We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canal House
Nearby Hotels
US$364
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
US$313
US$299
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$358
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$329
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$283
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$244
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveller rating
483
189
34
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
189
34
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexceptional roomboutique hotelanne frank houseroom overlooking the gardenbreakfast roombath productshot itemsgreat boutiquenine streetscooked breakfastsmall hotelthis wonderful hoteljordaan districtromantic weekendcomplimentary breakfastgreat central locationwalked everywhere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 721 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Five stars does not seem adequate for this fabulous boutique hotel. We were welcomed with complimentary house-made lemongrass tea, prior to being escorted upstairs to our room. We reserved an “Exceptional” room, and were pleased to learn we had been upgraded to an “Outstanding” room with three oversized windows above the canal, an incredibly comfortable king bed, and a gorgeous bathroom. The room was enormous, which is quite rare for original buildings in Amsterdam. Breakfast was lovely as well. A pleasant variety of pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, fruits and juices. A perfect cappuccino! All of this at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2017
3  Thank Elyse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

It was a pleasure having you as our guests happy to find out that everything was at your satisfaction and you think back with positive feelings about our Services & Hotel.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed staying at the Canal House. The staff were extremely friendly and very informative. There were great restaurants around and everything was in walking distance. The tram was a couple minutes away walking and the Ann Frank Museum was also close by.

We would definitely stay here again.

J&M

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jfailakawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Canal House Amsterdam on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with the perfect setting for an unforgettable experience in Amsterdam.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed here for four nights after our Baltic Cruise. Right on a canal, the hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Anne Frank House and is an easy walk to the center of Amsterdam. The hotel provides a nice continental breakfast. The front desk folks could not have been nicer. Our room was very small, with the bed taking up much of the room. Lighting in the hallways and elevator was dim making everything look dark, especially with the walls painted black. Also, when we exited the elevator on our floor, we had to walk up another four or five steps to get to the room. Thankfully, the Canal House provided help with our luggage. The hotel also has a preferred rate with a taxi service to get you to the airport. I would stay here again and probably get a larger room next time.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back which was very quiet. Slept with the windows open.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, it’s very much appreciated as well as helpful! I’m glad to read that everything was fantastic regarding your stay and will certainly share your comments with my team.

Have a lovely day,

Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Canal house was a pleasure to stay at.
The good:
- Service is incredible. Everything was taken care of and everybody is more than happy to tend to our every need.
- Rooms are very well designed...quite small but this is not a negative in my book. Just right for a quick visit.
- Breakfast was delicious every day.
- Coffee is quite good with a La Marzocco espresso machine to boot.
- Location is incredible. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Right in the middle of a very nice and call residential district (Jordaan).
- Beautiful garden and area for a quick nightcap.
Room for improvement:
- The church bells ring every 15 min (all night long). This grows on you but had us up back and forth.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MateoEsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Canal House. I’m delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction and even happier to read that you found my team to be incredible, welcoming and well informed.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, please be sure to contact us directly so we can take extra care of your booking.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We stayed at the Canal house for one night in September. When we arrived at Canal house we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who gave us a cold shot of fruit juice and a towel to freshen up. We were un able to check in until 3 O'clock so the receptionist sat us down and showed us the map of Amsterdam directing us to some of his favorite places to visit which we thought was very helpful and we got to visit some places tourists usually wouldn't go, so getting to see a different side of amsterdam was a real treat.

After a long day of sightseeing we got back to the hotel where we found our room was ready and our cases already in the room. This is one of the most stunning hotel rooms we have had the pleasure of staying in. The bed was incredibly comfy and the location was very quiet! it was Bliss.

would highly recommend!

Room Tip: The room with the patio doors leading on to the large garden are superb!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adamrosssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

It was a pleasure having you as our guests happy to find out that everything was at your satisfaction and you think back with positive feelings about our Services & Hotel.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews