We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real disappointment and rip of lockers !!!”
Review of Body Worlds

Body Worlds
Ranked #47 of 584 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Gunther von Hagens’ BODY WORLDS: The Happiness Project in the heart of Amsterdam tells the amazing story of our own body and the impact of happiness on our health. More than 200 anatomical specimens of real human bodies show the complexity, resilience and vulnerability of the body. Join the 40 million people around the world who have already seen the exhibition and been on this fascinating voyage of discovery through the human body.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 30 March 2018

As a healthcare professional back home i thought this would be right up me and my partners street and i appreciate that all the models are donors which is why i feel the price is rather steep, but apart from that its a really badly done museum hardly any interactive features !!! In london this would be seen as a free museum and at 22 euros although we got few euros off with discount voucher it still worked out expensive !! Also you are not allowed to carry bags around and they charge you 2euros for lockers which is not refundable !! In my opinion don't bother save your money !!!

Thank Rosie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Rosie I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear you found the entrance price was a bit expensive. We would like to point out that Body Worlds allows its visitors to explore how the body works in a unique way, the use of authentic specimens allows a penetrating examination unmatched by models or textbooks. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"human body"
in 548 reviews
"happiness project"
in 114 reviews
"body works"
in 87 reviews
"dead bodies"
in 41 reviews
"blood pressure"
in 37 reviews
"gunther von"
in 30 reviews
"amazing exhibition"
in 26 reviews
"different parts"
in 28 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 99 reviews
"eye opening"
in 40 reviews
"interesting place"
in 24 reviews
"on display"
in 49 reviews
"top floor"
in 29 reviews
"audio guide"
in 42 reviews
"visiting amsterdam"
in 26 reviews
"anatomy"
in 167 reviews
"donated"
in 121 reviews
Filter

68 - 72 of 3,627 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Really fascinating walk round to see and learn about body parts and exposed full bodies.

Things to note - it's €23 per adult and €14 per child, but a voucher on the door takes €1 off and even better is booking online which comes in at €19.50 and €12.50 respectively. There's lots of stairs too and not much seating if you get tired. There are lockers at the start for €2 per locker and a change machine to the side.

Really enjoyed the final Happiness Project too and found it very interesting at how people cope with life in general.

Only 4 stars as I'd like to have seen more interactive bits as there was only one minor thing per floor.

1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Matt F,

First of all, we want to thank you for such a great review, it will surely be very useful to future visitors! Body Worlds is certainly a fantastic exhibition where you can take a look at your own body and learn about your health and the effects of happiness. It makes us extremely happy to know you enjoyed your visit. We hope you had a lovely stay in the Netherlands!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I was prepared for seeing the body parts an the human anatomy is always exciting. But I was surprised by the Happiness Project, both fun and interesting : ) I was impressed by the way they've made everything! I really recommend a visit at Body Worlds : )

Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Heidi H,

Thank you for this positive and enthusiastic review! It is sincerely a pleasure for us to hear the great and informative visit you had at Body Worlds. It is indeed a fun way to discover how our body really works in a unique way and to learn more about the fascinating influence that happiness has on our health :)

Once again, we want to thank you for your uplifting words and want to honestly wish you a HAPPY day!

With kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The Human body is a great machine that you seldom think about, this takes you back to when you are a kid and full of questions and wonder. take home message look after your body

Thank Robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Robert,

Thank you for your review.
I believe this is one of the best ways to describe the feeling when exploring the exhibition.Young children have such an open mind when it comes to learning new things, it is truly wonderful that you experienced the same feeling. Look after your body and above all be Happy :)

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Definitely worth every penny, the atmosphere is intriguing with both English and Dutch explanations of each piece of body. The theme is happiness and it is uplifting.

Thank bhe_gre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear bhe_gre,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had during your visit to Body Worlds with us. It makes us happy to read that "The theme is happiness and it is uplifting.".We hope you had a fantastic time during the rest of your stay in the Netherlands and we also hope to have you back soon!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Body Worlds also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Body Worlds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing