We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #150 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We went back in Feb 17 and this hotel is highly recommendable. We were fortunate enough to get a room at the back, so didn't hear any of the nightlife, plus we were on a higher floor. It is situated perfectly, with short walking distances to restaurants, bars, shops and tourist attractions. Our room was spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff are also friendly. Once again, the real thing that this hotel has going for it, is it's location.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jameswatling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Jameswatling

First of all I would like to express my sincere gratitude for choosing NH Schiller for your stay and also for sharing this wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction, specially the nice words about our staff make me very content.
Hopefully you will again choose for our great location when travelling to Amsterdam in the future.
You will be more than welcome.
Thank you

Best regards,
Bart van den Hauten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

I am writing this at midnight, at a room they have put me in on top of a night club and next to an impossibly loud bar, on a week day . It is SO loud and they will not move me. Apparently I should expect this from a hotel in the city...I have never had a worse experience. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Anna

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for this unpleasent experience, we are very sorry you have been disturbed by the noise from the surroundings and also that we were not able to provide another room that evening.
We still truly hope you will be giving us another chance to prove we can deliver an flawless stay.
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Best regards,
Bart van den Hauten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

The rooms are very compact just one can stand and keep one bag. I have stayed in other NH hotels and would say this is the worst of all. Had booked going by my past wonderful experience with NH city centre, NK krasnopolsy and NH Barbizon. The price is too much high than one would expect for such a room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Aneri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Aneri

First of all we would like to offer our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay at NH Schiller.
We are deeply sorry the size of the room was such an inconvenience, hopefully you did enjoy Amsterdam on this trip.
We may hope you will keep coming back to NH hotels even this was not your best experience.
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.
We do appreciate it a lot.

Warm regards,
Bart van den Hauten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, clean and well situated. They attend us perfectly and lovely. We went for a walk around the city in our first day and when we came back we had a lovely present in our room and a card from the hotel saying congrats from our wedding. It was very kind from them. We totally recommend this hotel if u re thinking abt coming to Amsterdam

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Ary

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.
It was a real pleasure to be able to host you at NH Schiller on such a wonderful occassion as honeymoon, we are very glad to hear you did like the little gesture from our side.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel or any other NH hotel worldwide.
Thank you and once again congratulations!

With Kind Regards,
Bart van den Hauten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Overall, lovely hotel and very well situated. What made our stay unenjoyable however was that we were not informed about extra tax charges which in our booking confirmation stated that 'all payment including taxes has been paid for'. On arrival we gave a €50 deposit, of which a hotel staff member called Ali said we will get 44 of this back on departure. (We assumed we would be able to have this money back, leaving this for lunch at the airport). On departure day, we only got €23 back, and were told we had to pay an additional tax on top of the taxes we had already paid. When we questioned Ali about him saying we would get the €44 back his response was "I never said that! You must of misheard me" This was not made clear on our email confirmation at all. So if you do want to consider this hotel make sure you take extra cash for this "city tax" that no other city I've been to in Europe charges.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank camandwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear camandwes

Thank you very much for choosing NH Schiller for your stay and also for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.
We are content to hear you have overall enjoyed our stay, hotel and its location met your expectations.
We are very sorry for the miscommunication that occurred during the check-in procedure.
We would like to provide you some information about the city tax, as it is not something we have invented our self, please be so kind and have a look at : https://amsterdam.org/en/forum/24826/what-is-city-tax-and-when-do-i-have-to-pay-this.html
for more information.
If you would like me to take your case to further investigation please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.
We truly hope you will stay with us again in the future, we will be looking for to it.

Thank you

Best regards,
Bart van den Hauten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,721 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#101 of 373 in Amsterdam
146 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#252 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $165 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing