We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$223
US$199
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$228
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$290
US$177
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$224
US$202
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$892
US$834
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,817)
Filter reviews
6,817 results
Traveller rating
3,520
2,391
608
196
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,520
2,391
608
196
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 6,817 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The Moevenpick is a clean, modern, comfortable hotel located conveniently near the train station and downtown Amsterdam. The staff is polite and strives to provide A+ customer service. The breakfast is delicious and bountiful, with enough choices to make everyone happy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank 772crystalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Crystal,
Thank you very much for your more than encouraging comments!
We are so happy to hear our staff provided you with such an excellent service and the breakfast made you happy and feeling satisfied.
Next time you travel to Amsterdam; please do not hesitate to contact our hotel directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The Movenpick is a modern hotel with great views and a very accommodating consierge and breakfast buffet. The room however left a lot to be desired. There is only a desk and no dressers or drawers to store your belongings. There are shelves and closets. The bathroom tub was in need of help in that the button to change from bath to shower was missing and the tub mat was totally stained and we only used it so we wouldn't fall. The housekeeping must see this but does not take the effort to repair and replace. Very disappointing. We stayed after a river cruise and this hotel was part of Viking's post cruise and paid a good deal of money for our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank L0vet0cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review, for pointing your highlights as well as the parts of your stay which met less to your expectations. We apologize for your unpleasant experiences, this will certainly be addressed within our teams to ensure you receive the care and quality you expect and deserve from us. We would be happy having the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We were booked into Movenpick at the end of a river cruise. It does not shout, "You are in Amsterdam!" It is so generic, it could be anywhere. Its location is ideal for stays at the beginning of end of a cruise, but in many ways it is rather isolated, with limited local alternatives. Unless you are a vigorous walker, anticipate trams and taxis. Central Station is a 20 min walk, Dam Square more than twice that, and the major museum areas further still. Bear in mind that wind and rain are encountered almost 2 days out of three. We considered the rooms good, clean after the day of arrival when prior occupants' presence was evident and unwelcome. The breakfast buffet was very good, but since this is also a meeting center, you can encounter a real crowd some days. In the evening, the restaurant served very good food, but when we were there there was a "steak and salad" special menu. Very good in quality, but from my perspective a limited variety. If you are comfortable using the excellent tram system, the location need not be a drawback. I have to balance these less than enthusiastic remarks by adding that on an earlier occasion I attended a convention there, during which enjoying the city was a low priority. I found it to be an excellent convention hotel. After that stay, I recommended it highly for that purpose to several organizations.

Room Tip: The isolation of the location guarantees quiet for sleeping.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Richard,
Thank you very much for describing your detailed geust journey. Our hotel welcomes as you well indicate a range of different guests, from leisure to business and evertyhing in between. We understand the Dutch weather can be unpredictable! We offer a complimentary shuttle service between the hotel and the Central Station (advance booking recommended). Our Concierge is looking forward to show you all the nice Restaurants and places of interest nearby.

Kind regards,
The General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is approx 15 minutes walk into the centre - if you are visiting the museums quarter it is a good 50 minutes walk. The hotel staff were very professional yet friendly. Check in and out was quick. The hotel rooms are clean and comfy. Breakfast was varied and good quality. We stayed in room 728 which over looked where the cruise ships dock. Chocolates are on offer in the reception area pm which is a nice touch. Would definitely recommend and visit here again. Only negative comment I would make was that you can open the window fully, which didn't feel particularly safe from the 7th floor, particularly if your travelling with small inquisitive children.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Karen,
Thank you very much for your family visit and stay. We are truly pleased to hear you would defenitely recommend us to others based on such enjoyable experiences!
We do apologize for the window in your room, please be kindly informed it is not possible to fully open a window due to the safety procedures unless it has been forced during the previous stay. Immediate action has been taken! We look forward to your return stay, Karen.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

If you're going for the cruiser,this is the place to bé! Just few steps from the Pier.
I was just there to visite thé city,but was pleased of m'y choice. Not far from theCentral Station,the room is wide, with furnitures of ail Movenpick hôtels in thé world.
That is my major reason to have chosen this hotel.
There is not anything around, I have just seen a bio coffee shop around the corner, so if you need something, better not to forget to get them before leaving thé station.!!

Room Tip: Ocean side with sea view
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Fitz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Fitz,
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad that you chose us for your family stay in Amsterdam. Our hotel is indeed easy to reach from the Central Station and most sights of interest, also in our upcoming and fast developing area. Our Concierge Desk is more than happy to show you all the hidden treasures nearby!

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews