We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$214
View deal
Priceline
US$200
View deal
Destinia.com
US$197
View deal
Expedia.comUS$200
Hotels.comUS$200
travelup.comUS$204
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
467
308
100
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
467
308
100
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town great location train station pedestrian only street air conditioning across the river walking distance rooms are small restaurants and bars breakfast was included nice breakfast free wifi central location zurich hb limmat river nice room reception staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

Centrally located hotel in the center of old town. Small dated rooms. No air conditioner. Can not open the windows because you are on a very loud corner with teenagers screaming and drinking all nigh long. No amenities at the hotel and breakfast is average. No concierge service either. Doesn’t look like there is a shortage of small boutique hotels in the area so I will be staying somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 4AnnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Felix Helbling, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

Dear 4AnnT,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, we apologize that we could not meet your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us, we will use your feedback to improve our offer so that we can provide our guests with a more pleasant stay in the future.

We regret that you felt inconvenienced by the noise. Our hotel enjoys a privileged location in the middle of Zurich's old town and the action. Many locals and tourists spend the evening in the Niederdorf and take advantage of the diverse culinary and entertainment offerings. Under certain circumstances, this can increase the noise level in the alleys, with various factors playing a role: Events of the city, weather, days of the week. Therefore, our windows have been newly equipped with special noise protection, but this requires that they remain closed. We are happy to offer our guests a room on the side of the backyard. Please make a note of this when booking.

Regarding air conditioning, we would like to mention here that EVERY room in ***Hotel Alexander is equipped with air conditioning. However, unlike in other countries, we have special laws regarding air conditioners. We are only allowed to install air conditioners that start to work at an outside temperature of 25 degrees and can then cool down the room in question to a maximum of 18 degrees. This means that the air conditioners do not work all year round. In the autumn and winter months, when it is cold outside, you usually do not need air conditioning, which is also better for our dear mother nature. We hope you can understand this.

Since the building of the hotel was built in 1544, it is under monument protection of the city of Zurich. For this reason, structural changes are only possible to a very limited extent and under strict conditions. We are therefore not allowed to change the size of the rooms. However, 7 years ago we had the entire hotel renovated as well as possible, so that our guests can feel completely comfortable with us.

We would also like to point out our free services, which we offer to our guests, so that possible future guests, who read this answer, are well informed:

- free tickets for the Zoo Zurich and for the Art Museum of the City of Zurich
- free portable Wifi devices, with which our guests can enjoy free and unlimited internet connection throughout Switzerland
- free coffee/tea all day and fresh apples from the region
- and the first minibar filling is also free of charge

We want them to feel comfortable with us. From the moment you are not, we ask you to report immediately to the hotel staff. We will do our best to find a suitable solution. Because we want you to come back again.

This trouble, probably should not have been. Our goal is to make our guests feel completely comfortable. We would be happy to prove to you next time that it can be done differently.

Kind regards from Zurich from Laura & the entire ***Hotel Alexander staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2022

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff at check in was very thorough in explaining things. We got an upgrade to a king room which was very nice so we has a little more space. Breakfast was included and it was great. The ladies in the breakfast room keep everything supplied and coffee flowing. There was always coffee, water and fruit near the front entrance which was nice. The bathroom was nicely set up and clean. The Mini bar was free of charge on the first round which is more than I have gotten anywhere else. The hotel is in the old town area so there are a lot of eating places and bars around. The only negative I can come up with is the lights in the hallway come on with a motion detector which you will get light coming in from under the door in the middle of the night, I know it's picky. We enjoyed our stay. Short walking distance to train station. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofallongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Felix Helbling, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2022

Dear Ofallongirl

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay at the Hotel Alexander! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We're sorry to hear about the motion-activated lights in the hallway; we'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our maintenance team. Overall, we're glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and we hope you'll choose to stay with us again the next time you're in town.

Thanks again for your review and warmest regards from all of us here at the Hotel Alexander!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022 via mobile

Excellent staff. Excellent location. Small boutique hotel in busy Old Town. At time of my visit they provided breakfast which was fabulous, recommend their muesli. They provided free of charge coffee, water, apples and hot spots. Helpful with directions and cab service. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rondahebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Felix Helbling, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Dear rondahebe
Thank you sooo much for rewarding us with such great feedback. It is really motivating to read, that our centrally location and fabulous breakfast could contribute to a wonderful stay.
During their stay our customers can use our portable wifi hotspots for free - means you can enjoy internet everywhere in switzerland free of charge.

We would be pleased to welcome you at any time again.
Best regards from Zurich
Rina and Team-Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2022

Really friendly and helpful staff, very nice room with shower and a great Pizza place around the corner. Central location easy walking distance to everywhere including the ETH (mind the steps). All in all an excellent location at a (for Zürich) reasonable price.

Room tip: one room in the Guesthouse has a balcony!
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Service
Thank topc772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Felix Helbling, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Dear topc772
We like to thank you for the time you took to reward us with such great feedback.
In addition to a central location, we also offer our guests free entrance to Zurich Zoo and the Artmusuem.
Many sights, restaurants and shopping possibilities are just a stone's throw away. We would be very pleased to welcome you one day again at Hotel Alexander Zurich.
Until then we wish you all the best
Rina and Team-Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2022 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff and excellent amenities. We had a great short visit to Zurich and this hotel helped make it better. It is centrally located and within easy walking distance to many local attractions. Also a short walk to the main Zurich train station and many local teams. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Felix Helbling, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Dear Thomas F
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be convenient for exploring Zurich. We're proud to be a centrally located hotel that is still within walking distance of many local attractions. Many sights, restaurants and bars are just within walking distance. Benefit from free entrance to Zurich Zoo and the Artmuseum. For the tickets you just need to contact our friendly receptionists. We hope you had a great time in Zurich and that you'll come back to see us again soon! Thanks again for your review and kind words.
Best regards
Rina and Team-Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews