We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #53 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel booked by cruise company as a post cruise tour location. Pretty mediocre hotel for the price, not sure it warrants 4 stars in my opinion. Stayed 2 nights, room not serviced at all, came back from sightseeing to unmade beds, used towels etc.
Insufficient teabags, milk....
Breakfast is the only saving grace. Would not stay here by choice again. Very disappointed.
Premier Inns do it better.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Ann,
Thank you very much for your review and stay in our hotel.
It is to our most regret to learn you did not receive the service as you should expect and certainly deserve from us. Please accept our apologies and be assured direct action is being taken accordingly. We do hope to have another opportuity to welcome you back in our hotel, Ann.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 177 of 6,582 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Have stayed here 2 times...Too good a property.... bang on river, all rooms have view, can see cruise liner from any rooms which come quite often. take higher floors...very close to station and city center, cycle rentals. nice spread of breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. Compliments will be shared within our teams! We do apologize for the water temperature not being consistent.
Should you decide to stay with us again please do not hesitate for a moment to contact our staff, they are more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Even numbered rooms have a great view over the water. Room 1424 has very nice. We loved the huge bath towels but had trouble with the water temperature (fluctuating between hot and warm). Many people in our group had this water complaint. The location is great! We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Even numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Infoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Hikmat,
Thank you for your lovely comments, and a late congratulations on your birthday!
It is obviously much appreciated you enjoyed your surprise in our hotel while being assisted by our friendly and helpful staff, and comfortable room facilities. We look forward having the chance to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The whole trip was a surprise and to top it off the hotel was amazing!! it was close to the train station a simple 15 minute walk. The hotel was really nice the room and bathroom were spacious, and the view was incredible! The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the stay overall was nice!

Room Tip: Get one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikmat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Prashant,
Thank you for your second stay in our hotel! It is really good and encouraging to hear your experiences have been such a satisfactory ones again. Please feel free to stay with us again upon all your future visits to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Overall a good stay, nice room with comfy bed and very clean hotel. Can cater for different dietary requirements such as gluten free. 10 minutes walk from train station. It also has a safe in the room and free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Lisa,
Thank you very much for your positive minibreak review in Amsterdam.
We are happy to hear we provided you with the special care and needs while staying in our easy to access hotel. Anytime you travel to Amsterdam in the future we would be pleased to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
The General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#32 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,045 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,283 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $227 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing