We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city , great location but awful room in what was otherwise a just ok hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Ranked #245 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We stayed here on Christmas break away , the positives first , were that the staff were pleasant and helpful , all be it they didn't really fix the problem we approached them with. namely a broken light in a very dark room already (room 4 cellar , basement room ) They were pleasant and lovely to chat with as we ate our breakfasts in the mornings we spent here. Perfectly adequate continental buffet style breakfast which was plentiful and easy to help yourself too.
We had room number 4 , which was a basement room , no problems there as we knew that before we arrived , what we didn't bank on was it being very dark , damp and mouldy with that tell tale cellar aroma as we entered the room. We thought perhaps it was because the room hadn't been used recently and would go once it was aired , it didn't.
the main light in the small bedroom was broken , we thought it may just be a bulb out and so informed reception , they told us when we were out the next day they would replace the bulb a get it fixed , they didn't and it remained broken for the rest of our stay , WE bought a bulb in the hope of fixing it ourselves but it was the fitting that was broken. The fact was the room was a sunken bedroom in a basement , with BLACK lamps and a black and cream wallpaper , so as you can imagine it was very dark.
As I investigated where the mouldy smell was coming from it made me wonder , was that why it was so dark so we couldn't actually see the mould on the wet wall behind our bed head , the pillows smelt of it if we left them against the headboard. I felt the back of the wall and it was damp with peeling paper and black mould. The floor was dusty and dirty with all sorts of detritus under the bed , it remained there as we left , so it hadn't been cleaned at all. To be fair to the housekeeping staff there wasn't a great deal of room to manoeuvre with a vacuum , you couldn't actually walk around the bed , I had to get in to my side by climbing in from the foot as there wasn't enough walkway space for me to get around it properly.
The rooms only redeeming feature was a great bath (which I had asked for specifically ) so may be that's why we got that particular room .
We stayed here for 4 nights , we wont be coming back. The other rooms may be a great deal better , but we both arrived home with nasty chest infections which im sure were instigated with al the mould spores and the damp room we had .

Room Tip: dark , damp , mouldy. avoid room 4 unless its in the heat of the summer and you can ventilate the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2016

Good Location. Clean Rooms and Large Bathroom with tub. Nice!.
Breakfast simple but varied, tasty coffee.
We are stayed 4th floor without elevator, (bring the suitcases up (just an anecdote).
Anyway totaly recommended.

Room Tip: Size Medium and nice bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marcela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Great place to stay in the centre of Amsterdam. Nice touch from the hotel emailing me beforehand with details on how to get to the hotel, one direct bus from the airport (197) costing 5 euros per person.

Arrived to be welcomed by the hot Australian receptionist! Took our bags to our room for us and took time to give us a map and suggest places to visit, thank you!

We were in room 3 for our stay (basement room - cheapest option). The room was small but as we only slept there it was no issue at all, it was clean, tidy and the bed was comfy. The only slight downsides were:

1) Clear glass doors for the bathroom - no privacy at all!

2) No soundproofed rooms - you can hear people entering and leaving, doors slamming etc (we only spotted the complimentary ear plugs on our last day which was a shame!)

3) Reception wasn't a 24 hour service - this was made clear when booking so I'm not complaining but think adding this service would greatly enhance the hotel.

We felt secure and safe with the key-card system so thanks NL Hotel District Leidseplein for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flutter2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Nice hotel, good location, clean tidy and well maintained and staff all helpful and friendly and breakfast fresh simple but great. Wifi free and worked fine. Decent value and no major issues. Was a bit of street noise and you could hear the noise on the landing but its a city centre hotel and ear plugs were also there complimentary

above all the friendly service and drawing out areas and info on the free map was def great service

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bondrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel staff were so helpful and friendly. Room was great size for 4 girls with good facilities. Clean rooms and nice shower room! Great use of space. Probably 15-20 minute walk to the main square but could be worse! Most hotels were fully booked due to the marathon and so we were pleasantly surprised that this hotel was so nice considering it was an only choice! Reasonably priced but found other hotels included breakfast for this price. Not ideal for wheelchair users or small children as very steep stairs to rooms. But great stay overall!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank flipflopsonly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#56 of 373 in Amsterdam
281 reviews
Vondelpark
Sara's Boutique Hotel
Sara's Boutique Hotel
#241 of 373 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#45 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,108 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#139 of 373 in Amsterdam
559 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#105 of 373 in Amsterdam
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NL Hotel District Leidseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Address: Nassaukade 368, 1054 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $116 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NL Hotel District Leidseplein 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to enjoy Amsterdam and stay in one of the hippest and coolest design hotels of the city? NL-Hotel Leidseplein is a charming boutique hotel where you enjoy a personal approach by the staff and the comfort of Dutch design. The hotel is located in an authentic Amsterdam canal house on the Nassaukade and is designed by Edward van Vliet who transformed into a contemporary design hotel.The stylish design hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, which was recently declared World Heritage by UNESCO. It is only 5 to 10 minute walking distance from Leidseplein, Vondelpark, the 9 streets shopping area, the Museum Quarter and the PC Hooftstraat. This makes the NL-Hotel Leidseplein the perfect spot to experience Amsterdam's turbulent life. NL-Hotel Leidseplein is easily accessible by car and public transport! Cars can be parked publically and in a nearby P&R. From Central Station, the hotel is accessible by public transport: tram lines 1, 2 and 5 bring you to the nearby tram stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your NL Hotel District Leidseplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nl Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing