We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$281
US$225
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$217
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$268
US$148
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$210
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$897
US$840
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,816)
Filter reviews
6,816 results
Traveller rating
3,520
2,391
607
196
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,520
2,391
607
196
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 6,816 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed here in June 2016 and in September 2017 are noticing a number of negative changes. We can no longer take a canal boat from in front of the hotel. A hotel shuttle is not particularly helpful as it runs only every 30 minutes and dumps us at the rear of Central Station. (It's a long walk to the Victoria Palace Hotel across the plaza in front of the station.) Service in the rooms and elsewhere has slipped markedly. Only in the bar on the main floor is the quality of service the same. If your mobility while walking briskly is excellent, this is still a good option. But if you have even slight mobility issues I would recommend staying somewhere in the city centre or on the 'Hop On' route. Taxiis in this city may or may not opt to take you where you need to go...often they have told us they are on a 'break'. We love AMS. Stay in the City Centre and pay the extra for the convenience! I don't think you will be sorry.

Room Tip: They will charge you extra for a 'city view',
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Marylin,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We regret to hear our hotel as well as some external factors could not satisfy your needs, for which we apologize. The Hop on Hop of company decided to remove the stop in front of our hotel.
Otherwise we are delighted to hear the F&B outlets provided you with a positive service.
Should you decide to stay with us again it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel!

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Great hotel. The location is ok, very close to Centraal station, but you have to walk about 15 minutes to get to the city. The hotel is nicely placed on the water, and it was fun watching the ships and boats move around. The room was clean, but slightly dingy, could do with a refurbishment. The options available for breakfast, which was included in our rate, were fantastic - so many options to choose from, that they are able to please any palate! Overall it was a really good experience and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank W8127KQlisaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Lisa,
Thank you very much for sharing your more than enjoyable experiences with us!
We are delighted to hear our location and large choice in breakfast met to your expectations. Renovations will take place on a short term from now, we would be happy having the chance to welcome you back anytime you have the chance to visit Amsterdam again!

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel booked by cruise company as a post cruise tour location. Pretty mediocre hotel for the price, not sure it warrants 4 stars in my opinion. Stayed 2 nights, room not serviced at all, came back from sightseeing to unmade beds, used towels etc.
Insufficient teabags, milk....
Breakfast is the only saving grace. Would not stay here by choice again. Very disappointed.
Premier Inns do it better.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Ann,
Thank you very much for your review and stay in our hotel.
It is to our most regret to learn you did not receive the service as you should expect and certainly deserve from us. Please accept our apologies and be assured direct action is being taken accordingly. We do hope to have another opportuity to welcome you back in our hotel, Ann.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Have stayed here 2 times...Too good a property.... bang on river, all rooms have view, can see cruise liner from any rooms which come quite often. take higher floors...very close to station and city center, cycle rentals. nice spread of breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. Compliments will be shared within our teams! We do apologize for the water temperature not being consistent.
Should you decide to stay with us again please do not hesitate for a moment to contact our staff, they are more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Even numbered rooms have a great view over the water. Room 1424 has very nice. We loved the huge bath towels but had trouble with the water temperature (fluctuating between hot and warm). Many people in our group had this water complaint. The location is great! We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Even numbers
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Infoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Hikmat,
Thank you for your lovely comments, and a late congratulations on your birthday!
It is obviously much appreciated you enjoyed your surprise in our hotel while being assisted by our friendly and helpful staff, and comfortable room facilities. We look forward having the chance to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews