We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #153 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I booked online just before Christmas and got a good deal for me and my mate to stay for two nights in Amsterdam. The hotel looked to be recently renovated and the room we were offered was very clean, modern and spacious. The en suite bathroom was also modern and was very clean. The room had a mini bar, television, safe, European and English plug sockets (which was lucky as I'd forgotten my adapter) and air conditioning.

The location of the hotel could not have been better, situated right next to Dam Square within 5 minutes walk of Central Station.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManUtdOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We just finished the renovation of another floor so 50% of the hotel has gone through a renovation and items such as built-in UK and USA plugs have been added for the comfort of our guests. Apparently you had one of the renovated rooms. In autum we shall start with the renovation of the remaining rooms.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

stayed 4 nights, Great location- walking distance from rail station , room (after upgrade) large, staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Room quiet Be careful with eating in the attached restaurant Lovely meal but we paid cash and we were also billed on credit card. It was sorted out quickly as we were remembered but could be problematic if long period had passed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodtrishmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the fact that your restaurant bill, which you paid cash, also figured on your hotel invoice. Technically this should not be possible so we shall look into the system to see how this could happen. We hope that, despite this incident, we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I really wanted to love De Roode Leeuw having read earlier reviews, but we didn’t get off to a good start. I had booked the hotel through Otel.com for a cheap 3 night break and requested a smoking room. I arrived at around half 12pm with my husband and we were able to check straight in, which was nice. Not so nice, was the fact that it would cost 45 euros extra for a smoking room which had not been mentioned at the time of booking! Fair enough I thought, Otel should make this clear, they probably charge extra for cleaning the rooms. When we got into the room though, the smell of stale smoke was overwhelming, topped off by sickly mint air freshener. There were scuff marks to the walls, the kettle didn’t work and the bottom of the mini bar was dirty. All in all, it felt a bit neglected.

We left our bags and went out for some lunch, but on returning a couple of hours later the smell was just unbearable. I went to reception to ask if we could switch to a non-smoking room, but very conveniently there were no double rooms available. In the end I chose to upgrade to a superior room for an extra 75 euros, as we would have had to pay the 45 anyway! All of the reception staff were friendly and helpful, speaking excellent English, and I was able to view the superior room before committing.

I must say the superior room was lovely, having recently been refurbished. It was twice the size of the standard room, with a great view and a bath – which really swung it for me. On a couple of minor points, the TV was rather too far away from the very comfortable bed (good selection of channels though) and there was no decently lit mirror for applying make-up. A definite plus was the hair dryer – so hard to get right in a hotel! It was definitely worth the extra, but was an additional expense we had not accounted for, and don’t forget the city tax either!

We didn’t eat at the hotel, finding 15 euros a bit steep for a buffet breakfast, but the restaurant did look busy at all times of the day.

Overall although the stay was pleasant enough, I found the hotel to be lacking atmosphere – with a very small ‘motel-ish’ reception and no bar area, and I would probably choose somewhere a bit more homely if I was to visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_new_Mrs_Hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Your review came just at the moment where we have an internal discussion about the smoking rooms. In fact. previous to the ban on smoking, guests were allowed to smoke in all rooms. Now it is only allowed in designated "smoking"rooms, according to Dutch law. This means that these rooms are only occupied buy guests who are smoking on a daily basis, which makes it impossible to eliminate the smell despite of the use of exprensive sprays and additional cleaning.
As you mentioned it, we are actually refurbishing all floors and we now hesitate to refurbish the floor with rooms for smokers. It is more than probable that we shall stop selling smoking rooms as from January 1st, 2013. We sincerely regret the inconvenience you suffered and apologize for it. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our renovated superior rooms and think that a supplement of € 25,-- is justified for that kind of room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Brilliant hotel, rooms pokey but ok. Had uk tv channels like bbc1! Very refreshing shower, good selection of mini bar lol
Now for the location.... It's as central as you can get! Restaurant downstairs has good food too

Stop here for a treat, you won't regret it

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean00_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

It was a pleasure to learn that you noth enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. And yes, our location can not be beaten.
We hope to welcome you again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I travelled with my wife late in November of 2011 to this hotel. We initailly had an issue with the room we were supposed to get as there were no double beds for couples and the lady at the check in desk was quite arkward with us and didnt want to give us a better room even though she showed us that room first.
The location of this hotel is great and if it wasnt for the location and the shower then we would have left here and found somewhere else.
The last night was horrid as we had a couple of decent size mice running around the room non stop all night and my wife didnt get a minutes sleep as she was too terrified. We called through to the desk and the gentlemen we spoke to didnt seem remotely concerned and actually told us that its not so suprising and is expected in the city and refused to switch our room.
Im sorry but i have never stayed at a 4star establishment that thinks having mice in the rooms is acceptable and is no big deal.
The only positive about this hotel is the location and most of the staff are quite polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Acceptable to have mice in the rooms.....NO WAY. We were shocked to learn that one of our employees refused to take appropriate action when you discovered mice in your room. Although we have a subscription for pest control measures, it happens sometimes that we find mice in our building when works are undertaken in buildings in the vicinity. The fact that several guests take food from outside into their rooms make hotelrooms attractive for these animals. For this reason, following your complaint, we now shall summon guests to refrain from having food in their rooms.
We sincerely regret that your stay was spoiled and apologize for the inconvenience caused and the inappropriate manner this was handled by a member of our staff.
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#93 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,890 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $232 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing