We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor conditions vs money”
Review of The Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moon Hotel
Ranked #136 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Wouldn't have complained if we paid 30-50 Eur for the room/night, but we paid 120 EUR for a room with no heating, smelly towels, no elevator, tv set from the 90s with no remote control, bed side lamps not working. The window sill was decorated with an empty pot of flowers full of cigarette butts (that is, if anyone wants to know about the hotel's smoking policy).
The overall appearance of the hotel and the room is worn out, no one is putting any effort in it because it sells anyway due to location. The cleaning personnel clearly does its best as it is pretty clean.
It is noisy from both outside and inside.
We were afraid to check what the included breakfast had to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IrinaIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel was the location. Central and close to the attentions. However the wifi was horrible and the staff were not so pleasant. The breakfast buffet consisted of a few slices of cheese, sliced bread, cornflakes and afew croissants. Once the so called breakfast had ended the electricity was turned off so that people would leave the hotel. Horrible.. not value for money at all.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ashleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheMoon, Manager at The Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

You might not have been satisfied with your stay and that is fine - but to invent a lie that we shut off electricity so people leave is quite absurd.

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Arrived late in Brussels without a hotel reservation. After asking at a couple hotels, we found the price of this one the most reasonable. The front desk attendant told us that for 90 EUR a night we would get the biggest room in the place (slept three people) and it had a big window and a tv. We paid cash and headed up to the room - we were so disappointed. The room had cracked linoleum floors, two small beds, a window that looked into a brick wall and no tv.

We knew that it wasn't worth the price so we went to the front desk and told the attendant that we really wanted a tv (it wasn't actually important to us). He offered us the room for 80 EUR a night, but we took our money and left.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

cons: Really a run-down place. Missing such basic things as lobbay and elevator. My room was really worn out and could have been cleaned better. Breakfast... well look at the picture and decide yourself. Difficult to distinguish tea from coffee.
pros: great location, nice staff, free (shaky) wifi

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gustaf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I came across this hotel when I was visiting London, and decided to book it base on the location. The room was small with a small shower, but I figured I wouldn't be paying for the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel. This hotel was however really close to Grand Place and convenient to walk around. It was also close to Brussels Central (definitely a bonus).

Stayed: September 2016
Thank ModerndDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#119 of 199 in Brussels
341 reviews
0.1 km away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#110 of 199 in Brussels
743 reviews
0.1 km away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.5 km away
Hotel Orts
Hotel Orts
#129 of 199 in Brussels
251 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#146 of 199 in Brussels
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Hotel

Address: Rue de la Montagne 4/bis | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $90 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing