We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast ”
Review of The Twelve

The Twelve
Ranked #96 of 3,901 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: US$29 - US$78
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Named after the number of stars on the flag of the European Union, The Twelve welcomes you every week day for lunch and dinner.LunchWith its cosy ambiance and chic styling, The Twelve restaurant is a the perfect place to eat with friends or colleagues and the perfect venue for a business lunch in the European Quarter on week days. Our fixed lunch menu is complemented by dishes that change weekly depending on the seasons and availability of fresh market produce.Evening diningThe Twelve also offers a delicious evening dining experience. Our chef and his team aim to tantalise your taste buds, serving modern dishes with contemporary appeal. Attention to detail and timeless elegance without formality are important ingredients of each and every dish served.Dine, wine and sleep fine!Come to The Twelve restaurant and spend at least € 175,00 per 2 persons. Thon Hotel EU will offer you a perfect night’s sleep in one of the spacious business rooms!
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Very good breakfast menu with variety of food. Different types of bread, eggs and cheese. All types of fruit and salads

Thank حمده ا
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeedbackThonHotel, P.A. to the G.M. at The Twelve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you a lot for this great feedback about the breakfast buffet we serve at The Twelve. We are very proud to serve one of the best breakfasts in town with a large variety of hot and cold dishes. Our kitchen likes to work with seasonal, local, home-made, organic and fair-trade products. It is a pleasure to read that you had a great start of the day with our assortment and do hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards, Elise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018

I was actually attracted to 2 starters, while my fellow diner went for the king prawn salad. The starters were both lovely and the salad could definitely fill a hungry person.

But besides the food the selection of spirits at the bar is impressive and the staff is very helpful to give you some advice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Whisky-Ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeedbackThonHotel, other at The Twelve, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Whisky-Ginger,
Thank you a lot for this feedback. Our restaurant The Twelve hosts "The BXL Whisky Club": a malt society for tastings, food-pairing dinners, exclusive events,... Our bar itself has over 120 bottles of Whisky and our staff would be happy to guide you to the perfect choice according to your preferences. Our kitchen team will be very happy to read that you enjoyed the dishes made from fresh, seasonal ingredients. Thank you for appreciating the friendly service of our staff. We look forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards, Elise



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely amazing. 5 stars definitely
The f&b manager is unbelievable. And the whisky selection is incredible.

Thank Geoffrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeedbackThonHotel, P.A. to the G.M. at The Twelve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Geoffrey,
Thank you a lot for this very positive feedback. It is a real pleasure to know that you have appreciated our concept of "The BXL Whisky Club": a society of malt lovers coming together for tastings and food-pairing events around this brewery. Our bar itself has a wide selection of exclusive bottles. Our F&B Manager is indeed happy to recommend and inform you about food and drinks. We do hope to welcome you back very soon again.
Kind regards, Elise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Not the cheapest meal you’ll find but ceeative and absolulty mouth watering. The sizes of the meals are big.

Thank mariahaggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeedbackThonHotel, Assistant F&B Manager at The Twelve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Maria,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit at The Twelve. Our prices are on line with the other 4-star hotel restaurant of the neighborhood, but we like to offer large portions to make sure you don't leave hungry!
We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I've stayed at the Hotel Thon EU quite a few times and the reviews I have read here bear no relation to the really average hotel brasserie I've endured many meals at.

The only reason I can work out why this restaurant is so highly rated is because they have an all you-can-eat buffet at the weekend which draws in people who are more interested in quantity than quality.

Breakfast - Really overpriced at EUR 30 but okay as long as you don't like a cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast buffet is poor but there are self service waffle and pancake machines which are fun to play with. Fruit selection is of variable quality but they have a nice range range of smoked/pickled fish and fruit preserves. Also a fresh orange juice machine. If you don't want to pay EUR 30 each there are two Exkis that open at 7.00 am within five minutes walk of the hotel

Dinner - Just don't do it. Drinks are horrendously overpriced. Food is overpriced and just plain average. There is a huge range of much better restaurants 10 minutes walk to the north east behind the Berlaymont buidling or 10 minutes south in Place Luxembourg.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NeverlandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeedbackThonHotel, P.A. to the G.M. at The Twelve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are surprised to read your comment and regret to know that, as one of our regular guests, we were not able to meet your expectations and never have been informed of it during one of your stays (as your profile does not allow us to find back your contact details).
Each guest comment is subjective: some previous clients have been satisfied with the value for money we offer and others have given us some comments to improve our service (which we appreciate as this allows us to evolve positively).
Concerning the breakfast buffet at 29 EUR: we offer a very large variety of hot and cold dishes (meat, fish, vegetables, bread, fruit, pastries, fresh orange juice machine...) and with an attention to products that are seasonal, organic, home-made, gluten-free,....Most of our international clientele is most happy to start their day with such a quality meal. During the weekend, we offer indeed 50% discount for those who do not have breakfast included and for external clients. Light eaters can ask for a coffee and pastry to go at our bar or you can indeed choose an outside breakfast place yourself.
As for the bar with a large variety of whisky's, gin's, rum's, home-made cocktails,... the prices are totally in line with other four star hotels in Brussels. As for the food, our kitchen team works with fresh, seasonal products. We have an à la carte menu, a lunch menu and snacks card. If anything is not to your liking, please mention so on spot so that we can follow-up directly. Instead of writing a comment on such website without any details about your identity and details of your stay, we would have preferred you talking to our staff or writing an email to our management. They would have taken the time to analyze your stay and make sure to follow-up on your remarks in order to improve our services and ensure a perfect next stay.
Kind regards, Elise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Twelve also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to The Twelve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing