We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #150 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Great location. To the extend that the noise doesn't really matter. Ear plugs provided anyway. You step out straight to the Rembrandt Squere surrounded by cafes, restaurants, pubs. General atmosphere of laughter , partying and happiness. Staff semi friendly, but helpful eventually. Had problems with internet so was offered a free 24 hour fast speed internet, normally at €9 as apologies. RTL show is broadcasted from this hotel. Lots of dressed up people arriving around 9PM. Fun but security not amused if you cannot produce the hotel key on demand. Tram just steps away. Easy and convenient.

Room Tip: Ear plugs are a must unless you like to
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank 204beatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your compliments and feedback regarding your stay with us here in Amsterdam.

I would like to thank you for the compliments about the location & staff.
I hope you have enjoyed your fast speed internet! Sorry for this inconvenience.
Also about the fact of our security during the weekdays for the TV show. They are here to prevent emergency situations but also to guard your safety and from other guests.

I hope to welcome you again as our guest when travels bring you back to this beautiful city.

Kind regards,
Bart van den Hauten
Hotel director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

The location of the hotel was amazing! Completely central and easy to get to from the train station via the tram. Lots of places to eat and visit near by as well. The room was very small but nice inside with the usual complimentary items however the mini bar was an extra to pay which was disappointing. The staff were also lovely, not to mention friendly as expected of course. However all of this was greatly spoiled by the TV show being filmed every week night in the lobby. It was incredibly loud and our room was next to the green room where everyone come after the show. This made it impossible to sleep and felt very non private, so to speak. It was as though people were stood outside our door every night (and i'm pretty sure they were). Above all else is that we were not informed of this issue until we arrived. There was nothing to suggest there would be such a noise before hand. Our break was nice all the same as Amsterdam is one of the most beautiful and interesting cities I've ever been to by a long shot!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank james_wassell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear James,

Thank you for your compliments but also feedback regarding your stay in the NH Schiller.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the RTL late night show. We inform our guests during check in but it is also shown on our website. Did you informed us about this fact during your stay? Otherwise we can do somehting about this immediatley. For example a move to another room on a higher floor. But i could imagine that the noise disturbance made you upset. I will discuss this with my team!

I hope to welcome you as our guests again to give us a second change.

Kind regards,
Bart van den Hauten
Hotel director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Came to the hotel for a friend's birthday. The staff knew from before about the birthday and surprised the birthday girl by having balloons chocolates and a card placed in the room. The staff were Super friendly, rooms were super clean, great location. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank amy_cogher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Amy,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay with us in the NH Schiller.

Nice to hear that your friend was suprised by the birthday treatments. I hope she had an amazing birthday here in Amsterdam with her friends.

Thank you for all the compliments! It would be a pleasure to have you as our guests again when travels bring you back to the beautiful city Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Bart van den Hauten
Hotel director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Standard room is a bit small. RTL late night show is broadcasted live from the hotel Monday to Friday. Bar and restaurant can not be used during the TV show 9 - 11.30 unless specially booked for the show with food and drinks included.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Stig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Stig,

I am sorry for the inconvenience that our brasserie was closed due to the recordings of the RTL Late Night TV show. We inform our guests during check in but it is also shown on our website. We do provide drinks in our lobby bar when the brasserie is closed and luckily there are a lot of pubs and restaurants on a walking distance from the hotel on the square. But i could imagine that you were upset about this when you decided to have a drink of dinner in our own Brasserie Schiller.

I hope to have informed you well.

Kind regards,
Bart van den Hauten.
Hotel director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

The price vs service/overall stay is not great

Breakfast is average
Scrambled eggs were not good at all
Bacon was too dry/crispy

Room large enough
Bed super comfortable
Carpet in the room is dated
Water, tea/coffee facilities in the room good

Price per night is almost EUR 200 which is not justifiable in my opinion

Location is central
You can walk to the train station in about 20-25 mine
Good tram connection

Overall average experience
Receptionist was very nice both at check in and check out



Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Rybkakochanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in the NH Schiller.

I would like to thank you for the compliments about the location, reception staff, room size/ facilities and bed. About the breakfast, I will pick this up with my team.

Unfortunately the prices of the hotel rooms here in Amsterdam are a bit higher than the European standard, this is due the fact that the old city centre is very popular for tourists.

I really hope that you will visit Amsterdam and our hotel in the future once more!

Kind regards,
Bart van den Hauten
Hotel director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,721 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#101 of 373 in Amsterdam
146 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#252 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $165 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing