We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
520
388
155
42
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
388
155
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtlounge barcoffee shop next doorbed dormroof terracefree breakfastprivate bathroomperfect locationbeds were very comfortabledam squarevisiting amsterdamcentral stationyogurtlockersweedapartmentcoffeeshop
Filter
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Location is great,near red light district but very nice.If you share room with more then 5 people,it might be a problem but everything can be fixed :)...But,beakfast is served in the same place where the previous evening you go out and that is little hmmm...
Amsterdam is great experience,and Queen's Day is the best day to visit that magic town :)!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANjCIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Located in the red light district, The Bulldog is a classic hostel in Amsterdam. Don't expect too much on the rooms. I stayed in a private room with bathroom. Just use it to take a bath and sleep. Anyway, you don't stay at The Bulldog for its rooms, but for the bar downstairs and the Coffee Shop with the same name next door. The bar is really good to smoke a joint, have a beer and talk to people from all over the world. The location of The Bulldog is perfect, although Amsterdam is a very small city and it might not be that important.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BdbTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Had a great stay at the bulldog hotel. Had a deluxe private room which was ideal, very clean toilet/bathroom, beds were comfy, what more do you want in amsterdam and the bar was very good, the location excellent for red light and dam square and plenty of shopping nearby. We are a couple around 40 and although we were probably the oldest staying had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon9648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimbulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Glad to hear you had a great time. We try to make sure people enjoy their stay regardless of age!

Hopefully another trip to Amsterdam is right around the corner! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and I can say it was a perfect stay. The rooms were clean and we felt safe. The bar downstairs is really good! The staff was ok, most of them are nice. If you are looking for a place with a good location, young people... Then go for it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloM716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

First and foremost you cannot get a better location than The Bulldog, right slap bang in the heart of the Amsterdam action. We arrived on a very early flight from London and when we got there our apartment wasn't ready, however the 2 very helpful ladies checked us in and took our bags and away we went on our travels.

When we eventually got to our room/apartment I have to say I was more than pleasantly surprised.....it was spacious, clean and with all the amenities we needed. The apartment itself had a large lounge area, tv and couches if you wanted to chill and more so a view to die for looking over the canals and the heart of the local festivities.

Our room also consisted of 2 bathrooms, 1 of which had a shower and more than enough space for 4 lads to preen themselves for a night out. We stayed in the most expensive room on offer and I would say if your budget can stretch that far then do book the apartment. We had another group of friends who stayed in a room for 2 and apparently you couldn't swing a cat in it.

All in all though a great stay, well looked after and for a long weekend an accommodation that did what it said on the tin and perfect heart of the action location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillOneill_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimbulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

We really happy to hear you had a great time, hopefully all that "preening" paid off ;).

Thanks for the review and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Ps:
We asked our house cat if we could put your theory to the test.... the cat just stared and had obviously decided that this was a poor choice for assessing the size of a room and declined to be invloved I think she was just worried about setting a cat swinging precedent at the hotel :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews