We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed in Gent: Tom knows customer service!”
Review of Bed in Gent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed in Gent
Ranked #5 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I agree with all the other positive reviews provided. Tom is a wonderful and welcoming host. Our family felt so welcom with him. He went above and beyond what we expected in a Bed and Breakfast host. Our room was clean and comfortable. Tom's decorating asthetic is modern and warm. Tom was able to accomodate all 5 members of our party in his B&B.

During our seven day trip in Belgium and the Netherlands, Tom was hands down our favorite host! Thanks, Tom.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelRJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2010

This is a lovely B&B run by the caring and wonderful host, Tom. Want a wonderful bed in a quiet location? This is the place. Tired of showers only? A great bath!!! Hungry after breakfast? You won't be after one of Tom's very generous breakfasts which includes his Mom's delicious homemade jam - it was rhubarb/strawberry the day I stayed.
Bed in Gent is within 5 minutes from the train station and is a 10-15 minute scenic walk from the centre. Gent is a lovely city and I preferred it to Brugge -- but I won't start that argument here.
Stay at Tom's!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Tom helped make our two day trip to Gent pleasurable, manageable, and memorable. He booked two great dinners for us at "local" restaurants that we would have never found in guide books, directed us to a charming local pub for lunch, and suggested we take a break from sight seeing and have afternoon coffee at the best coffee house in Gent. His B and B is well located, only a five minute walk from the train station and within easy walking distance to all the important tourist stops. Bed in Gent is not fancy but it is a clean and well run bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35805Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We had a lovely stay in this B&B. The host, Tom, was very friendly and full of recommendations of restaurants and places to see. The room was in a fun retro style, complete with record player and all very clean. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inglesina_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

OK, you will have read this all below but just to confirm... (all 100% positive but please check the note at the end if you are not able bodied).

Location.
Only 5 minutes walk from the centre, and such a lovely spot. On a cobbled street in a trendy part of town. Parking cost us 3 Euro for the whole weekend. There was plenty of car parking space and the car was safe. We didn't hear any noise during our 2 night stay.

Room.
We had the second floor room. It was spotlessly clean with a huge bath and incredibly comfortable bed. Lots of books and a record player added the finishing touches.

Breakfast.
Lovely! Bread, pastries, cheese, boiled egg, jams, cereals and more. All very nice, fresh and local.

Service.
When we arrived, Tom took us to the spot where we could park the car and helped us buy the ticket. He carried our luggage to the top floor. He then gave us a map and suggested some places to visit and gave some general advice about the city. I had already emailed him about local bars and restaurants and he had recommended a couple. Tim really goes out of his way to make you welcome in his home and in his city. A charming man who will make your stay even better.

Summary.
Bed in Ghent has a lovely feel about it, in a lovely quiet part of town and with a lovely host. I would not even consider staying anywhere else next time I visit.

Note: The house has steepish stairs. It was not a problem for us but worth knowing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v28kab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1 km away
1898 The Post
1898 The Post
#13 of 39 in Ghent
35 reviews
1.5 km away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.1 km away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.6 km away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#16 of 39 in Ghent
262 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed in Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed in Gent

Address: Lucas Munichstraat 18, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: $97 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A roomy guest-house, the bright south-oriented bathrooms and the shared dining room with a dash of modern retro - really, do not skip breakfast in that dining room.Also a friendly neighborhood, very much alive (without the rush). A fashionable quarter, if you like, with the marina nearby. It takes a five-minute walk to the railway station. Only ten minutes to my favorite coffee shop or the library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed In Gent Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing