We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,634)
Filter reviews
2,634 results
Traveller rating
1,601
734
186
67
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,601
734
186
67
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationtable tennisping ponggreat hotelcommon areascool hotelrent bikesnespresso machinecomfy bedenjoyed my staymin walkpublic transportgymtshstopscitysupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 2,634 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

The room is overpriced for the quality and comfort offered. The walls are quite thin and you can hear clearly the noises coming from neighbour rooms and it is way too dark (small windows and dark walls).

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your stay! We have communicated your feedback with our team and are working on the soundproofing issues. Our apologies for the inconvenience. We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam despite this!

Have a great day!
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 4 night stay in this modern, clean and stylishly decorated hotel. Comfy beds, good pillows, great breakfast/dinner bar ‘The Commons’ (really good food!!) and helpful receptionists. Oddly there weren’t many students - mainly older people, businessmen and middle aged people - but this didn’t bother us (two 18 year olds) as we were able to get a full nights sleep undisturbed by slamming doors. The decoration provided much entertainment with what we would describe as ‘indie’ quotes and artefacts, the whole style was really appealing and felt very crisp. Only slight drawback is the unavailability of food both in the hotel and local area after around 11pm. The hotel is ideally located, with a less than 5 minute walk to the Wibautstraat Metro, and a 30 minute total journey from the airport. Highly recommend as a base for your stay in Amsterdam (and they have chains in other cities too!). Really friendly, modern, clean and our room was cleaned every day with fresh bottles of water. You pay a little more than the classic hostel but so worth it. Great wifi, really quiet at night and the TV has ITV Hub (great for Love Island) as well as YouTube. Come here if you can!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank eviehallitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We had a lovely stay at TSH. Everyone was welcoming and we loved the stroopwafels on arrival. It is right by a metro stop but we actually walked in to the old town or the pijp each of the days, as it only took about 20 minutes by foot. Also really easy to reach the airport and centraal station from the hotel.
Staff were friendly and have good advice in where to go in the city beyond the main tourist sites.
The hotel itself is lovely, modern style. The rooms are not to everyone's taste but we really liked the design and Nespresso machine! Bathroom had lovely hot shower and the bed was huge and comfortable. Great black out blinds helped us sleep through and loved the USB charging block.
Would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dharmatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! If you're ever back in town again, please feel free to come and get another stroopwafel and make some more great memories!

Have a great day!
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the service, rooms, food, location and cleanliness are the best. My colleagues and I will now be staying here on a regular basis for business and leisure. Thanks team!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AD1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there,

Thank you so much for this lovely review! We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! And we are thrilled to hear that you'll be staying on a regular basis with us :)

Have a great day!
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This experience is as I already wrote in dutch the best hotel experience in Holland so far for me ! The hotel gives a feeling of freedom , which came back on ourselves as well . You feel at home. It was clean and spatial which also gave us a feeling of freedom . I loved the accents of the old Trouw building in the hallways which kept preserved . That is an extra for me personally , because I had a lot of beautiful moments on the dance floor , when it still was Club Trouw . Your staff is excellent in every way , because of the personal touch what they gave us . It was not only one staff member , but they were all like this . Thank you for this experience and when we come back to Amsterdam we always choose to stay in your Hotel . Till next time !

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mingus2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for writing us this super lovely review! Reading it puts a smile on our faces! It is always amazing to read such nice and detailed reviews! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we really hope to see you again when you're back in Amsterdam!

Until then,
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews