We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveller rating
525
391
156
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
391
156
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the red light district coffee shop next door lounge downstairs bed dorm roof terrace free breakfast amazing location young people private bathroom hotel bar beds were very comfortable dam square central location the ground floor canal view visiting amsterdam lockers
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

dirty room, shower was just a hole in the floor, staff was rude, wi-fi was slow/non-existant, we were given one 10gr soap for three people for 4 nights, and expensive. i have travelled a lot and this was by far the worst hole i have stayed in

Room tip: if you respect your holiday dont stay here
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank slianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

If you read our reviews here you'll know we appreciate constructive criticism and some guests do point out areas that need improving and we use this information to try and make ourselves a better hostel for everyone.

Vindictive,spiteful and untruthful comments, really dont serve any value to us or your fellow travelers. Im really not sure what we did to deserve such harsh words but we hope you feel better having posted them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights, and while it is slightly pricey, it was worth it for the experience of staying somewhere with such a reputation. Disappointingly, the staff in the bar were slightly rude, and the rooms were certainly not as clean as they could be, however, the location is excellent and the experience is great.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckycoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Hi There,

In defence of our housekeeping, they clean everything, top to bottom everyday and I assure you that your room is cleaned properly.

That being said, I am so sorry that the bar staff were a bit rude to you. but really, who has time for rudeness? you dont, we dont, so please feel free to tell us,we can make sure that it doesnt happen again and help you enjoy your stay even more!

thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights, the beds are normal and the rooms are clean, however the bathrooms had very bad smell, they should clean the sewers more often. The staff isn't helpful at all. I asked three different ones how to get to some place and they didn't help a lot, just a few words and they were incomplete, like they were trying to avoid helping. The breakfast its good, better than average hostels.
For solo travelers this is not a good hostel to meet people, the only common place it has is the bar, which can be used by anyone so its difficult to meet people there.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Aww , The receptionists really take pride in being helpful so im sure they are dissapointed to read this. Maybe it was something they've said a thousand times so it seems easy to them , but Amsterdam is a bit of maze so we'll make sure to remind them to take a little extra time.

I hope the rest of your travels go a bit better and sorry we didint live up to your expectation :(

Safe travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This a great Hostel for the price you pay. There were 9 of us on a lads weekend to Amsterdam and not one of us had any complaints, well accept for each others snoring!
The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean. There was only one shower for 9 of us, but we made it work without many problems. The room only has one toilet in it but there was another communal toilet just next door to our room so after setting some ground rules that wasn't a problem at all.
The Hotel is in a great location with everything from red lights to museums in easy walking distance and even with so many people around we never had any problems with noise from outside.
The morning breakfast was basic with rolls, meat, cheese and toast which was fine for us and helped us get over the night before! For the people saying its to basic, what do you expect you are staying in a hostel not the Ritz!
There is also a left luggage for before and after you check in which is free to use and very helpful.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Room tip: Best to get the higher floors as it will be quieter and less of a smell of weed.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Z7660TGcolinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

There's earplugs at reception (snoring bas&*&ds) !! Thanks for the kind words and we couldnt be happier that you had a nice time. We will look forward to seeing you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I stayed here with three of my friends, we had a great time here but there were a couple of things that could have made it even better. The AC unit we had in our room didn't work the best and we where sweating way too hard while he were here. However the staff we great and very accommodating to us which made up for it. Also the random guests we met at the bar were great and we all had a great time here, would recommend to stay here!

Room tip: The free wifi is on the main floor, but doesn't reach the upstairs rooms. Also don't bring any outside food in, its not allowed upstairs.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Digital A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Hi there,

The AC in the hotel is very new, but always tell the reception if you have any issue so we can try and make things even better for you. Most importantly, it sounds like you had a great time, met some cool people and saw one of the great cities...thats what its all about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews