We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable 10 to 15 minutes walk to/from the centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed here for 6 days. The location was a bit of a walk from the central but you can take the shuttle (which you need to reserve ahead) to/from the central. The advantage though was the place is quiet and pleasant and away from the hustle and bustle of the central area. The room we stayed had a nice view of the waterfront where we can see the inflow and outflow of cruise ships, river boats, etc.

We experienced good service from the concierge and the front desk receptionist,

Room Tip: Get rooms from the higher floors, 10th and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review and long stay in our hotel.
We appreciate to know you received a helpful and pleasant service from our Concierge and Front desk team and will ensure compliments will be shared accordingly.
Indeed, our quiet location on the banks of the river "IJ'' gives you peacrful nights while still being close to where it all happens. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 231 of 6,659 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

The Moevenpick is a clean, modern, comfortable hotel located conveniently near the train station and downtown Amsterdam. The staff is polite and strives to provide A+ customer service. The breakfast is delicious and bountiful, with enough choices to make everyone happy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank 772crystalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Crystal,
Thank you very much for your more than encouraging comments!
We are so happy to hear our staff provided you with such an excellent service and the breakfast made you happy and feeling satisfied.
Next time you travel to Amsterdam; please do not hesitate to contact our hotel directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The Movenpick is a modern hotel with great views and a very accommodating consierge and breakfast buffet. The room however left a lot to be desired. There is only a desk and no dressers or drawers to store your belongings. There are shelves and closets. The bathroom tub was in need of help in that the button to change from bath to shower was missing and the tub mat was totally stained and we only used it so we wouldn't fall. The housekeeping must see this but does not take the effort to repair and replace. Very disappointing. We stayed after a river cruise and this hotel was part of Viking's post cruise and paid a good deal of money for our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank L0vet0cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review, for pointing your highlights as well as the parts of your stay which met less to your expectations. We apologize for your unpleasant experiences, this will certainly be addressed within our teams to ensure you receive the care and quality you expect and deserve from us. We would be happy having the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We were booked into Movenpick at the end of a river cruise. It does not shout, "You are in Amsterdam!" It is so generic, it could be anywhere. Its location is ideal for stays at the beginning of end of a cruise, but in many ways it is rather isolated, with limited local alternatives. Unless you are a vigorous walker, anticipate trams and taxis. Central Station is a 20 min walk, Dam Square more than twice that, and the major museum areas further still. Bear in mind that wind and rain are encountered almost 2 days out of three. We considered the rooms good, clean after the day of arrival when prior occupants' presence was evident and unwelcome. The breakfast buffet was very good, but since this is also a meeting center, you can encounter a real crowd some days. In the evening, the restaurant served very good food, but when we were there there was a "steak and salad" special menu. Very good in quality, but from my perspective a limited variety. If you are comfortable using the excellent tram system, the location need not be a drawback. I have to balance these less than enthusiastic remarks by adding that on an earlier occasion I attended a convention there, during which enjoying the city was a low priority. I found it to be an excellent convention hotel. After that stay, I recommended it highly for that purpose to several organizations.

Room Tip: The isolation of the location guarantees quiet for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Richard,
Thank you very much for describing your detailed geust journey. Our hotel welcomes as you well indicate a range of different guests, from leisure to business and evertyhing in between. We understand the Dutch weather can be unpredictable! We offer a complimentary shuttle service between the hotel and the Central Station (advance booking recommended). Our Concierge is looking forward to show you all the nice Restaurants and places of interest nearby.

Kind regards,
The General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is approx 15 minutes walk into the centre - if you are visiting the museums quarter it is a good 50 minutes walk. The hotel staff were very professional yet friendly. Check in and out was quick. The hotel rooms are clean and comfy. Breakfast was varied and good quality. We stayed in room 728 which over looked where the cruise ships dock. Chocolates are on offer in the reception area pm which is a nice touch. Would definitely recommend and visit here again. Only negative comment I would make was that you can open the window fully, which didn't feel particularly safe from the 7th floor, particularly if your travelling with small inquisitive children.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Karen,
Thank you very much for your family visit and stay. We are truly pleased to hear you would defenitely recommend us to others based on such enjoyable experiences!
We do apologize for the window in your room, please be kindly informed it is not possible to fully open a window due to the safety procedures unless it has been forced during the previous stay. Immediate action has been taken! We look forward to your return stay, Karen.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,087 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,004 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 375 in Amsterdam
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $226 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing