We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Durao(Viseu)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jose Alberto(Viseu)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charme e Alegria(Viseu)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa da Se(Viseu)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
78
83
32
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
83
32
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel offersold cityhistorical sitesdiscothequeamenitiesgpsinternetbedroom
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

What a really neat place to stay at. The hotel is built into the old walls of the city, is very clean with spacious rooms and large bathroom. The staff are very friendly, and the breakfast buffet was great. Right in the heart of the old city, with lots of good restaurants, bars, cafes, all within a few minutes walk. Also easy walking distance to some of the historical sites, and museums.
We had a bit of a hard job finding the hotel, but really glad we did, it was worth the search. Even our GPS lady was confused at one point!! There is a small car park, which is not easy to get in and out of.
To sum up. Would definitely stay here again, and can definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebeloHotels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Palacio Dos Melos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hello,
Thank you so much for your visit and for your kind review.
We'll hope to see you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Our room and bathroom were very good and clean. The bed was great and the room was quite spacious. We loved breakfast with local products. The location was excellent, right in the middle of the historical area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebeloHotels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Palacio Dos Melos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hello Cris,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We hope to have you back again soon!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Right in the heart of the old city, quite near the historical sites and museums, this hotel offers a clean, comfortable and quiet stay. The internet is a bit slow but available throughout the hotel. Breakfast is good. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebeloHotels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Palacio Dos Melos, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hello, James.

Thank you very much for your visit and kind words. Hope you can visit us again some time in the future.

Best regards,
Montebelo Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Average place, doesn't look like being 4 star hotel.

Very slow internet connection and dark rooms. Only one light bulb in the bathroom.

Customer service on the other hand was very nice and helpful. Great location and quiet overall.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tadas_juozonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebeloHotels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Palacio Dos Melos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

First of all, let us thank you for your visit and review. It's very important for us to have the feedback of those who visit us in order to improve our services.

We're sorry they weren't as we want them to be: irreproachable. But we promise we'll work hard to improve the less positive situations you mentioned.

Kind regards,
Hotel Palácio dos Melos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Picked for its central location and parking, a very good room was given, with a bathroom as big as the bedroom. Nice spacious room, surprisingly modern for a hotel housed in an old, traditional building. Comfortable beds, good amenities and a jacuzzi bath if that is your thing . Breakfast included in the very reasonable price.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Pitball2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebeloHotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Palacio Dos Melos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for the time spent in sending this comment. We took into account all your comments, as we always aim to improve.

best regards
Montebelo Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews