We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and continuously delivers”
Review of Brasserie Lipp

Brasserie Lipp
Ranked #54 of 1,987 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Bienvenue à la Brasserie Lipp! Our restaurant: Traditional French brew-pub fare served amidst the carefree joie de vivre of the Belle Époque. Market-fresh homestyle cooking for gourmets and lovers of seafood, oysters, and fine wines. Parisian-style business lunch, elegant dinner, or hearty breakfast — Brasserie Lipp Restaurant is always a good choice. If you’re looking for a great meal in lively surroundings, then Lipp is the place to go!
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Lipp is one of those places you go when you don't feel too adventurous but want to have a good solid meal. Whether it is seafood or meat, everything is from good to excellent.
Normally I go here for seafood and fish. For those who like spending a lot of time trying to dig out a small crustacean - they have big great plate selections. I prefer fresh oysters or rockefeller oysters (for winter, bakes with creamy Sauce and spinach) and moules frites. They only have one style how they prepare the mussles but it works, the Sauce is so good it can easily be a soup when you are done with the Shells, delicious.
The Starters are all nice too, the assortment of Starters may be a good choice to try different Food and it is even ok for one Person.
Fish for main is nice, I also tried venison and duck - very decent and traditional.
They have a lot of regional specialities like sausages and suerkraut.
Recommend, for me works best for lunch. Better book as gets busy for lunch and popular for Business Meetings.
BThe menu is so Long and diverse it is difficult to Chose.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nastyouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Cher Nastyouche,

Thank you very much for your review and four points on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy your visits at The Brasserie Lipp. As you have said, we have for everyone an array of different dishes and this makes us very popular.
We sincerely hope to have you back soon.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

After experiencing a great lunch the first visit, we decided to visit it again a second time for dinner. We were 'welcomed' by an unfriendly female maitre d' who put us off with her attitude and made us leave again and visit the bärengasse restaurant indtrad. What a pity as they serve good food in a pleasant atmosphere. Will not return.

Thank Ritz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Cher Ritz20,

With surprise we read about your comment on Tripadvisor. We are astonished about your comment due to the fact that you have not really visited nor dined at The Brasserie Lipp. Additionally we do not have a female maitre d' and therefore our team is totally confused about your Tripadvisor note.
It is our aim to provide friendly service coupled with outstanding french cuisine in an ambiance of a Parisian brasserie.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We had great meals in the restaurant. And the grey-haired waiter who served our table is professional and friendly. However, he was busy and left our section while we just tried to order a dessert. There were only another big waiter who was around our table all the time. We of course knew they have their own service section, but we just wanted to have a desert, and our own waiter was missing. We tried to call the big waiter to help us, but all he did was asking us to wait and keeping pretending we're just air. Is it that hard to order a dessert for us? We raised our arms for several times, but no one care. What a stubborned service and waiter!
That's disappointed! And ruined our night.
We finally ended the meal with no dessert. It is pity that a restaurant with good food but terrible waiter.

Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Chère Irene L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at The Brasserie Lipp. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal. However the level of service was not up to your expectation and therefore we would like to extend our apology. Nevertheless, we hope that we can prove at your next visit, that we can do better. Therefore we look forward welcoming you back soon.

À bientôt,

Votre Brasserie Lipp Zurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Business lunch but the restaurant despite not being a business sort of place worked well. Seafood was meant to be good and was very good - tuna tartare was fresh and decent portion and others seemed to enjoy their mains. House salad fresh and good size. I suspect we didnt make the most of the menu so I would go back and explore further. Prices expensive but not outrageous for Zurich.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cyulcfslx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Cher cyulcfslx,

Thank you so much for your great review and four points on Tripadvisor. As you have mentioned we are the perfect place for business luncheons. We therefore hope to welcoming you back soon.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

There is not to much to say about, Lipp is Lipp. Same in Paris, same in Geneva, same in Zurich. Fresh oysters, fresh shrimps and good French sancerre. You always get what you paid for. Recomended. Service is a bit slow.

Thank Necmeddin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear kocatas,

Thank you very much for leaving four points and your review on Tripadvisor. It is our aim to provide only the freshest seafood. We have taken note that service should speed up and therefore we hope to have you back soon.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Lipp also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Brasserie Lipp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing