We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveller rating
726
169
18
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
169
18
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslimmat riverold towna river view roompiano barwonderful hotelperfect locationchurch bellsacross the riverbottled waterperfect staybreakfast buffetcomfortable roomssmall hoteltrain stationconciergecitystorks
Filter
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 928 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Having concluded four Spanish itineraries, I now propose a tour around the country in which the modern notion of vacationing first arose. (Cf. my book RUSH TO THE ALPS). The first thing to keep in mind is that the eighteenth century motto "Pas d'argent, point de Suisse" (No money, no Switzerland) applies today in spades. For a quarter of a century or so after the Second World War the Swiss National Bank, in order to promote Swiss exports and the tourist industry, kept the Swiss franc at an artificially low level of 4.35 to the dollar, a valuation which, unlike other currencies, never varried. The result was that, at the beginning of the period one could count on getting full pension (a room and three meals) in a five star resort hotel for a truly ludicrous eight dollars a day per person; even toward the end of it, this had only doubled. However when, in 1972, the SNB decided that America's indebtedness had reached a point at which the losses such a policy entailed could no longer be borne and it let the dollar float, it immediately floated straight down, to the point where the exchange rate is now close to parity. Hence Switzerland is right up there as one of the most expensive countries in the world for Americans to vacation in, so be prepared to reach deep into your pocket.

Zurich is the main gateway to Switzerland and most people fly into there. The Hotel Storchen, a four star establishment, boasts of having been in continuous operation for six hundred years and that is how many Swiss Francs a double with a river view will cost you for a night. You might be able to do somewhat better on Priceline, but don't count on it, in season the hotel is generally fully booked. That said, the location is hard to beat. The hotel is situated on a bank of the river Limat, on the New Town side. You are in the city center, everything is within easy reach, the banks, the department stores, the luxury goods shops for which the city is famous, any number of restaurants are all within walking distance. The theaters and the opera house are a short trolley ride away. (In Zurich everyone rides the trolley, it's best to get a day ticket to avoid being nickle and dimed to death). The hotel itself offers large, very nicely furnished rooms with very good sound insulation. The personnel is friendly and, as is the case in establishments of this class throughout the country, everyone speaks good English. This is a very pleasant place to stay, a perfect one if one is on an expense account.

-Paul P Bernard http://europeanhoteljewels.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulPBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Spent a quick one-nighter on 13-14 August, unfortunately during the Euro/Tchno Street Parade- the hotel is very difficult to find especially with most of the bridges/side streets blocked off for pedestrians. Ended up having to park several blocks from the hotel, explained our predicament at the desk, and Samuel on the front desk had us take the bellhop back to the car and drive us through the crowds back to the hotel- outstanding service and a trip-saver!

The romms are a bit small from a US standard, but well appointed, clean, and I had a great river overlook. The lift is a bit small and slow, but hop on the stairs to burn off that last liter of lager. The hotel is ideally situated on the river, adjacent to a small quaint bridge, in an area of small boutique shops and a few hundred yards from the big name stores. Had some drinks downstairs in the outdoor cafe, great service and great strudel.

This was my first trip to Zurich so I don't have anything to compare to, but the Storchen easily met all of my expectations and I will definitely return- one tip- the hotel website at the time I booked was offering a rate about 200USD/nite less than Expedia or the other web discounters.

Room Tip: Swiss have their own outlet adapters, not typical Euro/Middle East/US power outlets
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear Keith

Thank you very much for your comments and I am very happy that you had a great stay though you really dropped into a very special weekend with the Streetparade - that was the reason you had such a special prize as well !

I wish you a great time and hope to welcome you on some other occasion.

Best regards
Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I've been a frequent visitor to Zurich. This place is unbeatable for both it's central location and old town charm with completely renovated room conveniences. As you know "old town" is filled with cobblestoned streets and small squares with water fountains. This hotel is almost a fairytale come true with its own brightly painted river dock and diners feeding the swans from the overlooking balcony above. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. The staff are all great and professional. Wonderful concierge.

Room Tip: Seek quiet as possible - you might get a river front room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Guest !
thank you so much for your great words and specially our concierges are flattered. They really try to everything even if at first it seems impossible.

Have a wonderful rest of the summer and hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

i think that the view from my room was the best view of zurich. the hotel provides all the the things you can expect and on the highest level, but as everything in zurich it is not cheap. ideal for bankers (or people with a banker salary). nevertheless- enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haimshapira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The excellence of the hotel is always present. Lovely to enter and ready to returns when you leave. The elegant city of Zuich succeeds as you stay at the Storchen. Reservations are attended with optimal details and as you enter the lobby the attention at the reception is friendly, courteous, and most important competent and effiecient. The room has a secret : the beds on the side have 4 buttons, the beds are adjustable - back or legs go up - what joy for the tired tourist or businesspersons body in need to relax. Additionally so clean, the bathrrom with fresh towels changed twice daily or as needed .

The restaurant is a Zunfhaus - part of the traditional guilds. The menu varied and delicious, occupied by intllectuals, business and people who appreciate good tasting and seating. You sit by the Limmat River and see the Lake of Zurich and the Alps - outside or in - as the weather or you prefer.

You will never regret staying the the Zum Storchen!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Mrs Gaby

thank you so very much for your great and sincere comments. It is our pleasure to always try our best to make you feel at home again.
We are really greatful for such dear guests and hope to see you soon again with your lovely family.
Best Regards
Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews