We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, Fair Prices, Nice Spot, Cool Cafe, Could be more friendly”
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel van Walsum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cozy, Fair Prices, Nice Spot, Cool Cafe, Could be more friendly”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was one of the nicer hotels we paid for on our 2 week trip through Lux, Belgium, and the Netherlands. Cost was reasonable. Upon arriving the front desk was curt but helpful. Our room was a bit noisy as it was near the staff closet but it wasn't too bad. TV was nice, bed was comfy, and they had Air conditioning! Tea and Coffee came complimentary in the room which was extremely nice. Breakfast also included! The room was very small but that's the deal when you're in a city like Rotterdam. Reception was helpful just not too friendly. Location was nice for various activities and not on the main area as to be too loud. I enjoyed the stay and the back garden was an extra bonus. Would return to again for a stay in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    126
    34
    7
    0
See reviews for
37
114
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here 1 night after being in Germany for 2 weeks, awaiting a cruise to begin. Found them due to reviews on here. We paid $70Euro, about $95US for the room, which included breakfast.

From emails with the hotel, the info about reaching the hotel by taxi from central station and then to cruise terminal were spot on, about $10-11 euro. Much easier than walking, but walking is only about 15-20 minutes from Central Station.

After being in Germany for almost 2 weeks during pretty warm weather with no AC, it was a relief to be able to cool down the room. There was also coffee and tea in the room with a kettle; another nice touch not found in the hotels we stayed at in Germany. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was your typical European breakfast......eggs, toast, Nutella, meats, yogurt, cereal, just about anything outside cooked to order food.

The guy who checked us in gave us some info about the area for us to look around the afternoon we checked in. Also quickly provided multiple IDs for WiFi access as each room apparently only has 1 code assigned by default. In the morning, they held our luggage until we returned from sight seeing to get to the cruise terminal. Everyone we met was helpful and smiled. It was a good stop for us and I can see why it's been so highly rated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donutking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I can't believe people giving high score to this hotel, it doesn't deserve it. It is average at most! It is located in a remote area, you cannot really walk to the center and believe me I am a fan of walking and discovering cities. The rooms are ugly and dated. My parents were on the older side which was even worse than my side. Front desk was moody and they insisted to sell us a parking spot which is much more expensive than parking outside. I didn't like this hotel but to be fair it is not horrible. I think one can stand it for one day or two if there is no better alternative.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raindeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is in a great part of town: close to conference areas, near the museums and fab bars. It is the most beautiful, light-filled hotel, with balconies at the back, and rooms over leafy streets at the front. There are tea-making facilities and a fridge in each room. The beds are sumptuous. The staff is just lovely. I would really recommend this hotel. There is a sitting room to work in on the ground floor if you wake before everyone else (the staff offered me an extra coffee when I was working there one morning!), free wifi (which really works - fast connection), and the hotel is open 24 hours.

If you get a chance - ask if you can have a room that is not adjacent to the lifts, as the noise carries a little (as with most elegant, historical hotels that have wisely added elevators). It is slightly noisy in the morning with the room-cleaning staff happily answering their mobile phones in the hallways at 9am. Fine if you are checking out, but not so great if this is your one chance of a sleep-in. But this is a pretty common thing in hotels, so no real complaint here.

Breakfasts are a little expensive (if you are a light eater at breakfast) but over-the-top yummy with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, bacon and eggs, sweet croissants and serious coffee. From my point of view, it would be great if they let you have a coffee and croissant for half the price.

Really loved having a hotel with plaster roses on the ceilings and elegant tiled bathrooms with all products supplied and thick towels. There is a real sense of history. Would recommend this elegant and chic hotel to anyone who needs a sense of calm in the midst of travel. The people who work there go out of their way to enhance the fun of travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not adjacent to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diorissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daprak@msn.com
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This small hotel is conveniently located on public transportation. They have a very good breakfast, the rooms are comfortable, clean and safe. We have been going there for about 10 years and they keep upgrading to make it very comfortable and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms - it may cost a little more but it is worth it. Rooms on the back m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank switzerlandvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Oude Westen
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#18 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#31 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel Breitner
Hotel Breitner
#24 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Property: Hotel van Walsum
Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-201, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price range (per night): $124 - $236
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Walsum is a cozy city-hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. A 6 minute walk will take you to the Museumpark. Free WiFi is available throughout the whole hotel. Other features include a paid private parking space and a 24-hour reception. The hotel is situated in three historical buildings that have been renovated recently. Each of the 28 rooms is unique and has been furnished with charm and design. You are welcome at our bar for a drink or a small menu. Weather permitting; the private garden is an absolute favorite. For lunch and dinner our staff can recommend one of the many cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the Markthal, Boijmans van Beuningen museum, the Kunsthal, het Nieuwe Instituut, the Erasmus Medical Centre or the Sophia children's hospital. Attractions such as the Blijdorp zoo, the Ahoy event centre and Spido harbor tours are easily accessible by public transport. You can start your day wonderfully with the extensive breakfast buffet; including freshly baked bread, bacon and eggs, as well as several biological and fair-trade products. The hotel is characterized by the hospitality of the family and their staff. They aspire to make your stay at Hotel van Walsum an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing