We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For $70/night, I expected more”
Review of Monaco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Faro
CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For $70/night, I expected more”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel because they have an airport shuttle. However the site failed to mention that the shuttle only runs on certain days. There is nothing around the hotel and the food is horrible (they gave us undercooked hamburgers and bad drinks). A cab to the hotel almost cost the same as a cab to the airport. The room smelled like smoke even though we requested non-smoking. It was by far the worst hotel we stayed at on our trip. Stay somewhere close to the beach and get a cab to the airport. This hotel is not worth it. The only benefit was that they had English channels on TV.

Room Tip: There are no non-musty rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sedillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    105
    71
    46
    27
See reviews for
36
135
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The carpet in the bedroom was flithy. There were constant insect and unexplained noises in the room all night and the next morning I was covered in insect bites. I really would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripper186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Faro hotels

Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Very clean and close to the airport. The breakfast was not great - poor quality 'artificial' food (tang for orange juice, weiners for sausages).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maple1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We always go to Europe on Hols mainly Italy. We hadnt been to Portugal in 18 years. This was our 1st time in Faro and we both absolutely enjoyed it. grrt Hotel..Good Breakfast...peaceful pool..exxcellent staff..relaxing and laid back reminds me of the irish and we found a fantastic seafood restaurant Fortuna weel def be back here...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesper054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed here for one night as we flew in to Faro late on a Sunday evening, to late to pick up our hire car and travel onward.
A taxi from the airport took 5 minutes and cost 5 euros, we were in our room within 45 minutes from landing.

There's not to much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but the receptionist recommended a restaurant ( Antonios ) which took us about a 20 min. stroll, it was very reasonably priced and served very good food, we passed one or two bars on the way.

Next morning I asked reception to call a taxi for us, we wanted to go back to the airport to pick up our rental vehicle, the lady at the desk was very helpful and organised the hotel shuttle bus to take us, at no charge, even though it meant going out of it's way. I think it only normally takes guests into Faro town, this was much appreciated.

This hotel is good value for a short stay and I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGDSEDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,571 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
952 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
1.4 km away
Hotel 3K Faro Aeroporto
2.2 km away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Property: Monaco Hotel
Address: Rua Joao Baptista Severino | Urb. Monte da Ria, Montenegro, Faro 8005-237, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price range (per night): $91 - $240
Hotel Class:3 star — Monaco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Faro, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing