famous, any number of restaurants are all within walking distance. The theaters and the opera house are a short trolley ride away. (In Zurich everyone rides the trolley, it's best to get a day ticket to avoid being nickle and dimed to death). The hotel itself offers large, very nicely furnished rooms with very good sound insulation. The personnel is friendly and, as is the case in establishments of this class throughout the country, everyone speaks good English. This is a very pleasant place to stay, a perfect one if one is on an expense account.

-Paul P Bernard http://europeanhoteljewels.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulPBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Spent a quick one-nighter on 13-14 August, unfortunately during the Euro/Tchno Street Parade- the hotel is very difficult to find especially with most of the bridges/side streets blocked off for pedestrians. Ended up having to park several blocks from the hotel, explained our predicament at the desk, and Samuel on the front desk had us take the bellhop back to the car and drive us through the crowds back to the hotel- outstanding service and a trip-saver!

The romms are a bit small from a US standard, but well appointed, clean, and I had a great river overlook. The lift is a bit small and slow, but hop on the stairs to burn off that last liter of lager. The hotel is ideally situated on the river, adjacent to a small quaint bridge, in an area of small boutique shops and a few hundred yards from the big name stores. Had some drinks downstairs in the outdoor cafe, great service and great strudel.

This was my first trip to Zurich so I don't have anything to compare to, but the Storchen easily met all of my expectations and I will definitely return- one tip- the hotel website at the time I booked was offering a rate about 200USD/nite less than Expedia or the other web discounters.

Room Tip: Swiss have their own outlet adapters, not typical Euro/Middle East/US power outlets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear Keith

Thank you very much for your comments and I am very happy that you had a great stay though you really dropped into a very special weekend with the Streetparade - that was the reason you had such a special prize as well !

I wish you a great time and hope to welcome you on some other occasion.

Best regards
Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I've been a frequent visitor to Zurich. This place is unbeatable for both it's central location and old town charm with completely renovated room conveniences. As you know "old town" is filled with cobblestoned streets and small squares with water fountains. This hotel is almost a fairytale come true with its own brightly painted river dock and diners feeding the swans from the overlooking balcony above. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. The staff are all great and professional. Wonderful concierge.

Room Tip: Seek quiet as possible - you might get a river front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Guest !
thank you so much for your great words and specially our concierges are flattered. They really try to everything even if at first it seems impossible.

Have a wonderful rest of the summer and hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

i think that the view from my room was the best view of zurich. the hotel provides all the the things you can expect and on the highest level, but as everything in zurich it is not cheap. ideal for bankers (or people with a banker salary). nevertheless- enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haimshapira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#2 of 138 in Zurich
743 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#5 of 138 in Zurich
521 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolder Grand
#6 of 138 in Zurich
1,110 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
947 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#4 of 138 in Zurich
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $577 - $976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing