We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #128 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Was visiting Amsterdam for two nights and wanted simple budget-friendly hotel in a decent location - this ticked all the boxes. We stayed in one of the small rooms on the ground floor, yes its compact but was very clean and had everything we needed for a short stay. Location was just outside the centre, took 3 tram stops to get to Anne Frank and 15-20 min walk to red light district. Our only real negative was that the mattress and pillows were lumpy in places and the bathroom floor got very wet using the shower - poor design.
Overall I would stay here again because the small rooms were very reasonabily priced and suited our requirement for a two night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BhamFoodie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is terrible, from the moment we walked in the front staff were rude, and definitely we bothered them by showing up. Couldn't get into our rooms till 3 and wanted $40. Early checkin at noon. Put all our bags (3 couples) in an unlocked board room, anyone could walk into.
Got our disgusting dirty room, burnt out light bulbs. 2 thin towels. Peeling wallpaper and filthy head board. No refund to leave!
No Manager even spoke to us. Our friends room was worse. Disgusting smell and only option to them cans of Glade room deodorizer. Breakfast was included. If you like toast, processed cheese slices and mushy brown fruit.
They should be shut down by the health board.
Do Not Stay There

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

This Hotel was booked by our travel agent due to a mistake they made in our travel arrangements so we were unaware what to expect. We were put in one of the Hotels "Small rooms" and when they say small they mean small, very small. The room was very noisy and not well maintained. Some of the wallpaper was peeling, the shower head was not able to be adjusted as it was broken and also shower drain was blocked meaning you had to shower very quickly before it overflowed and flooded the bathroom. Also the hairdryer cord insulation was broken and dangerous, which someone had unsuccessfully tried to fix with some sticky tape. Glad we were only there one night

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_bugB7417SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

4 of us stayed for 4 nights 19/6-23/6/17 in 2 very different rooms both booked at same time standard rooms. Room 109 was what you'd expect from a four star city hotel however room 111 was so small and narrow with no drawer space and it was impossible to get round one side of the bed. We were very unhappy but the staff who were helpful and pleasant could not move us. The hotel is a strange set up with rooms on the ground floor and the 6th with I think private apartments in between. It is in a good location with easy access to trams into city centre which can also be walked in about 25mins. Various restaurants and cafes in area.

Room Tip: Standard room 109 is ok pay extra for superior which I think will be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lorrainegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We were lied to and told that for a child we had to pay extra for a small bed. Also, we were forced to get an extra room because they couldn't accommodate a third person, an 7 year old child. When I booked a room at a separate hotel do myself and my son, we were told that the Grand Hotel downtown in Amsterdam is notorious for hidden tricks and fees. Please stay away from this hotel. Both front desk attendants were not helpful and discourteous at all times.

Forgot to mention, mosquitoes and gnats are in rooms and hallways.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Triptaker1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#175 of 374 in Amsterdam
340 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#132 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 374 in Amsterdam
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#126 of 374 in Amsterdam
910 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#87 of 374 in Amsterdam
781 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $128 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing