We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$190
View deal
Expedia.com
US$190
View deal
Agoda.com
US$149
View deal
PricelineUS$190
Hotels.comUS$190
Lol.travelUS$203
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
256
346
100
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
346
100
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town train station yoga mat nespresso machine deli meats within walking distance single room nice hotel zurich hb breakfast was included bed was comfortable restaurants and shops comfortable stay yogurt central location business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2022 via mobile

We've stayed 1 night in this hotel on our trip to Zurich and it was good. Below are the things we liked and which could be improved.

What we liked:
1. Room: modern and had everything we needed including a room level A/C which allowed us to control the temperature. Fairly spacious room with good selection of Rituals products in the bathroom.
2. Location: City centre location with everything within a 10min walk from the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around to buy what you need.
3. Breakfast: free with room booking. There's a fairly good selection of food offered for both vegetarians and people with allergies.
4. Staff: very helpful and attentive. We did have to call a few times when the power went off in the room but this was early morning and acceptable to be a bit late.

What could be improved:
1. Parking: the closest parking at the Urania is very expensive (CHF45 per night). Not sure if anything can be done about that.
2. Bed: it wasn't very comfortable and I kept hitting the sideboard in the night as the bed was kept against the wall. The room looked different to what was on the photos when I booked it.

Overall a good stay and can recommend if you're looking for a hotel in the area.

Room tip: Find parking a bit away from the city centre to avoid paying a hefty fee.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sanka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sorell Hotel Rütli, Sonstige at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2022

Dear Sanka1
Thank you to sharing your experience during your stay with us at Sorell Hotel Rütli.

Sorell Hotels are a smart choice because of their central location and absolutely delicious Sorell breakfast. Unfortunately, our house does not have its own parking spaces due to the absolute downtown location. Our guests are therefore dependent on the public parking lots and multi-storey car parks. The costs for this in the city of Zurich for 24 hours are around CHF 40.00.We would be pleased to welcome you back at the Sorell Hotels and to make your stay as perfect as possible.

Kind regards - Ariane Oswald, Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2022 via mobile

The location of the hotel is good, just a bus stop away or walk about 8min from Zurich HB. The staff is friendly, attentive and welcoming, the room is clean and quite decent size. And they offer good breakfast! It was a great stay (although just for a night) and price is reasonable.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Hui Fang O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sorell Hotel Rütli, Sonstige at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2022

Dear Hui Fang
Thank you for your encouraging rating. Great, that you share your positive impressions.
Your positive feedback shows us, that you have truly appreciated our high service standards.
Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotel Rütli soon.
Best regards - your Sorell Hotel Rütli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2022

First, the good. The only person that prevented this from being a 1 star review was Cathy who served us breakfast. She was absolutely wonderful and friendly. She was 5 stars.

The location is also good bc it is close to old town and a short walk from the train station. Location is 4 stars.

Hotel room itself was above average in spaciousness. Seemed clean and no one was itchy or got a rash from the beddings. It was a hot 3 days we were there and there was no AC but I am not sure how common it is to have AC in Switzerland. 4 stars.

However, the two male receptionists we worked with Malik and Saeed (spelling?) were rude and not accommodating. Specific examples: we had a party of 10 and on our first night he saw several members of our party take the elevator to the rooms and he rudely assumed they were unpaid guests trying to sneak in. We informed him we had 4 rooms booked w him and he double checked and calmed down. The next incident was the next day we were going to go on a 6 am excursion the next day and we asked saeed if we can have breakfast to go since breakfast started at 630. He said yes. The next day Malik is taking care of breakfast and since we were in a hurry the first 3 people in our group grabbed about 8 pieces of pastries and some deli meat for our group. He confronted them and said they were using up all of the food for the rest of the hotel and they cannot do that. We informed him we told Saeed the night before and he OK’d it. But he said no one told him and he still wouldn’t allow us to take any more food to go (we had 2 toddlers that wanted things other than bread and pastries). The third strike was there was complimentary ice water in a jug located on the front desk. One of my party wanted to fill up her reusable flask with water and Malik said she could not do that because there wouldn’t be enough for the other hotel guests. Are we not hotel guests? Did we not pay for 10 guests, 4 rooms and 3 nights? If it runs out, shouldn’t it be his job just to simply refill the jug w water? A lot of unnecessary rude comments directed towards us for the duration of our stay which really soured the whole experience.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bing O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sorell Hotel Rütli, Sonstige at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2022

Dear Bing O

Thank you for having taken the time to review the Sorell Hotel Rütli.
Thanks to Cathy, we are able to inspire our guests every day early in the morning.

I regret all the more that the rest of the team - especially the behavior of our night porter - could not inspire you.
With your detailed feedback, you help us to identify a weak point and to initiate immediate improvement measures.

It would mean the world to us if we could welcome you once more at the Sorell Hotels and we'll show you that we can do better.

Kind regards, Ariane Oswald, Cluster General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2022 via mobile

I stayed here as a solo traveler on a Saturday at the end of a business trip. Great location, five minutes from the train station, walkable to everywhere downtown, 20 minutes to the lake. Peaceful with a nice view from the fifth floor. Front desk staff were very helpful, breakfast was great with a warm welcome. The room was clean, comfortable, everything I needed with some nice touches. Would definitely send a friend, and stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 469camillek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sorell Hotel Rütli Zürich, Owner at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Dear srobinson

Thank you for your encouraging review and for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Rütli and that the kindness you experienced at the Sorell Hotels was commendable. Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sorell Hotels.

Kind regards, Ariane Oswald & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2022 via mobile

We spent two nights here and the room was clean and comfortable. Water pressure in the shower was great and there was even a yoga mat in the room to use! The breakfast was fantastic!! The service at breakfast was wonderful and the food was fresh and replenished often.
The location of the hotel was right in downtown. We were right near the museum, all of the shops and the tram system.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank srobinson1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sorell Hotel Rütli Zürich, Owner at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Thank you for your encouraging rating. Great, that you share your positive impressions.
Your positive feedback shows us, that you have truly appreciated our high service standards.
Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotel Rütli soon.
Best regards - your Sorell Hotel Rütli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews