We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Nice comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Centrally located in front of some beautiful gardens.
We requested an early arrival at 10am and the room was ready when we arrived.
Hotel is centrally located a few miles from the seafront and next to Rua da Sé which is the principal thoroughfare.
Room is on the small side but very clean and comfortable. Had a street view which can be noisy during the daytime but doors to balcony are well insulated.
Staff is very helpful.
Correctly rated as a 3 star hotel and very good value for the money.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017

I stayed at Angra Garden for 3 nights.
Pros: centrally located and an easy walk to restaurants and sites; overlooks a beautiful garden, quiet, clean room
Cons: hotel is showing it’s age and the management has not kept up with regular upgrades ex. Torn, worn or stained carpeting, drapes coming off of curtain rods, faded linens, thin towels, 1 elevator not working
It’s a nice old hotel that needs some TLC

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Kristin01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We selected to stay at the Garden Hotel as part of a Getaways Azores package. We made a very good choice. The hotel is the most centrally located hotel in Angra. It is next door to the Museum of Angra (well worth an hour or two visit), a 10 minute walk to the harbor, to the main churches, and to many historical sites; it is within a 10 minute walk to many restaurants and shops.
Our room overlooked the Botanical Garden which made for quiet. Given the proximity of the Garden a visit is highly recommended; we found it both interesting and relaxing.
The hotel provides an expansive breakfast selection of nice variety and quality.
There is an indor pool which we never visited and we ate in town every evening so can only note that swimming and dining are available. Tours (highly recommended) of Terceira and whale watching can be booked at the hotel.
I highly recommend Terceira, Angra, and the Garden Hotel. We loved the week we spent there.
However, please also look at my review (May 2017 and a follow up in November 2017) of SATA-Azores Air.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Garden are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocHolliday_OhioUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed here on our 9 Island tour of the Azores. This hotel was very centrally located. Easy access to the waterfront, shops and restaurants. The hotel had a great breakfast. Our room was a bit noisy so asked to be moved and they found a very quiet room and the AC was quiet to run overnight. They also had a safe area for valuables we were carrying with us. Very pleasant hotel and friendly staff. The hotel has a room top patio that over looks the town square.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room away from the main Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra S, Diretor de Vendas at Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your review. We inform you that the Hotel will be completely renovated during the next winter season, and it will be ready in march/april 2018. Feel welcome to visit us again after the works. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Location GREAT, garden view very nice , rooms just okay, breakfast and dinner buffets adequate. Small mini mart not too far away. Tv ... laptop size ... too small to watch. Only real negative thing for me was bed was VERY HARD. We had to put the extra blankets in cupboard under the sheets to make it softer. Glad it was only for 2 days.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra S, Diretor de Vendas at Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for sending us your review, that help us to improve our services. We inform you that the Hotel will be completely renovated during the next winter season, and it will be ready in march/april 2018. Feel welcome to visit us again after the works. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra do Heroismo
1.1 km away
Terceira Mar Hotel
Terceira Mar Hotel
#1 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
718 reviews
0.5 km away
Angra Marina Hotel
Angra Marina Hotel
#6 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
279 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel do Caracol
Hotel do Caracol
#2 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Atlantida Mar Hotel
Atlantida Mar Hotel
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
284 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Beira Mar
Hotel Beira Mar
#7 of 13 in Terceira
129 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Zenite
Hotel Zenite
#5 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel

Address: Praca Velha, Angra do Heroismo, Terceira 9700-201, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Terceira > Angra do Heroismo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Angra do Heroismo
Price Range: S$123 - S$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing