We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, Service up&down”
Review of Rijks

Rijks
Ranked #368 of 4,710 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Took my 2 daughters for dinner here during a weekend in Amsterdam. Food was great and incredible. On the reservation i had mentioned that my daughter was vegan. This was not communicated to the wait staff. However, once explained all dishes served to my daughter were vegan. We were first served by one waiter and then later replaced by another, Milton. He was good. I would have expected a small touch of personalized service or a visit by the Chef, as my daughters and myself carry the same family name. Otherwise great experience.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DirkJan151
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIJKS R, Manager at Rijks, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear Dirkjan,

Thank you for writing this review. We are sorry to hear that the information given upon you reservation was not communicated with our wait staff, we have shared your feedback with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon, Kind regards Team Rijks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 486 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2016

Wonderful farm to table restaurant featuring innovative cuisine in a very pleasant atmosphere outside of Rijksmuseum. If the weather cooperates, sit outside and savor all that is Amsterdam

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Palencia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIJKS R, Manager at Rijks, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear Palencia,

Dutch wheather can be quiet unpredictable, we always hope for more sunny days suring the summer so we can open our beautiful terrace!
Thank you for taking the time to write this review,
Kind regards, Team Rijks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I've lived in Amsterdam for a number of years but only found out about the Rijks Restaurant from some friends visiting from the US. Wow, impressive menu, food and service. A special thanks to Estela for her impeccable service.

I had the 3 course menu, fish, duck cooked to perfection.

What could they improve upon? Well, hard to beat but I would recommend that the restaurant finds a better way to market/brand or explain it's 'Rijks Tafel' small dish concept. Those familiar with Dutch/Indonesian 'Rijs Tafel' will know about a number of small dishes shared amongst a number of people. Whilst the restaurant tried to explain what appeared to be amazing small dishes that could be ordered as a 'Rijs/Rijks Tafel' option it was entirely unclear how many dishes would need to be order to accommodate a certain number of people?! It's a pity because the concept of small dishes is a good one but for those unfamiliar with quantity per person many opted for the normal 1-2 plates per person.

My recommendation: better coaching to the waiter staff as to how to market better, the quantity and concept..

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank joec97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIJKS R, Manager at Rijks, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear Joe C,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write this review. Also thank you for mentioning Estela in this review, she is indeed impeccable!

The "Rijks dishes" we serve are indeed smaller portions. The "Rijks table" is more like a 6-course tasting menu for you to enjoy. We are sorry to hear the concept was not clear to you nor explained well. We have shared your feedback with our staff.
Hopefully next time we can show you what we are really capable of.
Kind regards, Team Rijks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We had the lunch set menu and it was really delicious and a testament to fresh good food presented in an interesting way

The amuse bouche of grilled baby corn was a different and tasty start to a four course meal that continued to surprise and delight

Service was efficient and engaging

Setting is lovely and definitely one to reserve for lunch if you are in the museum area - but probably more shirt and trousers than t-shirt and shorts

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank drjv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIJKS R, Manager at Rijks, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear Justin,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about us. We really appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back soon, oh t-shirts and shorts are just fine! ;)
Kind regards, Team Rijks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Everything about this restaurant works.... The menu is ideal for sharing. We had 8 plates, including cheese and a desert. All plates where executed perfectly, from presentation, quality and taste. The service was outstanding. The wine list fit the menu very well... On our must go back list

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Pierre163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIJKS R, Manager at Rijks, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear Pierre,

Wow, we are most happy with your compliments about our staff, wine and food! Kind regards, Team Rijks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rijks also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rijks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.