We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding Experience in a Beautiful Country B&B...”
other travellers have booked this property
Quinta da Vila Maria viewed from the vineyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quinta da Vila Maria viewed from the vineyard
The front of Quinta da Vila Maria with its unusual architecture and Art Deco features
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Quinta da Vila Maria viewed from the vineyard
The front of Quinta da Vila Maria with its unusual architecture and Art Deco features
Enjoy a good night's sleep in the apartment's large, comfortable double bed
υπνοδωμάτιο του διαμερίσματος διαθέτει ιδιωτικό μπάνιο
The apartment is light, airy and spacious with high ceilings
The apartment's bedroom has an en-suite bathroom
Views of olive trees and farmland from the apartment
The en-suite bathroom with shower. Shower gel, soap and a hair dryer are also provided
Apartment Kiwi has its own living area with sofa, TV, stereo system and free WiFi
The living area looking through to the bedroom
Kitchenette with hob/stovetop, microwave oven/grill, fridge/freezer, kettle and toaster
There is also a breakfast bar
Start the day with a great breakfast, either on the terrace in the sunshine or in your apartment.
The front terrace is also a great place to have dinner or a drink on a warm summer evening
Reception is in the original adega/winery, with its old clay wine pots and wine making equipment
Have a refreshing drink with us in reception when you arrive
The pond terrace - relax accompanied by birdsong, the gentle burble of water and the croaking frogs
Or if it gets too hot, relax in the shade of the 'linden tree terrace'
Or stroll around the vineyard and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere
Many of the grapevines are very old, around 100 years of age, and there are many different varieties
We have lots of olive, fruit and cork trees around the Quinta so there is always a shady spot to sit
Our old olive tree - in the region of 1000 years old we are told
Autumn colours at the Quinta
The stunning medieval hill top village of Marvão with its castle, gardens and panoramic views
Medieval town of Castelo de Vide has a castle, winding streets and ancient Jewish quarter to explore
The beautiful Reguengo swimming pool and picnic area (seasonal) is only a short walk away
In spring and early summer wild flowers can be seen across the Alentejo
Walk in the Serra de São Mamede Natural Park, these goats were seen whilst on the Reguengo walk
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portalegre, Portalegre District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Katharine...
1 review
“Outstanding Experience in a Beautiful Country B&B with kindhearted hosts!”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I scoured the internet looking for the perfect spot to spend a few days in the country side of Portugal to start off our honeymoon. When we came across Quinta da Vila Maria, we knew immediately that this was the place for us! When we pulled up to the magnificent structure, we noticed right away how breathtaking the landscape and scenery were. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by our hosts, Jane and Ed, who immediately made us feel right at home. This hospitality continued daily with freshly made breakfasts waiting for us in our fridge, directions to local restaurants and sites to see, and any other accommodation we requested. The location is a prime spot for those who are looking for a great get-away in a convenient location to many interesting sites! While driving away from Quinta da Vila Maria, while waving goodbye to Jane and Ed, my husband and I both said we felt a little sad and that it almost felt like we were leaving family. Quinta da Vila Maria will forever hold a special place in our hearts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tereza H
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
“Idyllic setting, comfortable accomodations, remarkably affable hosts”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Portugal, where we spent three delightful days in the Kiwi appartment at Quinta Vila Maria. We travelled with two other couples who stayed in one of the other apartments in the vila and had a similar wonderful experience. Ed and Jane were attentive hosts, helful with information about the vila and the farm, suggestions for day trips to surrounding sites; they made wine tasting reservations for us at nearby vineyards and even provided maps to our destinations! Breakfast foods were both delicious and plentiful; on several occasions, we found ourselves too tired to go out again after a day of sightseeing and used breakfast food as light supper fare - and still had plenty to eat the next morning. The outdoor table was our favorite hang-out; Ed and Jane shared local wines and liquors with us and joined us in convivial after dinner conversations. We couldn't have had a better experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: the best wi-fi signal was in the bathroom :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful surroundings in a wonderfully restored Quinta”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The hosts, Jane and Ed, are remarkably gentle and welcoming people who cannot do enough for their guests' comfort and well being. From the very first moment to the last we received a genuine generosity and warmth that one rarely experiences. The property itself is very tastefully renovated to a high standard retaining many of the building's beautiful original features. Light, spacious and airy rooms are very well appointed with soft furnishings and new equipment with everything one needs for a comfortable and homely stay. Breakfast is prepared and taken at leisure. It is fresh, plentiful and delicious with homemade preserves - who can resist that?!

The Vila is located in wonderful surroundings: olive trees, vines, citrus trees and orchard fruits grow in abundance in the grounds which you are free to wander through. Ed is a goldmine of information about the plants and property which he and Jane have painstakingly nurtured and restored. From the Vila itself some of the most beautiful hilltop walled towns I have ever visited are within 30 minutes drive through quiet and well maintained roads and some fine Roman ruins pepper the region.

It would be very easy to wax lyrical about this property and its owners but perhaps the most telling comment is this one: we'll definitely be back for more. There's simply too much here that draws a curious traveller back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, Jane and Ed. Their kind and generous hospitality, knowledge of the region and their warmth make this a unique and special place to stay.
Liked least: Nothing. There is nothing at all to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinBe...
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa, beautiful land, peaceful location!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Quinta da Vila Maria is superb. The rooms are spacious and bright, the location is excellent, and it is peaceful and relaxing. Jane and Ed welcomed us warmly and are very knowledgable about the area. We did several hikes, visited Marvao, a local castle, and had an excellent lunch at a nearby restaurant. There is so much to do here, and it is off the beaten path from overly touristed areas such as the Algarve. If you have the chance to stay here, do not hesitate!!! Book right away!! You will NOT be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free wifi!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on the Trip Advisor website and for your very kind comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Quinta da Vila Maria. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon! Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$76
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing