We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to sleep . . .”
Review of The Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moon Hotel
Ranked #136 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 21 December 2015

and definitely not much more. We needed a room in Brussels convenient to the train station for an easy trip to the airport for our flight home. Earlier in the week we had spent a couple of days in another place a few blocks away, and after some touring in Belgium we felt that "basic" would suffice for our last night, since we would be heading home early in the morning. Location was more important than luxury at this point.
There was no risk of luxury at this property, but we WERE closer to the train station, and in fact, The Moon Hotel really is in a great location. It sits on a very pleasant square, and it is a very short walk (minutes) from the Grand Place.
This property is about as basic as you can get, but it is acceptable, if "spartan". There are pretty much no amenities, and space is at a real premium.

Room Tip: a room away from the square would probably be a quieter choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2015

You get what you pay for...and i think you are mostly paying for the location. It was so central!!! The hotel is very basic, but for a 1-2 night stay, you need look no further - no one goes away to stay in their hotel room. The room is basic, but you even get a TV in the room. Even though the room is near a central square, you can't hear anything from the street. As Brussels isn't very big, we found that wherever you wander to, we always seemed to end up back near the hotel. I would definitely recommend this place, don't expect a lot, and you'll be pleasantly surprised. We didn't manage breakfast, but kinda regretted that as the restaurant downstairs doesn't start serving food until 12!

Room Tip: Room 22 faces out on the square and is located on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raychell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

My friend suggested this hotel as they had stayed here before. They had warned not to expect anything fancy, it had what you needed for a night away. I was very impressed when I arrived! It was central to Brussels and within walking distance of everything, especially the Christmas Market which was the main reason for my overnight stay. The staff were polite and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, there were fluffy towels in the room, and the bed was really comfortable. I hadn't expected a breakfast in the morning, but they had some nice pastries to choose from, as well as hot and cold drinks. I was able to leave my luggage there the next day while I continued shopping. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

As everyone else i chose this place as it was the most reasonably priced in a central location. And you can't really get more central than this hotel. It's situated barely two minutes from Grand Place.

There are other hotels located in the same square, but they are high chain hotels with stupid prices. Consequently don't expect The Moon Hotel to tick your 5 Star hotel boxes, because it wont. But for a place to sleep it does the trick just as well as any chain hotel. The wifi was good and always worked (i was on the 2nd floor).

It's a little run down, the shower head could have done with replacing, although it wasn't that bad, the toilet seat was slightly loose, a few minor things like that. I would have liked a window i could have opened more but it was okay. But i was there in November, so i'm not sure what that would be like in summer. The bathroom is small. But aren't they all. The door i pretty much had to slam so it would stay closed. I was situated in a room away from the square, so the view wasn't very inspiring. But that's hardly a bad point. Be warned that there is no lift in case you're lugging heavy bags.

However though, as i say as a place to sleep after being out all day doing your tourist thing, it does the job equally as well as a large chain. I wouldn't want to stay the bulk of the day in the room, it might get depressing. But that may apply to a fancy place too.

A word about getting there: i had a little bit of a tough time finding the hotel and there was precious little information in other reviews. It is right near Brussels Central train station. The nearest exit toward the hotel from the station is located at the far end of the station. If you're at the bottom of the big sets of stairs that lead up to the main entrance/exit, walk in the opposite direction as far as you can go (you'll see the Quick fast food place), turn right and that's the exit that is most handy. I think they close that exit around 9pmish though. Then basically you walk out straight ahead, past the small church, heading downhill and you'll come across the square. On the far end of the square a little to the right you'll see 'Hotel' in blue neon lights. That's the place. If you have to exit via the main entrance/exit of Brussels Central then go straight ahead & a bit to the left, then turn right going downhill, then you'll hot the square.

I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights and even though on the whole i didn't have much to do with the staff, when i did it was nothing but pleasant. I always received a polite hello from reception & cleaning staff alike. The guy behind reception was even quite sorry to see me go when i checked out, which felt nice. He gave me a free hotel pen!

It's a bit rough round the edges but only a snob would whine about it.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogadoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Hotel is located in the very center. Love location. Price is good. Room was clean and good. Internet is also good. Just breakfast room is a little bit little and they are adding food not quickly, when its over.

I can recommend this hotel 100%.
Its best match with price, location and service.

Room Tip: Heart of Brussels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TamunaKala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#119 of 199 in Brussels
341 reviews
0.1 km away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#110 of 199 in Brussels
743 reviews
0.1 km away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.5 km away
Hotel Orts
Hotel Orts
#129 of 199 in Brussels
251 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#146 of 199 in Brussels
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Hotel

Address: Rue de la Montagne 4/bis | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $90 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing