We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel, great location”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #22 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at the Canal House on Keizersgracht for 3 nights in July 2012 and found it very comfortable. The hotel is very stylish (in that slightly dark way which seems common at the moment) and in a great location - we walked everywhere from here.

Our room was on the ground floor, which i thought a bit odd at first, but there were no problems with this - it was located at the back of the hotel facing the large garden. Our room (number 1 or 2 - I can't remember which) was a really decent size, although my husband wasn't keen on the fact that the bed was right in the centre, not against any of the walls (I think this worries him, as he slept in a bunk bed when he was a child!)
The bathroom was also large with a deep bath and very large shower head - there were also lots of large bottles of Green & Spring products. As I had booked through Mr & Mrs Smith this also meant I got a free bottle of product to take home.

The IPOD dock was very handy (and worked, unlike those in lots of hotels we have stayed in). TV included some satellite channels, most importantly eurosport which meant we kept up with the Tour de France. The DVD player didn't work, although at least 3 members of staff came to check we weren't just pressing the wrong buttons! Eventually several hours after first asking for it to be fixed it was replaced.

Unlike some of the negative reviews, I thought breakfast was pretty good, although I always prefer a continental breakfast with lots of bread and pastry options, compared to a cooked breakfast.

We never got a chance to sit in the garden, as it kept raining, but it certainly looked like a beautiful space. We also didn't use the bar, but really felt there was no need as you are so close to so many nice little bars along the canals.

With regards to Amsterdam itself we spent most of our time just strolling along the canals which was very relaxing. We did go to the Van Gogh museum, and thanks to the hotel who printed us out tickets we were able to jump the long queue (definitely worth doing this for only 50 cents more than the standard price). The one big sightseeing disappointment was that we were unable to visit the Anne Frank house as apparently you have to buy tickets several weeks in advance, as it is so popular.

The reception staff were friendly, but when we asked them for restaurant advice they only directed us towards the red light district which was pretty surprising given the fact we were in the Jordaan area with lots of great local restaurants. We ignored their advice and used our guidebook and ate every night locally. Best meal we had was in a thai restaurant called Kinnaree.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank EL4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 425 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just returned from Amsterdam and a week-long stay at the Canal house. Great location in the gorgeous Jordan/Canal Rings neighborhood, on the Keizergracht canal. This is a quieter and very different world form the old city center/red light bustle & grit, yet it is walking distance to that and pretty much everywhere you want to visit. Also very close to some of the Amsterdam’s best restaurants and cafes. Hotel is a converted typical Dutch/Amsterdam canal building which gives it an authentic feel. This is a small boutique hotel. Hotel common areas are very design centric and surprisingly chic. Feel is modern European, updated and fresh, but with respect for the old, nicely done, though If you are like me you will find the front sitting room feels too "late night club" which is a bit incongruous during the daytime . Breakfast room is beautiful. Continental breakfast served was very good. Marvelous coffee! Great start to the day. Garden is an unexpected treat; large, quiet, absolutely lovely and barely utilized. After a long day of walking and doing, a quiet drink in the garden with the birds chirping is a memorable and simple pleasure. The room we stayed in was called an "exceptional " room. I didn't see other rooms, but can confirm our room was, in fact, exceptional. It felt spacious (for an urban hotel), clean and newly done, with sunny windows overlooking the canal. We really liked the visual design, fun, sexy, dark walls and floors with brightly colored fabrics, bedding and accents. The layout of the room was unusual, but worked very well. It’s an open format with the sinks and tub in the room, the shower was a darkened glass enclosure visible from the room. No, you don't want to share this room with the mother-in-law and the kids. Yes, you do want to be here with your spouse or significant other. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. Concierge work was excellent. Special thank you to concierge staff and in particular one concierge named "Inge" for spending time to figure out some special activities for us far and beyond what we hoped for.

There are some things a visitor should be aware of before they book here. Firstly while the interior retrofit is charming, the stairs to many rooms (including ours) are really steep. While this is quite common in Amsterdam, if you are not physically fit or have vertigo make sure you get a room accessible by elevator (I am not kidding!). Because this is a smaller hotel occasionally the staff can get a bit overwhelmed and you may have to patiently wait for a bag to be brought upstairs or to speak to the concierge about dinner reservations. Hotel does not have some common amenties (like a fitness room).

We enjoyed our stay here and recommend it highly!

Some Amsterdam activities highlights: Van Gogh museum, Anne Frank museum, bike trip in the countryside, walking the Jordan & Browersgracht neighborhoods, shopping the nine streets, outdoor drinks at T’Smalle, dinner at Vinkles, dinner at Assagi, day trip to Delft…..

Room Tip: Canal view room was excellent but suspect that garden view room is excellent too (and probably a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just got back from 3 nights at the Canal House. We had booked a better room, but at check in we we're offered an upgrade to an exceptional room.So we Stayed in room 12 with a view over the canal. Room was chic and sexy with a walk in rain shower and super comfortable bed. Besides being centrally located, our favorite part of the hotel were the staff. They were all genuine and keen to help us book a cab, or dinner, or print some things, or serve Coronas. You can walk to dinner every night and not be disappointed.

Some points of critique would be: a fairly average breakfast (good coffee though), no lively bar scene at hotel bar/ lots of fruit flies around the back of the hotel bar made it not so nice to hang around there. Best to book directly with the hotel as they will give the best rates.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DukeofNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked the Canal House because it's on the list of the 'Small Luxury Hotels of the World'. I had some bad experiences with the SLHW already and therefore I was kind of skeptical. But the small hotel in the trend (if not the trendiest) part of A-Dam came to be a very nice experience.
Staff was really friendly, rooms (we had the 'good room') was small but modern, clean, well decorated, nice amenities, and quite (!) although there was 'Gay Pride' outside.

Breakfast was good, plus point for the freshly squeezed fruit juices.The garden is a wonderful little oasis, you must have a drink their as well as at their bar, which is also stylish and a romantic at the same time.

The location is just perfect: not in the middle of the tourist traps (around the Dam) but also not secluded, we hired a bike and off we went to the museums, shops, bars, etc... the best way to discover the town. The Jordaan is a very nice area to stay, with charming cafes, restaurants, galleries, shops.

I would recommend the hotel to couples but NOT families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 790estelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A really nice hotel beautiful decor fantastic location but very quiet rooms, the staff are very knowledgeable breakfast is quiet adequate not a plca for backpackers nice for a romantic stay in the hearth of Amsterdam

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,397 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,889 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,249 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: S$321 - S$834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing