We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience with kids ”

Popocatepetl The Mexican
Ranked #121 of 351 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I don't understand why they didn't warn us that the kid dishes ate hot and spicy
Who servers hot / very spicy kids dishes...

The adult main courses took forever to arrive.

Bad experience, bad service - don't go if you are with children.

Thank ilan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

We had a table outside with a great view on the cathedral. Great service. I love it when you can taste the fresh herbs and BBQ grilled meat. Homemade calamari's and chicken legs like I've never had before... And also very affordable...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl The Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

I’m glad you enjoyed our dishes Alexander! We hope to welcome you again some time!

^Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

A great place , famous restaurant chain in Holland. Good food. Many staff walking araound. A bit cold in flow of airco.

Thank Marco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Assistent at Popocatepetl The Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your review Marco! The airco is work in progress ;)

^Casper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

We went there for a quick dinner with our kids. The restaurant was almost empty when we sat down. We placed the orders, starters arrived very quick and was delicious fresh made nachos. The main dish did not come for 40 minutes, we ordered just grilled corn for kids but even these were served very late. We complained and explained that people who came after us were served earlier but the stuff was not trained to handle the situation. We will not go again

Thank isil k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Assistent at Popocatepetl The Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Isil,

I’m sorry to hear your visit was disappointing. Because we just opened after a renovation and because we have a new menu we are still fine-tuning with the kitchen and the service. Sadly it is not always going flawless but we are doing our best to improve the service for the future!

^ Casper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We went eating dinner at Popo. The dishes were very tasty and came with a good size. The only negative notes was the way too abundant creme fraiche everywhere

Thank Mattia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Assistent at Popocatepetl The Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Mattia, I’m glad to hear the food was to your liking.
I will pass the note about the crème fraiche to the kitchen!

^Casper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popocatepetl The Mexican also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Popocatepetl The Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing