We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fish in Port Shepstone”
Review of Fish on the River

Fish on the River
Price range: US$75 - US$215
Description: Situated on the beautiful setting of the umzimkulu river banks, this restuarant provides good food at a good price. The fish is always fresher and the batter better. One of a kind Wood fired Pizzas aswell.
Restaurant details
Description: Situated on the beautiful setting of the umzimkulu river banks, this restuarant provides good food at a good price. The fish is always fresher and the batter better. One of a kind Wood fired Pizzas aswell.
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Freshly prepared we enjoyed a delicious fish and chips from the many varieties menu. The location direct at the river is a nice place to visit and enjoy the dishes from a attentive team. Even though fresh prepared takes a while it is worth waiting.

Thank Ann-Kathrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynFishontheRiver, General Manager at Fish on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hi Ann,

Thank you for the review and for the compliments to the staff, so happy you enjoyed the meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Another great lunch at Fish on the River. If only it was closer to our home the three of us had two combos and one fish burger. Complimentary samples of pizza while we waited for our meal were also very welcome.The bookshop and the charity shop in the same location are also worth a visit.

Thank Foodisfun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynFishontheRiver, General Manager at Fish on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hi Foodisfun99

Thank you for the 5 star review, so happy you enjoyed the meal and the pizza samples, next time you close by, come and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

They serve the best calamari and fried fish on the South Coast. Portions have drastically reduced in size which disappoints me. My thoughts are that you might as well increase your price but do not decrease your portions. At times you can literally count your calamari's. My recent lunch I had 10 calamari rings and a large portion of chips served to me.

Thank Ishara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynFishontheRiver, General Manager at Fish on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Ishara,

Thank you for the review, im not happy to hear that your portion of calamari was less than expected, when we have increase the grams. I will have to go over some training with staff.
Next time to in the area please come buy and see Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

When in Port Shepstone this is a must try. Very organised and the food was delicious. You order your meal at the till and pay for it and then into the bar to order and pay for drinks.
Lovely setting & lovely food.

Thank Zonke Tours and... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynFishontheRiver, General Manager at Fish on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Zonke tours,

Thank you for the 5 star review,

Always makes is happy when customers recommend us, for the delicious food.
See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

An ordinary fish restaurant with a good variety of options.
Good routine in place how to order& pay at the counter.
Helpfull staff. Prices Ok

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynFishontheRiver, General Manager at Fish on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Mark F,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, thank you for the compliments, so happy you enjoyed the meals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish on the River also viewed

Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Fish on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing