We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
771
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate moussehomemade breadter reieevery afternoonbath saltsdelicious treatsperfect hostsfreshly squeezed orange juiceguide bookquiet canaleggs made to orderrain showerb bsroom overlooking the canalcoffee machinerecommended restaurantsa wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed at this incredible B&B. From the moment we booked our room until the time we left, Lynn and Peter took care of every detail to make this a stay to remember.

It began with a welcome email thanking us for our reservation and providing us with a list of preferred restaurants including hours and degree of formality.

When we arrived, they greeted us with wine, beer and a snack which we enjoyed on the 4-table patio out back overlooking a canal. Lynn provided a map and review of the area.

Our room, the De Kelk, was on the 3rd floor. The climb up the circular staircase was well worth it when we opened the door to discover an updated room where every detail was thought of. Nespresso machine and kettle, coffee and tea products (including milk), thermostat, dimmer lights, large flatscreen TV, hairdryer, bathrobes, bath products, and delicious homemade chocolate muffins. There was even a fully stocked fridge with beverages available for a nominal fee.

The house was an incredible oasis and while it was hard to leave, we had a city to explore. At the end of the day we returned for a hot bath and a sound night’s sleep (the house was so quiet it was hard to believe all rooms were full).

In the morning we went downstairs for breakfast. There were 4 empty tables and we must’ve missed the rush as it was already 10am. Lynn prepared fresh squeezed OJ and a delicious buffet along with the offer of made-to-order eggs. A daily events board blackboard outlined events of interest (free walking tour times, concerts, weather, etc.).

Additional touches - magazines and books are available for reading. L’Occtaine bath products, bath salts, rain shower, Bluetooth radio.

Check out was easy. We paid for the room, left our bags and went to explore Bruges one last time before it was time to leave. Lynn arranged for a taxi to collect us and made sure our luggage was waiting for us when we returned.

It’s obvious that you put a lot of thought, effort and pride into this B&B, Lynn and Peter. You have a beautiful home; thank you for welcoming us in.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MelMeltch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We had the most wonderful short break in Bruges, we were extremely lucky with the weather and loved wandering around the cobbled streets stopping periodically for food and drink.
Our trip was made even more special by staying in Huis Koning. I can not imagine more welcoming hosts, home made treats were waiting for us on our return each day and breakfast each morning was a highlight in itself. Everything in our room was of the highest standard and made for a most relaxing stay. We finished both days by having drinks on the outside terrace overlooking the canal - I doubt a more peaceful beer garden exists in the whole of Bruges.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Exquisite art, linens and furnishings... only surpassed by the warm welcome of Lynn and Peter. The breakfasts and treats were fabulous as was the delightful patio along the canal (with the swans swimming by). The location could not be better. Do NOT hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ctwanderer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

As soon as you enter Huis Koning, Lynn and Peter make you feel welcome. You are offered beverages and snacks. Then, Lynn gives you a map pointing out sights, offers a list of recommended restaurants and provides a loaner guidebook of Brugge.

We have stayed in the Ter Reie room overlooking the canal, each time we have stayed at Huis Koning. It is a quiet, peaceful room, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. There is a refrigerator and safeas well as a kettle for making coffee and tea - amenities which your rarely find in a B & B. Bathroom products are high end l'Occitane.

Breakfast is a feast: fresh fruit salad, fresh squeezed orange juice, yogurt, small Belgium waffles, home made bread, rolls, croissants, cereals, lunch meat, cheese, eggs made to order and other items I am sure I forgot. There is a self serve coffee maker which is available at all hours.

When you return to your room in the afternoon, there is always a treat waiting for you in your room - made by Lynn. One day it was a fresh apple muffin, the next day a chocolate cupcake and the last day my favorite - chocolate mousse! Before she became a B & B proprietor, Lynn owned a restaurant, which explains her wonderful cooking skills.

Lynn and Peter have been operating the B & B for 10 years and are perfect hosts. They are available to help and offer advice at all times. As a native of Brugge, Lynn knows her city well.

Four of us had an early train to catch the day we departed. We were leaving 1 1/2 hours before breakfast would normally be served. We did not expect breakfast. It was our choice to catch an early train. We thought we would have a cup of coffee before we left and grab something to eat at the train station. Lynn had other ideas. She packed each couple "breakfast to go." Our bag contained two portions of freshly prepared fruit salad, two small Belgium waffles, a bottle of Illy cold cappuccino, two yogurts, one bottled smoothie, five small sandwiches (meat and cheese) and a bottle of water!!!

It is hard to describe just what wonderful people Lynn and Peter are. You have to meet them and stay at their B & B. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Brugge. The B & B is well located and you can easily walk to all the sights in Brugge. One thing to mention, all of the rooms require climbing at least one flight of steps so this is not a place for someone to stay who has mobility issues.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Lynn and Peter were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were great a lot of home made
bread and jelly and treats. Very informative on places to eat and how to navigate the
town. The room was large and bathroom was also spacious. Highly recommend this
B & B

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trailmix71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews