We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughts On Hotel Luxer”
Review of Hotel Luxer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luxer
Ranked #67 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed only one night (sadly) as we only had this time before flying out of Schiphol . I noticed the hotel on a previous trip and booked on line after speaking to the receptionist.

The hotel is in a perfect location for all the sightseeing & business areas of Amsterdam and the rooms could not be better. They are a good size and most importantly very clean.

Add this to friendly and helpful staff and you have the formula for the perfect stay in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank wulliebroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 729 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while in Amsterdam on business and thought this was a really great hotel. Very good value for money.

It is in a really busy area, just off of the red light district and near lots of bars and restaurants. Late at night it is still pretty lively! Having said that, the hotel and my room were quiet. it has 24 hour reception and friendly staff. The hotel and my room were extremely clean, modern and well equipped.

The room had a new flat screen tv, and was spotlessly clean and modern - a really nice room.

By reception there is a bar area served by the receptionist which was great for getting a cold beer or a coke.

For location, if you want to be a stone's throw from some of the busiest parts of Amsterdam, it is terrific.

Personally I loved this hotel, thought it was excellent value for money and had no complaints whatsoever.

I'd definitely stay here again and am happy to recommend it to anyone, except possibly older more reserved guests, simply because it is in a "lively" part of town. However I should add that to me the area seemed perfectly safe all the time, including very late at night.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

we booked for one night because it was very close to train station, it was surprisingly good, the hotel is clean, the room was lovely for Amsterdam hotels, big and bright. the street is one of the busiest streets in the red light district but still the room was very quite in the night time. we have stayed in almost every hotel in amsterdam and this was a good surprise. the only problem is that the check out is at 11 AM, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel was perfect for our 48 hours in Amsterdam. It is about 3 minutes walk from the Centraal station and 1 minute from all the bars and ‘sights’ but far enough down the street not to be bothered by it. Location is always of prime importance to us, and we couldn’t have chosen better really. It’s easy to find as well with its bright pink signage out front
The lobby where we checked in is very smart and modern and everything from the bar fixtures to the seating looks brand new. The bar is reasonably priced too for a 24 service in a major city. The receptionist was very friendly and informative advising us about breakfast (€10 until 11am, we didn’t eat bother but it looked and smelt nice), bar service, making phone calls, wi-fi and checking out. He also advised us to get the Metro the Heineken Music Hall, saving us €40 on a taxi!
The room we had was 202 on the second floor and in the corner of the building. It is on the small side, and doesn’t seem true to photos on their website or even the ones they display in reception. For what we needed it for (sleeping and washing basically), it was ideal. Two singles pushed together isn’t really the double we booked but again not a major issue. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Didn’t notice any outside noise either. The housekeeping come around quite late in the day, I think it was about 3pm when they came to make our beds
Our second night here, we came back to the hotel quite late. The reception / bar staff were quite happy for us to stay up for another couple of drinks, and gave us free nibbles with our beer which was nice. When we were ready to go upstairs we asked if there was a possibility of late checkout. We were told that yes this is not a problem, late checkout is 12 midday. When we asked how much we were pleasantly surprised to be told that there was no charge, we just have to let them know!
I realise this might not be for everyone, but for us it was perfect. Close to everything, great service, clean, smart and safe. It was also quite the bargain in my opinion. We booked six weeks before the trip and got it for £65 per night. They were advertising a walk in rate of €100 at reception which is well worth it too
Would have no issue recommending this hotel or booking it again

Room Tip: Possibly not a corner one, as it was pretty small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBnNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The location is excellent, the rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were extremely helpful. The receptionist Andrew was a complete gentleman and did help make our stay more enjoyable. We would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel to others.

5 Stars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,246 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,362 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,275 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#172 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,567 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $140 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing