We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
79
33
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
33
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open plan bed was exceptionally comfortable nice place to stay the main square centre of town breakfast area home away from home minute walk local attractions five minutes honesty bar no lift quiet area bacon and eggs lovely breakfast cloth hall enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

A charming and helpful host did not quite compensate for disappointing deficiencies in this b&b.

The bizarre en suite arrangement meant that instead of an enclosed bathroom with toilet, basin and shower, there were just partitions open to the bedroom which would not suit most Brits!

Add to this the fact that only a sliver of soap was provided – no shampoo, shower gel etc. Three small thin towels each were to last for the entire stay.

A daily valet service was not provided – in fact the room wasn't touched for four days and we had an overflowing bin by the time we left. When asked why the room was not valeted each day the proprietor declared that he did not offer 'hotel service' yet we have never stayed in a b&b or hotel - including two others in Ypres – where this is not a normal service. For around £100 per night it didn't seem too much to ask.

On the plus side, the Demi-Lune was conveniently placed for the main square and Menin Gate and the breakfast was good.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank IM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Good location five minutes from the Grote Markt. There was no problem pulling up outside and unloading. Parking just round the corner in Masscheleinlaan or Hoge Wieltjesgracht was easy and free. Go for rooms at the rear of the property. Very good breakfast. Honesty bar, which was very welcome after an extremely long, hot day, and good value. Rooms are basic but comfortable. There did not appear to be any housekeeping and we did have to ask for fresh towels but we had two enjoyable nights.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RR379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This was our first time in Ipers and this lovely B&B made it a very enjoyable experience. The owner was very hospitable and knowledgable, and obviously cares very much about his business. The building and rooms were well presented and very clean and comfortable throughout, and the gardens were well maintained (sadly the weather kept us out). Breakfast is a very good buffet selection of good quality items, and bacon and eggs are also cooked to order. I would definitely recommend the Demi Lune, and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 565cherryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

I was so very close to giving this a perfect score, but for one tiny (personal) thing, which I will mention shortly.

Peter is the consummate host! What a pleasure to talk to. And the house is absolutely gorgeous, as is the yard. We enjoyed a nightcap out in the yard after a full day touring Flanders.

The location of Demi Lune is fantastic, in a very quiet area for sleeping, and in less than 5 minutes walk, you're in the absolute heart of Ypres for bars, restaurants etc. Best of both worlds!

Our bed was exceptionally comfortable, and there was a nice shower. The one niggly thing that I couldn't get past is - I'm one of those people who can't stand having a doorless bathroom/toilet area in the master bedroom. I mean, it's a separate area, you can't SEE the loo from the bed...but, we have other..... senses!

I know many people aren't bothered by this, in fact I've toured many homes with the same set up. And I say to those people - absolutely stay here. It's a beautiful accommodation, and the price is right, and the host is awesome.

An almost perfect review!! Thanks Demi Lune.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diamondlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

The owners, Peter and Greet, were fantastic hosts during our visit and WW1 tours. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The breakfast was excellent. The location is close to the Centre of town and about a 15 minute walk to the Menin Gate Memorial. We would definitely recommend this B&B and plan to be guests again on a future trip to the area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ALGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews