We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
106
65
13
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
65
13
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews en suite bath great location the main hotel flower market first floor central location major attractions clean hotel enjoyed my stay leidsestraat city apartment tram
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We have been to amsterdam many times before and always ended up in staying in the big hotel chains, like eden hotel and golden tullip. This hotel was a first one to us and boy did it was a good one!

It started immedialty from the beginning and it lasted to the very end. From the very friendly and cute front desk guy to the cleaners and the managers. Nothing was too much to be asked. Breakfast is served till late so perfect for the late night birds. The Hotel is clean and the rooms are good. We stayed in the lovely double ensuite room wich had is very cute own shower and toilet.

The hotel is located perfectly to all the major attractions of amsterdam and in the middle of a lot of gay action, discover it yourself!
I definatly coming back and want to thank joost, mike and dennis for their hospitality.

The guy from brussel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skaterboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

best stay ever. great location, clean and surprising interior. Had a computer in my room and fro free internet, where do you find this?? Friendly staff. recommend this hotel to everyone especially first time travelers to amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernandoamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

The Amistad was home for us for 9 nights, and we enjoyed staying there immensely. The staff (Danny, Mike, Elioje) are all terrific. We met very interesting and fun fellow travelers at the communal, welcoming breakfast each day (which is served until 1 p.m.). The rooms were not huge but totally adequate. Each one came with its own PC and flat-screen TV! The hotel is located many gay venues (bars, nightclub, restaurants) and is quiet at night. We will definitely go back when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiereyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

At first I was very impressed with the Amistad and felt it was a big improvement over my previous Amsterdam hotel. The front desk staff is very friendly and welcoming in general. There is a bright internet cafe/breakfast room where you check in - unfortunately I checked out before their late breakfast start of 9am (lasts to 1pm however so good for those who party late in Amsterdam).

The room had a computer with internet which was a first for me. There was a sink and safe (which they could never get to work) and adequate space. There was no a/c but a large window that faces a noisy street (the staff jokingly indicated that is what earplugs are for) - wasn't an issue for me but may be if you want to get to bed early. The bathroom was down the hall and was fine. Cleanliness in general was good but the drinking glasses in my room were dirty (there were wet coffee rings below them) and they were never exchanged even after I brought this to the management's attention.

The location right off fthe Leidsestraat was ideal to explore many parts of the city and is about 15 minutes walk to the Central Station.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Farmed out to an annex after booking months in advance for hotel.Staff not welcoming.
Room not cleaned regularly in spite of speaking to cleaning staff.
Trying to get breakfast from drunk/drugged staff was almost imposible.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Dkh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews