We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
520
196
39
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
196
39
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exceptional room anne frank house boutique hotel room overlooking the garden breakfast room bath products hot breakfast nine streets great boutique small hotel beautiful hotel great central location walked everywhere breakfast was included within easy walking distance yogurt van gogh museum
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed staying at the Canal House. The staff were extremely friendly and very informative. There were great restaurants around and everything was in walking distance. The tram was a couple minutes away walking and the Ann Frank Museum was also close by.

We would definitely stay here again.

J&M

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jfailakawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Canal House Amsterdam on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with the perfect setting for an unforgettable experience in Amsterdam.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed here for four nights after our Baltic Cruise. Right on a canal, the hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Anne Frank House and is an easy walk to the center of Amsterdam. The hotel provides a nice continental breakfast. The front desk folks could not have been nicer. Our room was very small, with the bed taking up much of the room. Lighting in the hallways and elevator was dim making everything look dark, especially with the walls painted black. Also, when we exited the elevator on our floor, we had to walk up another four or five steps to get to the room. Thankfully, the Canal House provided help with our luggage. The hotel also has a preferred rate with a taxi service to get you to the airport. I would stay here again and probably get a larger room next time.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back which was very quiet. Slept with the windows open.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, it’s very much appreciated as well as helpful! I’m glad to read that everything was fantastic regarding your stay and will certainly share your comments with my team.

Have a lovely day,

Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Canal house was a pleasure to stay at.
The good:
- Service is incredible. Everything was taken care of and everybody is more than happy to tend to our every need.
- Rooms are very well designed...quite small but this is not a negative in my book. Just right for a quick visit.
- Breakfast was delicious every day.
- Coffee is quite good with a La Marzocco espresso machine to boot.
- Location is incredible. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Right in the middle of a very nice and call residential district (Jordaan).
- Beautiful garden and area for a quick nightcap.
Room for improvement:
- The church bells ring every 15 min (all night long). This grows on you but had us up back and forth.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MateoEsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Canal House. I’m delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction and even happier to read that you found my team to be incredible, welcoming and well informed.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, please be sure to contact us directly so we can take extra care of your booking.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We stayed at the Canal house for one night in September. When we arrived at Canal house we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who gave us a cold shot of fruit juice and a towel to freshen up. We were un able to check in until 3 O'clock so the receptionist sat us down and showed us the map of Amsterdam directing us to some of his favorite places to visit which we thought was very helpful and we got to visit some places tourists usually wouldn't go, so getting to see a different side of amsterdam was a real treat.

After a long day of sightseeing we got back to the hotel where we found our room was ready and our cases already in the room. This is one of the most stunning hotel rooms we have had the pleasure of staying in. The bed was incredibly comfy and the location was very quiet! it was Bliss.

would highly recommend!

Room Tip: The room with the patio doors leading on to the large garden are superb!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adamrosssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

It was a pleasure having you as our guests happy to find out that everything was at your satisfaction and you think back with positive feelings about our Services & Hotel.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stayed for six nights at The Canal House in the Jordaan area of Amsterdam. This is near The Anne Frank House and the West Church (Westerkerk).

The Canal House has 23 rooms and a lovely garden. Amazing breakfasts, wonderful bar, lovely salon in the front AND the best staff you could ask for in any hotel/in any city. It was a remarkable property -- sophisticated, stylish, interesting, serene, quiet, comfortable, clean and friendly.

The staff was so helpful and knowledgeable. Their recommendations for dinner and directions were impeccable. We loved having a cocktail at the bar before dinner with Audi! Our room was comfortable, clean, quiet and was a welcome sight at the end of the day of sightseeing. It's a good value and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam! The garden is beautiful. The location is perfect.

We can't say enough good about The Canal House and we hope to go back (soon)!!

Room Tip: They have a range of prices -- some mid range and some would be luxury pricing. It's worth it!! Book early. Only 23 rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aloha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you so much for your positive comments, it is always good to read when guests, like you, notice the hard work of my team. I will share your review with Audi - he will be delighted to see his name mentioned specifically! We look forward to welcoming you again soon and when you do, please contact us directly so we can take extra care of your booking.

Have a lovely day,

Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews