We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price. Great views of Erasmus Bridge from the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 7 October 2017

I got a room with a great view facing towards the Erasmus Bridge. The hotel is centrally located in the city and it's easy to walk to the places worth seeing. The room and bathroom are quite small but they are up-to-date.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor!
It was a pleasure to give you a nice Rotterdam experience: we would love to welcome you back on a new trip!

Kind regards

Eric Slabbekoorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

* perfect location, close to subway, trams, also possible to simply walk 20-30 mins to the center
* good value of money
* awkwardly organised small room
* clean room and bathroom
* not very friendly staff
* constant problems with room cards which is extremely inconvenient when you try to get inside the hotel late at night, past reception opening hours
* broken window

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear guest,

thank you for your honest review about your stay at this hotel.
I am sorry to read that you experienced the staff to be unfriendly: this is of course not what we intent. You also mention that you had problems with your key-card, which I regret. Since it is a magnetic card, keeping it together with a mobile phone might cause the problem. Our reception is 24 hours open so there should always be somebody to help you with this, or other problems/ questions.
Given the fact that you value the hotel as ‘good value of money’, I hope we get a new chance to show you that the staff intends to be friendly and helpful. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back at the hotel once again.

Kind regards

Eric Slabbekoorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I like to stay here when in Rotterdam. The Hotel may be advised as well for exploring the City walking, on bike or using a tram and the Harbor using Spido service which is just opposite the Hotel. Very good view from all rooms facing the Rive Maas. Surely friendly Staff working in the Reception and in the Bar. Bikes can be rented right in the Hotel.
Good Luck to all!

Room Tip: It is a fantastic day and night view from all rooms facing river side. I would advise to take a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank OlegOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review about your experiences with this hotel!
We hope to see you on your next trip to Rotterdam!

Kind regards
Eric Slabbekoorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Service was average, nice fresh breakfast, best thing about the hotel is definitely the location. Tram infront of hotel, bike rentals from the hotel directly or from the info tourist office under the bridge (a minute walk from hotel).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank MatejaKoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice comment on the breakfast and our central location!
I hope we get another chance to show you that we aim for more than average service; we would love to welcome you back for another trip to Rotterdam!

Kind regards
Eric Slabbekoorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

The twin room is quite small, but ok for one person. It has mini bar, kettle, safe, and all the necessary equipment, also a shoe shine machine on the ground floor. Room has big window looks over the river, very pleasant view. hotel is opposite of tram 7 stop, great to use it to explore the museum park, or to the central train station. I will certainly use it again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thanks you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor!
Great to read that we might welcome you back at this hotel; we look forward to it!

Kind regards

Eric Slabbekoorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
825 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#16 of 53 in Rotterdam
349 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $107 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is situated in the heart of the city, with a lovely view of the fabled Erasmus Bridge and the Maas River. Thanks to its central location, the hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the city’s countless museums, theatres, and other tourist attractions, which are all just a short distance away. At Thon Hotel Rotterdam we have 92 hotel rooms and 2 conference rooms. Our hotel rooms are modern decorated with a high quality single- or double bed, a bathroom with shower and toilet. Also has every room parquet floors, a flat screen television, air-conditioning and high-speed wireless internet. For meetings and trainings, Thon Hotel Rotterdam offers two conference rooms. We can place a maximum of 70 persons. Depending on the number of persons and the room layout, we can offer you a suitable room for your meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing