We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$198
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$224
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$290
US$158
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$895
US$838
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
501
194
37
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
194
37
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexceptional roomboutique hotelanne frank houseroom overlooking the gardenbreakfast roombath productshot breakfastgreat boutiquenine streetssmall hoteljordaan districtbeautiful hotelgreat central locationwalked everywherebreakfast was includedyogurtwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
449 - 454 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and thought it was a great place to stay. The location is in a quaint neighborhood near all kinds of little restaurants and shops. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is small but quiet and private. They put out a nice european breakfast in the morning. We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and would stay at the Canal House for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Splendid little hotel, good advise from staff, concierge service efficient, knowing well what to propose and where to direct, gorgeous breakfast.
What a nice stay.
I would compare this to the Crosby in NYC or the Belle Juliette in Paris, beautiful place, well managed, efficient, blablabla

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jh-pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed at the Canal House Hotel For one night taking an exceptional room. I had previously stayed there before the extensive refurbishment and it was very good then. Since the renovation it remains a quality boutique hotel with prices to match the most expensive in Amsterdam and questionable in terms of value for money. The exceptional room was pleasant enough but in my view the only thing that was exceptional was the price at €460 per night the most I have ever paid for a nights stay in any hotel worldwide and not a bedtime chocolate in sight!

Access to the room was up some narrow spiralled stairs that would not suit everyone. Big room yes but had a tendency to be too dark. Decent and comfortable bed but a strange arrangement in the middle of the room that reminded me of the school chemistry lab with a huge bench that had a tv etc at one end and a the other end a double sink arrangement. The bath opened out into the room offering zero privacy. There was a wet room shower arrangement behind the bath. The toilet was even more tucked away in a little cupboard open to view from the windows opposite so you needed to close the nets, but which made the room darker. Altogether the hotel decor was very dark very Transylvanian. The breakfast was poor and basic and for the amount you pay for you would expect more than bread, cheese, ham, cereal and the option of a boiled egg!

I am not sure what the hotel is aiming to be as I don't get the message and having stayed at many major chains and boutique hotels globally I think it is way overpriced for what you can get elsewhere in Amsterdam. I am sure it will appeal to some, but unfortunately not me and would I recommend it to others, yes if money is no object and you are looking for a boutique. Would I stay here again, an emphatic no!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We went for a weekend break for my 30th birthday, and are both thrilled we stayed at this hotel. We arrived exhausted and early and we were greeted by a friendly helpful young man. He took us to our lovely room at 10am, which had been cleaned and made ready early. When we came back down again he showed us how to get to a few attractions and booked us a taxi to our dinner reservation later that night. When we got back to the room we also had a cd wishing me happy birthday, plus the mr and mrs smith gift of the gorgeous hand cream. Listen to their restaurant recommendations, and you can't go wrong.

Massive recommendation while in Amsterdam go to Winkel 43 for apple pie, perfect!!

On our final mornign our flights got cancelled, the guys at reception ran around to sort out a different way for us to get back home and were just prefect. We never felt worried ot stressed.
The staff are what make this place so great.

Also the bath products smelt like proper spa products and we loved them.

We honestly can't say enough about how great the hotel and staff are. They helped make our stay even more special and really did help when things went wrong, they sorted it out with a smile and never made us feel stressed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnersvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in 2 different rooms. The layout of the rooms were very similar, but we moved from the first room as we had asked for a room overlooking the garden and it actually looked over the light well. They were very good and moved us to a great room with a small patio overlooking the garden for a very small charge, less than the actual increase stated. The second room was slightly bigger, but the bath was still in the room, which was fine. THe decor of both rooms was modernistic, dark (everything black except the white bedlinen) with great bath products in the bathroom area.although the room is dark, the lighting is good, so reading etc not a problem, but you do need the light on even on a bright dayThere is a small separate toilet, with a door, and a small fridge in the bath area too. The bed was very comfortable, with really good duvet and bed linen. Breakfast was very good, although the down side is that it can be noisy as guests checking out from several of the rooms have to bring all their luggage through the breakfast area! The actual breakfast is a good choice of juices, cereals, meat, cheese and breads and coffee is ordered through the waiter.
The location is good, only a 2 minute walk to trams and a 7 minute walk to Dam square.
I would recommend this as a good base, with most things very positive about the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter and brighter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havecrocswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews