We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Luxury”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #20 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Five stars does not seem adequate for this fabulous boutique hotel. We were welcomed with complimentary house-made lemongrass tea, prior to being escorted upstairs to our room. We reserved an “Exceptional” room, and were pleased to learn we had been upgraded to an “Outstanding” room with three oversized windows above the canal, an incredibly comfortable king bed, and a gorgeous bathroom. The room was enormous, which is quite rare for original buildings in Amsterdam. Breakfast was lovely as well. A pleasant variety of pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, fruits and juices. A perfect cappuccino! All of this at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Elyse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

It was a pleasure having you as our guests happy to find out that everything was at your satisfaction and you think back with positive feelings about our Services & Hotel.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed staying at the Canal House. The staff were extremely friendly and very informative. There were great restaurants around and everything was in walking distance. The tram was a couple minutes away walking and the Ann Frank Museum was also close by.

We would definitely stay here again.

J&M

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jfailakawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Canal House Amsterdam on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with the perfect setting for an unforgettable experience in Amsterdam.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed here for four nights after our Baltic Cruise. Right on a canal, the hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Anne Frank House and is an easy walk to the center of Amsterdam. The hotel provides a nice continental breakfast. The front desk folks could not have been nicer. Our room was very small, with the bed taking up much of the room. Lighting in the hallways and elevator was dim making everything look dark, especially with the walls painted black. Also, when we exited the elevator on our floor, we had to walk up another four or five steps to get to the room. Thankfully, the Canal House provided help with our luggage. The hotel also has a preferred rate with a taxi service to get you to the airport. I would stay here again and probably get a larger room next time.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back which was very quiet. Slept with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, it’s very much appreciated as well as helpful! I’m glad to read that everything was fantastic regarding your stay and will certainly share your comments with my team.

Have a lovely day,

Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Canal house was a pleasure to stay at.
The good:
- Service is incredible. Everything was taken care of and everybody is more than happy to tend to our every need.
- Rooms are very well designed...quite small but this is not a negative in my book. Just right for a quick visit.
- Breakfast was delicious every day.
- Coffee is quite good with a La Marzocco espresso machine to boot.
- Location is incredible. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Right in the middle of a very nice and call residential district (Jordaan).
- Beautiful garden and area for a quick nightcap.
Room for improvement:
- The church bells ring every 15 min (all night long). This grows on you but had us up back and forth.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MateoEsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Canal House. I’m delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction and even happier to read that you found my team to be incredible, welcoming and well informed.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, please be sure to contact us directly so we can take extra care of your booking.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We stayed at the Canal house for one night in September. When we arrived at Canal house we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who gave us a cold shot of fruit juice and a towel to freshen up. We were un able to check in until 3 O'clock so the receptionist sat us down and showed us the map of Amsterdam directing us to some of his favorite places to visit which we thought was very helpful and we got to visit some places tourists usually wouldn't go, so getting to see a different side of amsterdam was a real treat.

After a long day of sightseeing we got back to the hotel where we found our room was ready and our cases already in the room. This is one of the most stunning hotel rooms we have had the pleasure of staying in. The bed was incredibly comfy and the location was very quiet! it was Bliss.

would highly recommend!

Room Tip: The room with the patio doors leading on to the large garden are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adamrosssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

It was a pleasure having you as our guests happy to find out that everything was at your satisfaction and you think back with positive feelings about our Services & Hotel.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,885 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,721 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $327 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing