We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed here after a cruise and chose it because of the easy five-minute transfer from the ship to the hotel. As we arrived early in the morning, our room was not ready, but we were able to check in and leave our luggage before heading off to see the city.

Although there was a long delay in waiting to get our keys later in the afternoon, we were so pleased when we got to our room. We had a fabulous view of the river and the city from the 17th floor of the hotel. The room was large for Europe and quite modern with a good-sized bathroom, good wifi, loads of tv channels, and a comfortable king-sized bed.

Great location with a ten minute walk to Central Station or a shuttle ride from the hotel. Easy walk to the center of the city and next door to the music theater.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank nylorac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Lora,
Thank you for your positive and detailed review, we hope you had a pleasant cruise and trip back home. We appreciate to hear your highlights to keep on going this way and informative for our future travelers. Anytime Amsterdam is on your travel plans, please feel free to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 214 of 6,659 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed here in June 2016 and in September 2017 are noticing a number of negative changes. We can no longer take a canal boat from in front of the hotel. A hotel shuttle is not particularly helpful as it runs only every 30 minutes and dumps us at the rear of Central Station. (It's a long walk to the Victoria Palace Hotel across the plaza in front of the station.) Service in the rooms and elsewhere has slipped markedly. Only in the bar on the main floor is the quality of service the same. If your mobility while walking briskly is excellent, this is still a good option. But if you have even slight mobility issues I would recommend staying somewhere in the city centre or on the 'Hop On' route. Taxiis in this city may or may not opt to take you where you need to go...often they have told us they are on a 'break'. We love AMS. Stay in the City Centre and pay the extra for the convenience! I don't think you will be sorry.

Room Tip: They will charge you extra for a 'city view',
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Marylin,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We regret to hear our hotel as well as some external factors could not satisfy your needs, for which we apologize. The Hop on Hop of company decided to remove the stop in front of our hotel.
Otherwise we are delighted to hear the F&B outlets provided you with a positive service.
Should you decide to stay with us again it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel!

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Great hotel. The location is ok, very close to Centraal station, but you have to walk about 15 minutes to get to the city. The hotel is nicely placed on the water, and it was fun watching the ships and boats move around. The room was clean, but slightly dingy, could do with a refurbishment. The options available for breakfast, which was included in our rate, were fantastic - so many options to choose from, that they are able to please any palate! Overall it was a really good experience and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank W8127KQlisaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Lisa,
Thank you very much for sharing your more than enjoyable experiences with us!
We are delighted to hear our location and large choice in breakfast met to your expectations. Renovations will take place on a short term from now, we would be happy having the chance to welcome you back anytime you have the chance to visit Amsterdam again!

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel booked by cruise company as a post cruise tour location. Pretty mediocre hotel for the price, not sure it warrants 4 stars in my opinion. Stayed 2 nights, room not serviced at all, came back from sightseeing to unmade beds, used towels etc.
Insufficient teabags, milk....
Breakfast is the only saving grace. Would not stay here by choice again. Very disappointed.
Premier Inns do it better.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Ann,
Thank you very much for your review and stay in our hotel.
It is to our most regret to learn you did not receive the service as you should expect and certainly deserve from us. Please accept our apologies and be assured direct action is being taken accordingly. We do hope to have another opportuity to welcome you back in our hotel, Ann.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Have stayed here 2 times...Too good a property.... bang on river, all rooms have view, can see cruise liner from any rooms which come quite often. take higher floors...very close to station and city center, cycle rentals. nice spread of breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. Compliments will be shared within our teams! We do apologize for the water temperature not being consistent.
Should you decide to stay with us again please do not hesitate for a moment to contact our staff, they are more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,003 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#60 of 375 in Amsterdam
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $226 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing