We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just spent two awesome days in Amsterdam - made even better by an overnight stay at Grand Hotel Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #131 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 June 2017

I picked this hotel because of its central location. It was an easy cab ride from the airport (39 Euro) - and once there I could easily walk to the Rijksmuseum and the Ann Frank House - my two top picks for this trip. I found the hotel online, and booked online - but before I arrived sent a couple of mails to the staff with specific questions. I found the responses were quick, friendly, and accommodating. For example, I wanted to know if I could store my luggage there until check-in time, as I had an early morning arrival. That was no problem at all and worked really well for me.

Once there, the front desk staff were really helpful and gave me great directions to my points of interest and also to other spots like a nearby grocery store.

I stayed in a main floor room that was small but very comfortable. It had everything I needed, and nice decor.

I highly recommend this hotel for convenience, quality, and comfort. Just walk out on the street and wander. You'll see lovely shops, quaint cafes, awesome restaurants. If you are not used to Amsterdam, pay attention to the directions of the bikes and foot traffic. It's a busy city with 'billions' of bicycles whizzing everywhere. You really need to leave the bike lanes to the bikes and walk in the walking lanes. Walk slowly and savor the unique architecture and the mix of generations of history.

There's something 'wrong' with this Trip Advisor page that won't let me select ratings for the hotel. If I could select them, I would give a definite '5' for service, cleanliness, and room quality.

Room Tip: 134 was a great room. Across a little courtyard from the check in desk. I liked being on the groun...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ruth Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDAmsterdam, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Ruth Ann,
Thank your for your comments and recommending our hotel! It is good to hear that you had a lovely stay. We would be delighted to welcome you again!

Sending you our best regards from sunny Amsterdam,

Grand Hotel Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Stayed for 2 nights as a couple. Brilliant hotel, with fantastic location. Everything is within around 20/25 minutes walking distance. Would definitely stay here again. Staff cannot do enough to assist you!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D8923ZBmelissah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Good location, walkable to many sites like the park, museum district, and public transportation less than a block away with cute cafes, and bakeries next door. The morning/day staff is very friendly, and they let us borrow a universal charger upon providing a deposit, since we had yet to purchase one ourselves. The room was small but quiet which was nice to get some rest after walking about town all day.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 60lilyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The hotel is located perfect and the beds are amazingly comfortable the lack of room service for disheartening as it was my birthday we was looking forward to breakfast in bed which wasn't available..

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lunn729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

The location is great. Not inside the inner noisy center yet really close. Trams and busses and night busses all really close. The room was great. We eere in the penthouse. Really big balkony. Really clean room. And the hotel staff was really nice. Helpfull. You can buy tickets through them abd rent a bike. All in a fair and standart price.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 816efratm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#172 of 375 in Amsterdam
345 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#31 of 375 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#129 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#126 of 375 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#92 of 375 in Amsterdam
811 reviews
Hotel Arena
#85 of 375 in Amsterdam
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $111 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing