We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed in Gent
Ranked #7 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Tom is a great host. The house is very stylishly renovated with 1950's / 60's furnishings. Plenty of books and records provide both atmosphere and diversion. Both rooms are large and comfortable and Tom lays on a delicious breakfast. Home away from home and very convenient for visiting Gent on foot.

Room Tip: Both rooms excellent. Stairs steepish which might give some a preference for 1st over 2nd floor alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markandmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016

We are so glad we chose to stay at Tom's place.

The location is brilliant, everything so easy to walk to. The room was a really good size, and the area is very quiet. Parking just a few streets away for only 3.5 Euros per day

Lovely breakfast with fresh bread and pastries and delicious home made jams. Tom was a great host, and a really really lovely guy. He had loads of recommendations of places to visit, and it was nice to come back later in the day and just be able to relax in the kitchen with a coffee.

A great stay, and if we were coming back to Gent we would not even consider any other accommodation.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Shifu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This was our first journey to Belgium and Ghent. What a beautiful country with friendly people. We spent time in Bruges and Brussesls but Ghent was our favorite. The "Bed in Ghent " was an ideal place to stay. As mentioned in previous reviews it is operated by Tom. A more fitting name maybe "Tom's Place". Tom is an excellent host! The accommodations were ideal for our needs. It was clean, quiet and well taken care of. The location is excellent being close to the train station and a short walk to the main areas of interest. It is in a residential area with a good neighborhood feel. It is very safe day or night. We spent 3 nights here and found it to be very comfortable. Enjoyed the conversation and recommendations from Tom. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nobaddays2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

I stayed here in early December for a few days with my partner. We had a great stay. There are only 2 rooms, and in fact we were the only guests when we stayed. That meant it was lovely and quiet. The B&B is in a mainly residential area but it is not far from the centre, and is close to one of the rail stations. We stayed in the top floor room which has its own en suite bathroom. It was very clean and warm, and had lovely touches such as a record player and records, and a good selection of books.Breakfast was served downstairs and there was an excellent selection, including fresh pastries. We were able to help ourselves to teas/coffees during the day too. Tom, our host, was very friendly and had lots of tips for places to visit and restaurants nearby. We had a great stay, and would definitely recommend Bed in Gent, We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor room was lovely, although there are some steep steps up to it, so may be difficult if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmag-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Without TV and a little bit slow WiFi, but with a record player and various records it can be quiet homely on the room. And with a nice host (Tom) you can have vary pleasant conversations if you want to. Together with the home made jams and fresh bread, along with its location near the city center (10 minute walk) it is one of the best stays you'll find for this amount of money.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sjakie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.5 km away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.7 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 38 in Ghent
655 reviews
1 km away
1898 The Post
1898 The Post
#9 of 116 in Ghent
21 reviews
1.7 km away
DoOr10 B&B
DoOr10 B&B
#4 of 116 in Ghent
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed in Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed in Gent

Address: Lucas Munichstraat 18, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: $96 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A roomy guest-house, the bright south-oriented bathrooms and the shared dining room with a dash of modern retro - really, do not skip breakfast in that dining room.Also a friendly neighborhood, very much alive (without the rush). A fashionable quarter, if you like, with the marina nearby. It takes a five-minute walk to the railway station. Only ten minutes to my favorite coffee shop or the library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed In Gent Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing