We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alfama Patio Hostel
Ranked #20 of 498 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017

It achieves your function as hostel, there was a lot of people from different countries and that was awesome, its close to the tram, but i did not know and i walked a lot from the metro to there. Although that, the view is amazing and you can star enjoy the city from there

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationHostels, Guest Relations Manager at Alfama Patio Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hello Suzy,

Thanks for your great review. We work daily to provide the best stay possible to our guests.
Best regards,
The Destination Hostels Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

Clean and cosy hostel with a nice design. A good place to meet people from all over the world in a relaxed atmosphere. Very nice patio with a view on the sea. You can access the other two hostels from the same owner (one has a little pool on the rooftop with a bar). A lot of activities to do and affordable dinners. Would go again! Only drawback is I didn't find it too cheap, and it's quite a walk uphill to reach it (Lisbon is famous for this though), but still a good choice!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationHostels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Alfama Patio Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hello,

Thanks for your great review!

Best regards,

The Destination Hostels Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

I booked a room for one week through their website. While the booking was confirmed at the time, I never received the usual confirmation email. I had to email the hostel to verify if the room had been properly booked. The reply came within 24 hrs: it had been and payment had been received (I had chosen the cheap deal: a pre-paid single room).

The hostel is located almost at the top of the Alfama. The best way to reach it is by either Tram 12 or 28. Tram 12 will drop you off at the junction of Rua S.Tomé/Escolas Gerais, Tram 28 on Escolas Gerais either at the stop just before or after the hostel. Another option is to arrive at S. Apolonia station and walk up (about 10 min) but it can be quite steep, especially if you have a suitcase.

The entrance to the hostel is indicated but it can be easy to walk right by it. Go up the entrance, turn left, and ring the little bell to be admitted. When I arrived, it was late morning and very hot. I was kindly offered a place to leave my suitcase until official check-in time (15:00) and a towel for a shower in the meantime (very much appreciated!).

My room (along with 2 others) was on the 2nd floor but through a separate entrance.The room itself was small but had a decent bed with clean sheets (thin pillows), a small table, a chair and an old small oven(!) as a bedside table. The harwood floor looked a bit tired but the nice view from the window made up for it: I could see the Tage very well, almost giving me the feeling of being at the beach. On the other hand, right under that same window and starting at 6 a.m., Tram 28 would go by every 15 minutes or so until late in the evening, ringing its bell before turning in the blind curve. A bit noisy but after a few days, one gets used to it. Two bathrooms were right across the hall, one more spacious than the other. Both offered hot water for showers very quickly. In the hallway, there was a mini fridge (not very cold; better fridge in the kitchen downstairs) with a big water bottle, a kettle, teas and coffee, and a basket of fruits. Wi-fi worked well all week except one night. A computer was available in the living room downstairs.

Breakfast at 8 a.m. consisted of cereal, breads & jams, pancakes, cold cut, fruits, juice, tea/coffee. Nothing fancy but plentiful. Some yogurt would have been nice though. A cooked meal was offered most nights. I did not try it but it seemed popular. The only problem, the cook used the kitchen on those evenings from 19:00-21:00 or so, effectively restricting its access.

Overall, it is a good place to stay as far as hostels go. While not luxurious by any standard, it is quaint (you are in the Alfama after all). For some, it might be a tad far from the downtown area (15-min walk from Praca do Comercio). However, the young staff is very friendly and helpful. All spoke at least English and Portuguese. Finally, as the hostel is affiliated with the Destination Hostels, it gives you access to the services of the other two locations in Lisbon (at Rossio and Cais do Sodre).

Room Tip: Single room at the top are the quietest, even with the tram going by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lyncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationHostels, Guest Relations Manager at Alfama Patio Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback, and we appreciate feedback from our customers so we can improve our services.
However, there are many referenced points that undoubtedly show a great weight in the evaluation of our Hostel. The Alfama was the first hostel to be opened by our company, its location already undoubtedly reveals a lot within some of the oldest and most popular districts of Lisbon.
We hope se you soon one next visit in Lisbon and we are always available in other places of your liking if you like to experience, you are more than welcome at Destination Hostel.

best wishes.

The Destination Hostel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Very cosy hostel. Clean everywhere (the garden, the rooftop, the dormitory, the showers, the toilets !). Buffet breakfast included (fruits, white bread, pancakes…) and you can also prepare what you want in the kitchen. The wifi goes well everywhere. Plus : there is somebody 24 hours to welcome you.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairecita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationHostels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Alfama Patio Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello,

Thanks for your great review! Come back to Lisbon anytime! :)

Best regards,

The Destination Hostels Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Hostel is located in lovely part of Lisbon. It has fantastic terrace which compensate for tiny bathroom and a bit scruffy dorm. Beds are however comfortable and clean. The Staff was very helpful. I have spent the night during the winter/summer hour change. Got a little mixed up with the correct time.Thank you to the Staff member who prepared breakfast so early specially for me. I have realised only after leaving the hostel that it was only 6 am!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dblack69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationHostels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Alfama Patio Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We are very happy that we could provide such a good experience, you are more than welcome at Alfama Destination Hostel.

Remember we are more than a hostel, we are a Family!

Best of wishes :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 498 in Lisbon
287 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 498 in Lisbon
584 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 498 in Lisbon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#49 of 498 in Lisbon
308 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#14 of 498 in Lisbon
435 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 498 in Lisbon
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfama Patio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfama Patio Hostel

Address: Escolas Gerais 3, Lisbon 1100-213, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 498 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $18 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alfama Patio Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hostels in the world. Lots of character and atmosphere, where you will feel immediately as at your home. A private patio and a terrace with stunning view over the river and Alfama. In the oldest district of Lisbon, a cheap accommodation where everything started. Free wi-fi, delicious breakfast included, and a fully equipped kitchen for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Alfama Patio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing