We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ridderspoor Holiday Flats
Ranked #15 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed in the Damme room on the second floor for 4 days. The ground floor is the street level, so the "first floor" is up some stairs. My husband and I had the double bed and my mom slept in the bottom of the two bunk beds in the bedroom. The beds were warm & comfy, the living area had ample seating, and the wooden dining table was large. Having a kitchen with everything you need except food was great. You really need a fridge to keep the wonderful Belgian beer cold.

The apartment comes with a computer with free internet -- very handy for checking email, reviewing train schedules, getting maps, etc. Unlike the hotels, breakfast is not included. However, we had more room to spread out than the 3 of us would have had in a triple hotel room for about the same cost.

The toilet is in a small separate room on the hall. The shower and sink are in a different room on the hall. This arrangement is quite handy as the WC is available during showers.
All linens were provided, but note that washcloths are considered personal items in Belgium. There was a washing machine in the apartment, and a dryer in the basement. There's also a lovely patio area, but it was too cold in October to use it.

Djamil is the proprietor. He's very friendly. He happed to be nearby when we arrived and welcomed us. Take a moment to look through the notebook with info about Brugge, restaurants, chocolateries, lace shops, etc. Djamil runs the B&B and lives just down the street. Remember to ask him to return your deposit check when you pay him in cash.

The location is on a quiet street just a couple of blocks from Markt. A taxi from the train station to the Ridderspoor costs about 10 euros (plus tip). You could walk from the bus stop near Markt or the library with luggage if you had to.

The streets are hard cobblestones, so wear comfy, well-padded shoes or you will quickly have sore feet. I wore NB 680s with a gel sole and still had trouble.

Overall, I would stay at the Ridderspoor again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The hot water is an on-demand system. If it cuts over to cold water during a shower, don't pani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had a great stay in the ground floor apartment. Very spacious accomadations for the three of us. We loved how central it was to everything in Brugge. It was also great to be able to cook some of our meals as well as being able to wash our clothes. Checking in was easy. Would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surf808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My brother and I stayed in the 2nd floor apartment here and loved it. The apartment was large and spacious with a rustic feel. The kitchen facilities were very useful since Bruges is not the cheapest of places to eat out in.
Checking in was easy and the owners were very accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardTWalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We loved renting this apartment in Brugge. Its central location is perfect to easily reach all sights in this lovely city. We rented the Damme apartment and found it to be very comfortable and with ample room for a family of 4. We would definitively love to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arturodeloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a fantastic time in Bruges. Taking a three year old anywhere can prove to be difficult, especially in terms of appropriate accommodation. Ridderspoor was wonderful, both in terms of it's locality to the main attractions and also in respect of the accomodation layout. It offered us plenty of space and felt authentic to the surroundings. Much nicer, I think, than staying in a hotel. We will deffinately look to stay here again, if in Bruges.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roydenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 km away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,842 reviews
1.1 km away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,398 reviews
0.0 km away
De Drie Koningen
De Drie Koningen
#1 of 38 in Bruges
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
0.3 km away
Maison Amodio b&b
Maison Amodio b&b
#6 of 38 in Bruges
25 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridderspoor Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridderspoor Holiday Flats

Address: Riddersstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: $180 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridderspoor Holiday Flats 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is divided into four spacious holiday flats (ground floor apartment with 2 bedrooms, 1st and 2nd floor studio/apartments with 1 bedroom each and with comfortable sleeping facilities in the living rooms, spacious loft on the third floor). The interior of this neo-classical mansion from 1856 has been renovated recently and adapted with up to date comforts and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ridderspoor Holiday Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing