We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the station!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tulip Inn Leiden Centre
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Conveniently located, very close to Leiden centraal station. The road from the train station to the hotel can get pretty busy w/ bicycles and cars, especially during weekday peak time. Front staff who checked us in was nice. She gave us a map however, didn't give us any site-seeing tips. We approached a different staff whom we saw giving tips and got 'em sites circled onto our map instead(did come in handy!).

Hotel facilities:
-Once inside the hotel, I found the screens displaying the train timetable/ weather placed around the front desk leading up to the elevator hall quite useful.
-Hotel had 2 elevators. Seemed quite old, the sounds and jolts were a bit scary.
-Ice machine (free ice) available on the 2F (be sure to take a container).
-Vending machine located on the 4F.
-Smoking area w/ benches provided just outside the entrance. When leaving the hotel at a late hour, you'd need to have the front staff buzz you out as the entrance doors get locked. When (returning) entering, there's a button/ intercom on the left side of the rotating doors. (You'll be asked your room number so be sure to have it down!)
-Room was large enough to open up 2 large pieces of luggage w/ no hassle, hair-dryer was stored under the sink, no mini-fridge though(was told that only 4star rooms have one) and no kettle as well.

Tip: There's a large supermarket called "Jumbo" near the station. It isn't an Albert Heijn but it's good enough!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MsTada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

Lovely hotel. Very practical in terms of location... just steps from the main train station in Leiden. Service was excellent and the room was very comfortable. The only thing I would suggest is providing small bottles of shampoo and hair conditioner. The shower had an all purpose gel soap, but It is not something that works well for your hair. It leaves it kind of greasy and flat. Oddly, they provide two small bottles of skin lotions. I am not sure about other, but this is not something I would ever think to use. Overall it is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Golden Tulip Hotels
Thank 35emilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

It was perfect for my need. Was visiting Leiden for a brief stay. It is right across from the train station. Great location with shops/ restaurants within walking distance. Friendly staff, rooms are clean and comfortable. Had a very comfortable stay.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Antan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We stayed here at the end of April 2017. We hoped that there would be tea making facilities in the room and when we asked at reception if we could have a kettle we were brusquely told "no, that is not possible". Very disappointed because this is standard in even the most basic hotel in the UK. Also when we reported a bad smell coming from the bathroom (drains), reception said they would do something about it but nothing was done. We hade to block the drains with wet towels to keep the smell out. The bed mattress was too firm for us and when we asked if we could have a mattress topper or extra duvets we were told again" no."
The room had tiny windows which gave very little light and no view. The lights in the room were too poor to read by. The only good thing was that it was a short walk to the station and town centre.

Room Tip: Try the Golden Tulip which is next door and has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynne_and_Keir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

It is surprisingly spacious with huge bath tub, dining table and cooking area. Great location as it is located opposite the Leiden Centraal station. Walking distance to Albert Heijn hypermarket too. Great stay for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 km away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 17 in Leiden
671 reviews
2.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
993 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 17 in Leiden
668 reviews
2.6 km away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Leiden Centre

Address: Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Leiden
Price Range: $128 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Leiden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulip Inn Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Leiden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing