We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Floris Karos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$203
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Acacia(Bruges)
US$116
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Golden tree hotel(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Martin's Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveller rating
261
499
270
120
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
499
270
120
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolplay area for childrensmall gymminute walkscrambled eggs and baconfree upgradecommunal areastea and coffee facilitiesmain roadcold meatscroissantsfamily roombreakfast stafflovely hotelcontinental breakfastnice sizetown centre
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

A warm welcome indeed at reception, but it was all downhill after that.

The first room I was given wasn't made up, bedclothes in a mess and used coffee cups on the side. The second room (apparently a free "upgrade") smelt very strongly of bleach, was cold and had mould on the window, which was also letting in a lot of road noise. I swapped this room with a friend, who's rooms was at least warm but smelt of bad plumbing/sewage - the toilet seat was broken, the plug for the bath wouldn't stay in, and generally everything seemed neglected.

I can only recommend that you shouldn't be fooled by the lovely photos shown on their website, this is merely a facade to a very underwhelming stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are probably nicer.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triffid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Triffid M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay.
Your comment has been analyzed and be assured that we will take steps to improve the quality of our service in the future.
For us it is very important to satisfy our customers and always try to improve the quality of the product we offer to provide the comfort you deserve.
We take this opportunity to invite you to visit us again, hoping to exceed your expectations and receive a new and more positive feedback.
Warm Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We stayed for 1 night in an executive room. Expecting something superb, it was disappointed. The reception is pretty good, but apart from that it seems that the hotel has a newer part and older part. Whilst the gym and pool looked clean and modern, our room was the opposite. Not sure if this is the style, but we did not like it that much. The bathroom was rather small for an executive room and the furniture was looking outdated (except from the perfect bed). Also some dirt and some poorly maintained walls and floor in the bathroom did not gave the executive impression. The location was definitely spot on and the breakfast was okayish. All in all it is a good place to stay if you want to visit Bruges, do not spend too much time on your room and have not too high expectations (what is caused by the website). The price-quality is somewhat below average, but if there are no alternatives I can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank He_Ro_S391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear He_Ro_S391,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in our hotel.
We always appreciate comments from our customers so we can serve you better.
Thank you again for your feedback, hoping to get you back to Brussels next time, in which the Floris Karos Hotel is the chosen place for your accommodation, in order to provide you with a better experience.
Warm Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Stayed at this hotel from 03/02/18 for 3 nights, John on reception was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and travelling around Bruges - nothing was to much trouble, all staff were friendly & spoke good English. Room was good and clean, cleaned every day to a good standard. Minor decoration needed in rooms but to be expected. Swimming pool warm, but clean, breakfast was a bit basic with scrambled eggs and small bits of bacon every morning so could do with a bit more variety, the rest is continental (croissants etc) fruit juice not so good ! The location is a short walk to the centre of Bruges which is ideal,there are major roadworks and improvements taking place by the bus station, but noise is not an issue. Would recommend this hotel if visiting Bruges

Room Tip: Front rooms offer view of Main Street not noisy
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear P W,
Thank you very much for your comment. For us it is very important to satisfy our customers and we are always working to improve our services and to offer a comfortable stay.
We will gladly welcome you again on your next visit to Bruges.
Warm Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

The way this hotel presents itself online versus the reality could not be more different. Immediately on arriving there were issues, the room stank of cigarettes and damp, and was in a state. We paid through the nose to stay here - luxury hotel prices as it was peak season - and it was barely worthy of calling itself a budget hotel.

Eventually after kicking up a fuss about the smell, I was moved for the first night whilst they cleaned and aired the other room, and then moved back for the second night as they were fully booked - it was better than staying in a stinky room but incredibly inconvenient.

Both the original room, the new room, and my parents room had damp, damage to the walls, mould and various other issues. The rooms were freezing - clearly the radiators are turned off all day even when left on. My parents had a kettle but neither of the other rooms did, and there were numerous inconsistencies in the mod cons. All in all, every room looked cheap, had damage and were inconceivably overpriced.

Eventually we negotiated some free drinks with the hotel and a 20% or 25% refund - though we pushed for more as realistically the inconvenience and the shoddiness meant it should have been considerably less. We had to really push for this though, and although the staff were incredibly helpful and kind (passing on messages from the management who were entirely absent), it was just a hassle and distinctly affected the holiday.

I can't recommend enough that you stay somewhere else, at least until this hotel stops ripping people off and charging a fortune for subpar rooms.

Room Tip: Top tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlakeBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear BlakeBrooks,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share about your experience. Your input and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met and exceeded.
We are really sorry for the situation you had and we consider the case as constructive for us in order to improve our services.
As a gesture we have done a refund in order to compensate at lease some of the inconveniences you had.
We really hope to welcome you again in the future and offer you nicer stay Bruges.
Warm regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We wanted a family room at a reasonable rate and the Floris was ideal. It was only a 10 minute walk from the centre and had a pool for the children. Breakfast was included. There is limited hotel parking, but there is a public car park within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Malcolm P,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one!
We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Warm Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews