We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Was SOOOOOO Cool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Ranked #16 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in August, 2011, in the Marrakesh Room, one of about 17 custom-designed country-themed rooms. The decor was as wonderful as it was amusing - a mural of a Bedouin with a gun on a camel graces one wall. The beds were oooh so comfortable, the room was spotless and the bathroom was gorgeous and very, very clean. We really enjoyed all the little details such as the custom-made bed covers, the space for luggage - 3 of us traveling together - and the beautiful blue & white tile in the bathroom. We also loved the towel warmer. Our 21-year old son, who got the cot, was likewise intrigued. Breakfast was tasty and the dining area is very continental. The location - at the St. Catherine metro stop - could not be more convenient. There are good restaurants nearby and we enjoyed a sunny afternoon on the Plaza in front of the hotel having a couple of cocktails. The front desk staff was very nice to talk to and we had a couple of interesting conversations. There is private car service to the airport was provided by the manager who had amazing stories to tell. Staying here was one of the highlights of our stop in Brussels. A first-rate experience!

Room Tip: You can ask for specific rooms, but the hotel makes no guarantees because there is so much demand fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBuffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 416 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

The hotel was a treat, with unique, carefully appointed rooms, a solicitous and helpful staff, convenient location and terrific breakfast. I stayed on two separate occasions recently -- once in "Kenya" and another time in "Tahiti." The rooms are comfortable, with luxurious touches (like the jacuzzi-style tub in Tahiti). And the staff definitely live up to the hotel's name. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are imaginatively furnished and well-appointed, though some, like Kenya, are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

If you want to feel that you are in your own special wonderland then this hotel, the location and time of year all add up to give you just that! We have just returned from a 4 night stay and have had a brilliant time.

We (being me, my husband and mum) stayed in the China room right at the top of the building. It is a cosy room with fun decor; a black and gold bathroom, which gives it a bit of an opulent feel, with a spa bath with a shower; it has a queen size bed and there is steep and narrow wooden stairs leading up to a converted loft area which has a single bed and a chair bed that would convert to a smaller single bed if required. Our initial idea was for mum to have the single bed and us the queen size one but on seeing the stairs we realised this would be a bit dangerous for mum so my husband slept in the loft area and was very comfortable up there! As we were situated in the loft area we had velux windows which looked out on the magical sight of St Catherine's Place with a Christmas market, an iceskating rink and a big wheel - all lit up with the most beautiful lighting. The hustle and bustle, singing, small bands playing Chistmas music, lovely smells, laughter and general frivolity was totally infectious and we immediately, and for the duration of the stay, felt like we were living in our own magical, Christmas grotto. The windows keep any high level noise out once closed, and you are just left with a gentle buzz of happy sounds.

The staff at the hotel are helpful and accommodating - especially the tall man on reception who made us laugh and was really friendly. The room was clean with good quality bedding, and bathroom towels are changed daily. The buffet breakfast offers a tasty choice of cooked or continental food in a wood panelled, warm and comfortable room. There are also tables by the windows which was our favourite place to sit, eat and watch the world go by.,

Public transport is excellent in Brussels and the metro stops are in St Catherine's Place so it is very easy to get around. On one of our days we travelled to Brugge using first the metro which took about 5 minutes to get to the Central Station where we caught a double-decker train to Brugge.

The hotel is in a central position which allowed us to discover many of the sights on foot and wandering through the Christmas markets in the evening, with a gluhwein with amaretto shot, to the Grande Place to watch the amazing lights with music show was wonderful.

If you want to get away from the corporate and chain hotels and go instead for fun and frivolity then this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: There is a lift but not to the top floor where we were so you have to carry cases up final two fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leafonthewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

There are so many things that are excellent about this hotel. Great location - close to the centre, close to the Xmas market (right outside but great double glazing means you are in the centre of it but not disturbed by the market and to boot a metro station no more than 50 yards away.

We were in the Silk Room - a pleasant upgrade as I have never had one before - which is very colourful and enormous. Brilliant bathtub and a shower you could get a football team in - 5 aside that is.

Best part was the exceptionally helpful owner/manager. Made you feel welcome - yeah I know that is his job but he was just so helpful - Brilliant

Would I go back? What do you think? Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddog1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, which is way easy to access from both the airport and train stations, since the metro stops literally outside its front door. We stayed in the Bali-themed room, which is at the top of the hotel and has a spa bathtub and a pretty little balcony overlooking the city. It had a couple of maintenance issues, like a worn bedspread and the spa bath's tendency to make very loud noises even when not in use, but owner Michael assured us he was working on these. We liked the free wireless access and the very good breakfast which started at 7am, great for early risers like us. Our only caveat about Bali is that the elevator does not go there, so we were stuck dragging our suitcases up  2 flights of stairs - tough for a single mom with a small child. But otherwise we found the room very pretty and the hotel welcoming. And there's a great little chocolate shop right across the square - Frederic Blondeel, our favorite in Brussels!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KayDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 km away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.3 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#71 of 199 in Brussels
2,811 reviews
2.6 km away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.7 km away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,447 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#13 of 199 in Brussels
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Address: Quai au Bois a Bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $160 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Brussels in the subway saint-Catherine, at 6 mn walking distance of the famous Grand Place. The hotel, at the same time atypical and welcoming, offers a real world tour because its 14 rooms with shower or balneo bath and its 2 SUITES with double Jacuzzi are decorated in the style of a different country with authentic objects brought back of the journeys of the owners, others were offered to them by customers. Rooms offer a real comfort with WiFi connection and certain air-conditioning. It is the magic place which will make you dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing