We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay in a good location for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Ranked #248 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We booked a single night's stay at the NL Hotel District Leidseplein. As it was the last night of our trip we decided we'd treat ourselves and book the (slightly more expensive) comfort room with a canal view. The room was really very nice and I think worth the price. The bed was comfortable and the little seating area by the canal-side window was a lovely place to sit and sip a coffee from the Nespresso machine provided. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful and even helped us out of a bind by providing some European adapters for us. Some downsides would be the tiny TV with only a small selection of grainy channels available and the bathroom, which wasn't so much a room as it was a kind of corner area partitioned off behind a partially frosted glass wall. For us, a couple, it was fine, but friends and family travelling together will have no secrets to keep from each other afterwards. Another slight downside was the stairs. Our room was on the first floor and the stairs up were akin to a twisting ladder. It took the two of us to hoist our largest suitcase up to the landing. These are smaller issues that I'm making them seem though and we really did have a nice stay and a great night's sleep.

The hotel is just outside of the central area, near the beautiful Vondelpark and only about 10 mins walk from Leidseplein and the Museumplein. We were able to get to everywhere we wanted to be on foot but getting a tram to either of the above mentioned places is very easy.

Room Tip: If you can, book the larger comfort rooms with canal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DiscoCatGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017

My husband and I booked to stay here for 3 nights in march and I can honestly say it was very disappointing. Our room was cold and of a very poor standard nothing like the pictures online shows! We were down in the basement and there was constant noise from above all night long. Unfortunately the room next to us was also occupied by two young girls who were shouting all night long and when we complained the next day to the receptionist we were told that there was nothing he could do and when we asked to speak to the manager/owner we were told that he doesn't answer his phone and that nothing would happen...in other words the hotel is run by some dodgy business man who is only after taking your money! It really is a very low standard of accommodation not worth £80 per night, if we knew how bad it was going to be we may as well of booked a cheap hostel, probably would of been of a higher standard! My advise is to spend a little bit more and actually stay somewhere worthy of being called a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetter1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Only stayed for a night on business trip. Good location 5 minutes walk from tram stop. Very friendly concierge Hank who pointed in the right direction to eat. I had a basement room which was basic but very clean. Really great value for money considering where you are. Word of warning- if you have mobility issues it is not the place for you. It has very steep stairs, with very short treads!!
Would certainly stay here again

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner visited here in January , our room was on the ground floor almost just behind the reception desk . Fairly noisy. The rooms were very very very small , however they were cleaned daily , fresh towels every day .
Fab location , 10 minute walk to vondel park , 5 minutes into the centre , and around 10 minutes on the tram into Amsterdam central .
Staff friendly when we checked in .
You get what you pay for , and all in all it was perfect for what we needed it for .

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 218missjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay in the NL hotel ! We got the family room which was fab.. no outside noise at all so it was great for getting plenty rest for the long walks ! Our room was spotless, beds made every day and a plentyfull supply off fresh towels ! Yes there is a fairly step set off stairs to the rooms but Amsterdam is not without steap steps it's to be expected , Hotel is situated 5 mins walk to the centre off Leidseplein , but make sure use your maps or u will get lost ! We walked everywhere ! Yes it's a good walk to most places but the city is fantastic ! Highly recommend this hotel !

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rebekah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#96 of 375 in Amsterdam
974 reviews
Vondelpark
Sara's Boutique Hotel
Sara's Boutique Hotel
#249 of 375 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#64 of 375 in Amsterdam
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#191 of 375 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,114 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NL Hotel District Leidseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Address: Nassaukade 368, 1054 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $116 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NL Hotel District Leidseplein 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to enjoy Amsterdam and stay in one of the hippest and coolest design hotels of the city? NL-Hotel Leidseplein is a charming boutique hotel where you enjoy a personal approach by the staff and the comfort of Dutch design. The hotel is located in an authentic Amsterdam canal house on the Nassaukade and is designed by Edward van Vliet who transformed into a contemporary design hotel.The stylish design hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, which was recently declared World Heritage by UNESCO. It is only 5 to 10 minute walking distance from Leidseplein, Vondelpark, the 9 streets shopping area, the Museum Quarter and the PC Hooftstraat. This makes the NL-Hotel Leidseplein the perfect spot to experience Amsterdam's turbulent life. NL-Hotel Leidseplein is easily accessible by car and public transport! Cars can be parked publically and in a nearby P&R. From Central Station, the hotel is accessible by public transport: tram lines 1, 2 and 5 bring you to the nearby tram stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your NL Hotel District Leidseplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nl Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing