We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed bad showers”
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #346 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The employees and the bed were great! Fast wifi too. BUT the bathroom really really needs fixing. Especially the shower. Also it was difficult to find enough wall outlets for bothe me and the other people who were stating with me.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank diegorentsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

I paid more than 141 euros for an horrible room! Me ad my friend chose to not sleep in this unserviced hotel in the process of decomposition. Please don't waist your money in this hotel! you can surely find a better place to stay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dmushi_792478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The most terrible hostel. Be aware because the living conditions have nothing to do with european standards. The worst wi-fi ever!! Plus, is so dirty that also a mouse was living with us. Anyway, don't go!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aousta_637402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Room was dusty and made me really sick. So many leaks and so loud outside you won't get any sleep. Book when you get there and not online. Rooms are €20 instead of €40 online. So many leaks in the building and the room was unclean and dusty. Which made everyone in there sick and vomit. All showers and toilets were out of service the whole time.
WiFi didn't work also in there. Also the street is so loud outside you won't get any sleep. They also have no curtians in the rooms so it's very bright in the room. Your only paying for a gross bed here and that's it

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dard31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Triggered by the location I booked two nights in this 'Hotel'. Leidseplein is really close, and the location of the 'Hotel' is pretty easy to find.

Now, I've been to a few hotels and hostels over the years, and I have never experienced such rude and uninterested personell, shabby doors and dirty bathrooms. I get that visitors won't get Hilton-service over here, but having to ask for a 'free flimsy plastic (?!) plate' to have my breakfast on, is beyond me.

Avoid if you are looking for anything more than a bed.

Room Tip: Rude staff, free plastic throw-away plates for breakfast and wearing your jacket indoors. 'Great...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lennert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#283 of 373 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 373 in Amsterdam
465 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $51 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing