We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hotel in Delft”
Review of Hotel de Plataan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Plataan
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My husband and I stayed for one night in this unique hotel in Delft. It is located within walking distance to the market square, new church and blue heart sculpture. We stayed in one of the Plataan rooms which was clean and nicely decorated. There is a shower, toilet and basin, a small desk, television and hairdryer. The beds were comfortable and could adjust for extra comfort. Buffet breakfast was delicious and sufficient. We also had free wi-fi and parking at the hotel. I just loved the old fashioned elevator where you still have to push and hold the button to move from floor to floor. Overall the service was good and I will definitely stay there again in future.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank _wilmanunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2017

Thank you for the beautiful words, we would definitely like seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Rooms are decorated to be "arty", which is fine, but I would have preferred some basic improvements instead: there in no aircondition, making the room climate quite unpleasant. The bathroom is micro-sized so the wash is placed in the room itself. There is a kind of glass painting between the bath and the bedroom, it might not be to everyone's liking. The bed is quite narrow.

That said, the staff is friendly and the location is very good. Delft is a nice city.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Håkon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 August 2017

Thank your for your review.

We are sorry to hear about the airconditioning, this is something we are working on right now en will be fixed very soon! The other aspects of your review will be discussed with the owners.

Floortje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Hotel overall is good. Bath area is relatively small. The ceiling fan does not work. Instead they provide a table fan. The location is very good. The central church/museum is very nearby. Hotel is very close to station.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mpartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

I hope you had a lovely time in Delft. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We rented the room the day before we were arriving and were happy to find a place that had good reviews. There were 4 of us travelling (2 adults and 2 kids) so we rented the family room which was advertised as 2 sleeping areas, each with a flat screen TV and a private bathroom. However, what we got was much different. The room was basically 4 beds all next to each other (almost like one big mattress). There was a little space between the beds, but not much. Also, there was no door to the bathroom, so really no privacy (in hindsight, I think by private bath they meant that you have your own bathroom, instead of a shared bath for the entire floor).

Since one of the adults was not related to the kids, it wasn't the best room for us. So we asked if there was anything they could do and the best they could offer was a second room at a discounted price. At the same time, we found another hotel that was only 10 Euro more with 2 separate rooms, so we asked for a refund as we were only in the room for 5 minutes (at most) and the room that we received was not what was advertised. They said they couldn't refund the money.

Overall, I was very disappointed with the experience. The hotel actually looked pretty nice, but we ended up leaving so we didn't experience it. We had to dispute the charge with our credit card company to get our money back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rob10k8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroy N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel de Plataan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

To put this story in perspective, we rent four familyrooms in total. Two with somewhat separated sleeping areas (bunkbed and twins) and two with beds right next to each other. All family rooms have a shared bathroom. This is all explained very clearly and in pictures on our website. If a guest has a preference to one of the familyrooms, we are more than delighted to accomodate you, when you call of mail us that information.

In this case particularly, when one of the adults is not related, it might not be smart to book a family room. When one does, please be so kind as to provide us with this knowledge beforehand. When arriving in a hotel, when all familyrooms are booked full, we cannot change the situation.

Therefore, we offered you a second room with at discounted rate. Which we thought was a kind gesture, considering the situation. When you book a room at a non-refundable rate, we unfortunely cannot refund your money. This is why you couldn't get your money back, even after contacting your creditcard company to dispute the charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Our stay at Hotel de Plataan was exactly as we hoped - a value for money accommodation close to the main attractions. The hotel was an easy stroll to the main square and all the lovely canal walks in the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was tasty and fresh and the parking was onsite in a secure lot. We loved the quirky room decorations and especially appreciated the Australian themed decor of our room. All this but still away from the crowds - not that Delft is very crowded. It had a cosy bar and good aspect to enjoy a relaxing drink at the end of the day or a morning coffee. Be sure to climb the clock tower in the main square - a wonderful view is the reward.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know where you are from- they might give you a room that reminds you of home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroy N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel de Plataan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review - We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delft hotels
1.6 km away
WestCord Hotel Delft
0.3 km away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.6 km away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
1.3 km away
Casa Julia
Casa Julia
#8 of 15 in Delft
38 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Plataan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Plataan

Address: Doelenplein 10, 2611 BP Delft, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Delft
#5 Business Hotel in Delft
#6 Romantic Hotel in Delft
#7 Family Hotel in Delft
Price Range: $147 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Plataan 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Plataan is a very friendly and stylish 3*hotel, with a unique character. The hotel is situated in the historical centre of Delft, with the marketplace, museums and other curiosities all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Plataan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Plataan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing