We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, funky smell”
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
Ranked #99 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

As with the majority of budget-mid range hotels in Amsterdam's city centre, I never expect too much. We booked into Nadia as space was non existent at other hotels. On arrival we paid in cash to receive a 6% discount, but at 380 Euro for 3 nights was still overpriced for the standard of this hotel. But New Year is peak season. When we arrived - at 2pm, the room was not ready and we were asked whether we would like smoking or non-smoking, we chose non, but from the smell of our room and the corridors our answer did not matter. It was just a room minus an ashtray. If like us, we laughed at this and the general character of the hotel, which is typical of Amsterdam. The shower was under-pressured, the bed was comfy and there was ample storage space for two persons on a three day trip. The breakfast was continental and there was plenty of everything. The staff throughout the stay were warm, friendly and provided plenty of good information. If you struggle with stairs, beware - Nadia has many up to the Reception and rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,211 of 4,083 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam with my boyfriend and 2 friends from 7 to 10 December 2012. We stayed at the Hotel Nadia and were very impressed given the low price we had paid. We had read about the stairs before we travelled but you have to see them to understand the sheer steepness. When we were buzzed in, the receptionist ran down the stairs to take our luggage. At the check in, we were offered a free welcome drink together with a really helpful map. The rooms are small but we only slept there so no big deal. the location of the hotel is brilliant, right opposite Westerkerk and 2 minutes from Anne Frank's house (TIP: pre book this and you will skip the queues which are huge).

Breakfast was continental and really filling. On our last day we got up very late and arrived in the last 15 mins for breakfast and there was not much choice (our fault really)

Free WiFi was a real bonus!! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel as we arrived very late due to snow in Amsterdam on 7 December. The taxi cost 38 Euros. On the way back, we got the tram to Centraal Station (we had bought a 24 tram pass for the day) and then a train to the airport. Staff at Centraal Station are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redjellyfish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We booked this Hotel as the Trip Advisor comments were very good and were extremely glad that we did. We had two rooms (Rooms 5 and 7) which were on the 1st floor. Although i agree they are extremely small, they had everything that you could ask - Canal view, coffee and tea making, TV and were spotlessly clean. The staff were excellent as was the lovely breakfast - fresh bread, lovely cheese etc., Stairs were as steep as the reviews warn but not a problem for the able bodied (even slightly not so able by the end of a good night in Amsterdam City)! You are not allowed to smoke in the rooms which is fair enough but we did find a little bench on the ground floor by the entrance with an ashtray and we were never told not to smoke in that area. Smoking was also permitted off of the small balcony in the breakfast room - just a small tip for those smokers amongst us! Great location, 5 mins from Dam Square. Lovely pub just a little further up the road with outside tables and chairs overlooking the Canal. 10 mins walk opposite the hotel to the Jordan area of Amsterdam with a street market. Couldnt wish for a better hotel. Wouldnt rush back to visit Amsterdam purely due to the extremely high prices charged in pubs, shops etc., but, when we do go again, we would definitely pick this hotel and it would be fair to say that we are pretty fussy people when it comes to accommodation!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 7 overlook the Canal. Although small, they are very quirky. Only down side is the clock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev30061967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Great hotel,great staff,great location,great breakfast in a great city.
Typical Amsterdam building with steep stairs up to the reception,then the warmth of the staff makes you feel like a family friend,we got upgrades to a room with a balcony,so we could watch the world go by,and the queue for the Ann franks house getting longer and longer.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wildemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

i recently stayed with my wife at the hotel nadia and have no complaints at all.The staff were all
friendly and helpfull and the rooms were all spotlessly clean and warm.The christmas decorations
in the breakfast lounge were excellent which all added to the enjoyment. There is a wonderfull little cafe opposite and a supermarket and very nice public house a short walk up the road, unfortunately the hotel has not got a lift and the stairs are very steep so i could not recommend it for the elderly or disabled,but for the young and abled bodied i would definetly recommend it and its only 20 mins max walk with bags from the station so no real need for transfers.

Room Tip: rooms 5 and 6 overlook the canal and not the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#120 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,123 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#239 of 376 in Amsterdam
307 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $142 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing