We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
548
198
40
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
198
40
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exceptional room anne frank house boutique hotel room overlooking the garden bath products breakfast room boutique style hot items hot breakfast nine streets great boutique small hotel beautiful hotel great central location breakfast was included walked everywhere would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

A wonderful looking hotel in an excellent area. Much time and money has been spent making this a great looking hotel. I and 4 other friends decided to eat dinner there last week. As we arrived two Italian diners were complaining of the food but we remained to see for ourselves. We ordered our drinks and two courses. The starter arrived but they forgot one of our number and had to go away to re-order it from the kitchen. The Pate was tasteless according to one friend, but the others were satisfied with their food. We waited and waited for our next course and I could see that the waiters were tucking into our chips whilst they waited for the course to arrive. Really not good enough for a hotel of this supposed standard. I and my friends will not be going back - there are other equally good hotels near by in which to stay and eat in.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeamusOL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Great location, friendly staff, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Even the breakfast was wonderful. This was my 4th time in Amsterdam and I would definitely stay in the Canal House again.

Room tip: rooms are small, but it is Amsterdam...
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kma1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I came away with mixed feelings ...

We booked 2 rooms with canal views but ended up with NO view at all other than the walls of a light shaft about 1 meter away from the window.The windows only opened out about 10 cm which made the rooms very claustrophobic and the airco didn't work. The receptionist's rather displaced sense of humor certainly did not put a smile on our face when, pointing to the old black and white picture in the light shaft, she said: "But you do have a canal view!" Such behavior is quite disrespectful to guests paying 320€ (+tax) per room per night.
This issue was raised on our departure and we were offered the dinner we had on the night we dined in. The receptionist also apologized for her misplaced joke.

We had room 6 which could only be reached by walking through the open kitchen and room 19, reachable by a neck breaking winding staircase. Both are so called "better rooms". The rooms themselves were quite nice, excellent Vi-Spring mattresses and soft bed sheets, enough towels and a bathrobe. Both had open bathrooms & separate toilets, tiny basins, good shower... no privacy though!

The breakfast included in the price was a very meager buffet indeed: matured & young cheese slices (you'd expect more of a country known for its cheeses!) & some smoked ham, a selection of yoghurt, jam, bread, some danishes (if you were early enough to get some), cereal & fruit juice. Anything from the kitchen (eggs etc) was an extra charge.
The staff serving breakfast (with the exception of a helpful young man) was rather loud and not discrete at all. The lady cook who came to our table even made some lengthy remark about supplements she saw beside my plate!

So overall this is a very well located and beautiful boutique hotel but its standard unfortunately does not compare to its price!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linne-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for a week at the Canal House in November. We had a "great" room overlooking the garden on the third floor (#17-we asked for a canal view but were told it was unavailable) and my daughter had a "good" room also overlooking the back garden on the second floor (#10). They were both nice -- room 10 had a higher ceiling and original windows, while room 17 was larger.
The rooms were kind of dark, as the walls are essentially black, which got a little dreary in November. There aren't a lot of light fixtures, but there is a good reading light by the bed. There was supposed to be a ipod dock that was missing in room 17, but we didn't need it so didn't ask reception about it. The toiletries are very nice, although they only gave us one tiny bar of soap and never replaced it even after it got down to a tiny chip. It was hard to control the room temperature - either too cold or too hot.
We really liked the restaurant and ate dinner there twice. The breakfast buffet was a little small compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The only fruit is a kind of sad fruit salad, and eggs and smoked salmon cost extra. There were no pancakes or waffles to be had. The service was fast and friendly, and we felt comfortable and welcome.
We loved the bar and had drinks there most evenings.
The location is wonderful, away from some of the grunge of the downtown area. It's near the "9 streets" shopping area as well as the Jordaan which are fun places to walk and shop. There are a lot of wonderful restaurants within walking distance.
All in all we would stay at the canal house again.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Loved it completely. Found the staff very nice and we loved the building and feeling of the hotel - not too hotely. I´ve stayed in their other hotel in Paris which is a dream, L´Hotel in St Germain. It was great to see they have kept the character of the building and original features mixed with a very modern trendy makeover. Location is just as good as the reviews say, food was good and our room was very romantic...

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews